My OFW story :-)

in #myofwstory6 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry to #myofwstory writing contest initiated by @steemph.uae

The main reason why i came here in UAE is to pay my debt to my auntie who shoulder all my expenses during my college years.

IMG_20180228_212503.jpg
IMG_20180228_212621.jpg
In 2015 I started working in a National Government Hospital in Dr. Jose N. Rodriguez Memorial Hospital,located in Caloocan City. My friends encouraged and advised me to file documents for the requirements and take the Nurse Licensure Examinations, so I did without expecting to pass that exams ,just try. I dont have time and money to attend review center so my colleagues give their reviewers for me to read at my free time after duty.
FB_IMG_1519839434949.jpg
My life as nurse is very exciting, memorable and brings me hope and joy that satisfied me not by the price that I received as payment for my service but for the help that I can offer for those in needs. To give time to listen for the brokenhearted people who are sick, to give and rendered care with patience, respect and understanding, to provide first aid, to survive life and promote health in every individual. I had been assigned in different department as nurse supervisors requested me to join in their department to our chief nurse. I exposed in Infectious and Isolation Ward, Medicine Department, Public Health Unit, PACU, Out-Patient Dept and Surgery Dept.I participated in every programs that the Department of Health instructed us to do, to promote and to educate. I am one of the chosen person to do health teaching and health promotion in every schools, barangays and some areas in NCR.
FB_IMG_1520264444828.jpg
This is what I told to every students in every schools that we visited during our DOH program..
" Magaral kayo mabuti. Maswerte kayo nkakapag aral kayo. Yun iba wala pera pero gusto nila maka pag aral.Kahit mahirap kinakaya nila dahil someday iniisip nila makakatulong sila sa pamilya at sa iba."
FB_IMG_1520266218361.jpg
Its a heart fulfilling to serve wholeheartedly without asking in return. I always thanks God because He gives me the opportunity to serve people in a way I wanted.
FB_IMG_1520264559480.jpg
In January 2016 the result of the examination released and I passed the board exam. Words are not enough to define the joy I felt when I saw my name in a list of passers. All heartaches shifted into unlimited happiness and thanksgiving.

Year 2016
This is the time that I really choice to give up my dream,my passion, my heart desire. Deep inside Im so unhappy, it really breaks my heart, my self esteem decrease that affects on how I see myself. If I have money to pay my auntie I will not choose to go out.But if I stay I am not able to pay her according to the amount that she asks every month. I feel like " Para kang ibon na nakakulong nghihintay kung kailan ka lalaya "

My brother and I decided to go to U.A.E with the help of one of my aunties,. I thought if you already got your visa everything will be okay but the immigration officer in the Philippines are looking for some old documents that we dont have, so we got offloaded. I almost gave up but I need to so I process all the documents the immigration officer are asking and luckily we are able to pass.

I know that I am not able to be a nurse in this country (UAE) because my year of experiences is not enough to take any examinations to get license and to practice my profession.
But I still applied in every clinics then it breaks my heart for every rejections I received from them because they need nurses having 2 -3 years of experiences from the origin country so they can take exams and be a registered nurse in this country. I never stopped searching for any chances, asking for a miracle haha.

I worked for 4 months in a dental laboratory here in Sharjah UAE my employer is very kind and treats me like young sister, but they can't pay me because of their financial problem, every time I asked about my payroll they answered me , " inshalla, so im not able to pay also my room rent, and some debts. I decided to resigned and look for another job.

I exited UAE to extend my visit visa for 3 times. My first exit was very stressful, I stayed in Sharjah Airport for 2 days and 2 nights. One of the immigration officer ask for my passport and counting my remaining hours to deport me. I met one kabayan he is also one of the immigration officer on duty, he tours me to tell where is the position of the cameras so I know where to hide and teach me what to do. He tried to extend his duty so he can help and defends me , but the management did not allowed him. Im so stressed, I almost cried on the other side because I dont know what to do, I cant sleep I can't eat although Im so tired. Theres a time that I feel I will fall down due to lack of sleep , then some of our kabayan offered me a cofee, biscuits and medicine. On my last day after I got my visa stamped some of the lady police hugged me, tapped me on my back. I guess they were happy that Im okay after such experiences that I had. and they advise me to take some rest when I go home.

My second and third exit was enjoyable. I met new friends, I had heard more inspiring stories that really touch my heart, the happy and the sad experiences as overseas filipino workers, their sacrifices and reasons why they choose to work abroad. Ive learned so much from them.

Now, I am working in Sedana Trading my first 3 weeks I had been assigned in Accounts Department in our main office (Sharjah Branch) and then they transferred me to Dubai branch as an Sales Admin.
The salary is not too high but enough for me to pay for partition rent, foods, "padala sa pamilya" and for debts.
IMG_20170211_074703.jpg
I also joined JRM Jesus Reign Ministry church throught God grace, I am now a member of singing ministry. No need to have a good voice, but a heart that ready to serve, to worship and praise Him. I can say that this is one of the greatest decisions I made.
This brings me happiness, contentment and hope.
IMG_20170428_084708.jpg

As an Overseas Filipino Workers, I ve realized that life is so unpredictable, I learned not to worry about future because you will not enjoy what God wants unto you, since we dont know what will gonna happen in the next hours of our life. Ive understand life more enough today than before but I cannot summed up everything in words how & what conclusions that I have right now.
Yes it true ! that everything happens for a purpose, you may failed and succeed, you may be sad & be happy but what the important is no matter what, we know whom we will call and what direction we will choose to & know that God will never leaves us nor forsakes us. His promises are true and He never change. I know the He has a best plan for us.

Thank you and God bless to all..

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your story @roselle. Grabe yung visa run experience mo. Thankfully everything is a lot better now for you. We'll all get by. Makakaipon at makakauwi rin tayo. 😉

Most welcome po, salamat din @arrliinn sa time & effort to read my story. Sobrang naappreciate ko po..

In time everything will be okay, all in His plan.

Thanks ate @sheng ... :-)
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29 : 11

The mere fact that you are here to tell your story is laudable. God has a plan for you. I feel like one of those guards who hugged you because words are not enough to describe how much happiness it is that you survived. God is good kabayan! Don't lose that courage and faith you have. I admire your strength!

Thank you @leeart , yes , He is good all the time. I am nothing without Him.. :-) :-) :-)

it’s good to hear good things are happening in your life @roselle. Blessings.

Thank you @redheadpei ,.. also for the time you spent to read my story.. Godbless maam..

You will succeed ate..because once you have experienced hardships, you will do everything in your power to not experience it again. Yet even if you do, you now have that resiliency to face it.
Ang galeng mo, you passed without a review.
If you still want to be a nurse...you can still in the future.
Would you be able to post medical stuff and help us in ph-medics on discord? Post mo lang don for anyone to read. It will be a great help.
Lola.Imma

Maraming salamat po @bayanihan ..... through prayers po , nigrant ni God yun maging registered nurse po ako.. kung ako lng po hindi ko po tlga kayang mkapasa.. thanks din po sa time and effort sa pgread ng story ko.. nkakataba po ng puso. GOD BLESS po..

.. regarding po sa ph-medics (,posting about med.stuff) yes po , willing po ako magpost to help everyone po,pero wala po akong link wla po ako sa discord. Thank you po for this opportunity po, .. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59991.95
ETH 2664.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45