Toads Bait Shop My Reflection and Character Contest 3 SBD to the Winner

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

image

Well I am still working on the voice delivery here on @steemit, I finally got the sound effects to load and I did a couple of test recordings. Must say it turned out better than I thought. There is something different in telling a story to a couple of folks or even a small gathering at our Catfish Meetings, than to set down and record your story for the whole world, well in my case 54 followers. I have never attempted anything like this before and the first recording I cold really tell. Nervous as heck, pauses where there needed to be non and a couple long winded ones where I got excited, that one was ok, but I forgot about 2 minutes of the whole heart of the story.

I decided to take a break, I went outside and set on a log by my Koi pond. I got to thinking about how this old world has changed from when I was a kid, then my brain really got to racing because thinking of the changes just in the last 20 years. Pretty amazing and a big scary at the same time. Here I am, talking into a mic, setting in my shop, trying to tell a story nuttier than squirrel poo that will have a chance to be heard by folks from around the world.

Just think about where the world of fishing has come, side imaging sonar, underwater cameras, GPS devices that tell you to the inch of where that favorite fishing hole is that you fished three years ago. Toad use to sell worms, minnows and crickets, now he sells 15,000 different types of plastic worms, thousands of different crank baits. Every type of electronic sensors that your brain can imagine. Poles that hold your boat in place with the push of a button, all so you can hit that one nesting bass. Fishing has changed, I know I spend more time in preparation than I do actually fishing.

Toad gives classes once a week and now there are 50 magazines that touch every part of the world and you can read them on your smart phone while fishing. You have the guys @myhuntingfishing tackling the steemit folks, offering many ways to help you catch fish and then the coolest thing, share your catch or trip experience with the rest of the fishing community on steemit. It also lets me share my adventures at Toads Bait Shop with all you folks as well. Guess if you step back it really lets us see how small we really are in this great big world. Millions and Millions of people going a thousand different directions, but every day someone comes up with a way that all our lives can cross paths.

One thing that has been cool in this adventure I am on right now is some of you here on steemit, @comedyopenmic folks have been wonderful, they really helped me see the value of this platform and really having me wanting to push it more and more. From @acolucky finding my post when I was basically typing to three folks, to @thevillan offering words of encouragement. Its a pretty cool community and I think we all need to be great full, thank full and encourage able to the other folks on here. I see a lot of folks just cruising the trending sections, commenting without reading the post and only up voting themselves. Those folks have missed the mark, I mean way over shot it. Yes its cool seeing an upvote or a comment, but my goal has nothing to do with the money part of steemit and I am sure folks reading this has somewhat the same view.

My goal, let you step back in time to the old bait shops of the past. Make you feel like you are there and you know my little group of characters and first and foremost, put a smile on your face. This old world can be pretty cruel and a smile goes a long way.

Now with that out of the way and sorry to deviate from my story telling, I would like to offer up a little contest, well contest isn't the right word, how about an opportunity to help me with a couple new characters. I have been writing about my 25 guys for 15 years now, yes you all have only seen a small portion of what I have wrote about them. I thought since I was here on steemit and you all are reading, wouldn't it be kind of fun to give me a couple folks to ingest into Toads world, at least I thought it would.

Here is what I need:

  1. name
  2. age
  3. occupation
  4. body type
  5. type of hunting or fishing
  6. what part of the world did they grow up in
  7. IQ
  8. Religion
  9. Political Preference
  10. Income Bracket
  11. personality (ie funny-serious-nervous-fearless) that type

To enter a character, just post in the comments below, you don't have follow, upvote, resteem, but is sure would be appreciated.

@idikuci donated 3 SBD to go to the winner

I have a sheet on all my characters that way I keep everything in order and it also helps to know who need to show up or what will they add to the story.

Just thought it could be fun and I'm so new and small here there is not a whole lot I can do to help folks out, just my way of saying thank you all for letting me into your worlds.

VOICE ADDED POST COMING SOON
just want it to be perfect

Gus

Sort:  

Hmm...

  1. Daniel James
  2. 42
  3. delivery boy
  4. Potato
  5. spear fishing / hunting with knife
  6. Hawaii
  7. 89
  8. lutheran
  9. Conservative
  10. 15000-25000
  11. lost in a world too big for him. personality: Aloof

Thank you, this could get fun.

I'll give you the first thing that came to mind.

  1. Brandon Anderson
  2. 28
  3. Lawyer
  4. Fit and athletic but developing a beer belly.
  5. Fly fisherman (bass and trout), Wannabe bass pro, Some inshore fishing
  6. Southern U.S. Louisiana.
  7. 105 but thinks he is 130
  8. Southern Baptist
  9. Democrat
  10. 95,000 - 115,000
  11. Over confident, somewhat overbearing, mama's boy.

A flyfishing pro basser, now that would be interesting, wades instead of using a bass boat, being a lawyer he found a loop hole in the rules

Thanks for the mention much appreciated, looking forward to hearing some of these stories :D

  1. Zafar
  2. 36
  3. Teacher
  4. Fit and energic
  5. Hunter
  6. Aceh
  7. 80
  8. Muslim
  9. Democrats
  10. 100-300
  11. Confidently sincere and sincere

Is this your fictional made up character or is this you

I don't want it to be someone real, my stories are fiction, made up characters, they are only real in my head.
So you have to make up a character, someone funny. Read a Toads Bait Shop story and maybe you will see what I mean

Danny Slaughter
50
Retired Navy Seal
Fit with the height of 5'11
Setting a booby trap in the wild, diving in the sea with a harpoon.
California USA
IQ 150
Evangelical Christian
Federalism
$2-3k
Generous, Confident, Fearless and Serious type

that's a good one, sure with the federalism and Christian he probably will be moving soon lol, that or split Cali up, whats it up to now, 3 different states in the constitution?

Om my, to be honest, I don't understand your English grammar sorry I'm not that good in English Huhuhu!

But one thing for sure you like my entry, isn't?

Okay, I got it now hahaha! took 5 minutes to understand XD Lol

Hello, when you'll post the winner? ^_^

It has 2 more days here is the new post, yours is still in it, we just added more SBD to the prize. https://steemit.com/comedyopenmic/@possumworks/win-5-sbd-a-contest-within-a-contest

Thank you so much! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54523.93
ETH 2291.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35