My Name is What? - Davinsh

in #mynameiswhat6 years ago (edited)

Untitled.jpg

(ehem) My name is Vinsh (Vinci) and I am neat
I love pretty girls and I love to eat
I made this rap from my mind
And I am very very kind
-Yes Yes Show by Parokya ni Edgar



Well, my real name is Arvin ever since I was born. Combining the names of my parents Rachel (Ar) and Bienvinido (Vin) as what they are telling me about the history of my name.

Upon growing up, celebrities and musician have been the inspirations of every one of us in finding our path. As a kid, we usually do and made an effort to be like them including the use of screen name. Famous one like Slash, the lead guitarist of Guns N' Roses, is Saul Hudson in real life. But that is not the story of my username here in Steemit.

Back in the year 2003 to 2004, the Massive Multi-player online game Ragnarok Online became a trend. We spent hours and stash of cash to play and go with the hype. It is my first ever MMORPG game to play, or actually, the first RPG game that needed a unique name.

game-ragnarok-online-private-server.jpg
Source

Using my real name is a pain in the ass as it is almost being used by everyone. Even filing for an NBI (National Beaureu of Investigation) clearance, which normally took a week to be cleared because of the other people that have the exact same name of mine.

So to be able to get in the game of Ragnarok Online, I think of the most unique name that I can come up with. Since Vin is not working as well. Then I think of adding some letters. I can' t remember how but I came with adding the letters S and H, which became Vinsh.

Fast forward in 2007, I was hired as a barista and started working as part-time. Since I am already used of being called Vinsh, I used it for my name badge as well. Suddenly, my hiring manager game a nickname of DAVINSH because of that time movie hype Da Vinci Code.

It was not impactful for the first time, but almost all of my co-baristas were calling me the same.

Leonardo da Vinci or simply Leonardo, was an Italian Renaissance polymath whose areas of interest included invention, painting, sculpting, architecture, science, music, mathematics, engineering, literature, anatomy, geology, astronomy, botany, writing, history, and cartography. He has been variously called the father of palaeontology, ichnology, and architecture, and is widely considered one of the greatest painters of all time. Sometimes credited with the inventions of the parachute, helicopter and tank, he epitomised the Renaissance humanist ideal.

Source

Among Leonardo Da Vinci's interests, only we are similar maybe in music and mathematics. But the rest, I don't have any idea what is it all about.

But upon watching the movie "Da Vinci Code", which is very entertaining and will make the audience think in most part of the movie. I started using the name DAVINSH ever since. In any form that I needed a nick. My email, games, and now in Steemit. Carrying the nick made everything smooth. Especially when creating an account in anything online that I get involved.

Da_Vinci_Code_poster.jpg
Source

For more than 10 years now, @davinsh gave me a comfort of being unique. I may not have the knowledge in art like Leonardo Da Vinci, I still thank him for creating my profile and became known in our field. Actually, thanks to the movie.


Here is my short entry to @steemitachievers' writing contest titled, My Name is What? A Writing Contest by @steemitachievers. Thank you for helping me to come up with another post.


Thank You!


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM


I am a part of the following respected groups:

DQmcbB1Sq9wLKXAXBdtg95FRwwSNfGvAeYDmQBP2VQCcbAY[1].png

FB_IMG_1516053153789.jpg

member.gif

I also support and believe the initiatives of the following witnesses:

@steemgigs@adsactly-witness
@aggroed@ausbitbank
@clayop@curie
@jerrybanfield@steemitboard
@thecryptodrive@themarkymark
@blocktrades@qurator



To cast your vote, just click here.

Sort:  

Haha that is so cool and so you were a veteran of Ragnarok as well.
Man that just brought back memories.

Not really a veteran man, though a level 99 Agi Lord Knight was the highest I got. Sadly I can't even kill an Agi SinX during PvP so I was not able to join and battle for WoE. Haha. And that is the reason I quit playing after spending thousands of pesos for a better armor and weapons. hehe.

I assume you're one the killer guild back in the days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23