Wild Turkeys and 7 young babes - Several shots

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago

Surprised by 2 Wild Turkey Hens and 7 young turkeys in the the driveway yesterday.
Went to take the trash out and when I opened the front door, there they were 10 feet away.
They looked at me, I looked at them, and then I slowly backed into the house.

I ran upstairs to grab my camera, and by that time they were making it around the side of the house into the backyard and woods.
Turkeys1-2018-08-13.JPG

I got a couple shots there on the side, near the driveway.
Turkeys2-2018-08-13.JPG

Turkeys3-2018-08-13.JPG

Turkeys4-2018-08-13.JPG

Then, I had to go back inside and out to our deck so as not to spook them away. Here we can count the 7 babies.
Turkeys5-2018-08-13.JPG

Turkeys6-2018-08-13.JPG

Hunting Grasshoppers!
Turkeys7-2018-08-13.JPG

and finally, off into the woods.
Turkeys8-2018-08-13.JPG

All Photos original and copyright the author of this post. Shot with Sony a200 55-200mm.
Follow for more @ksteem

Sort:  

Nice shots!

That's pretty cool! I've never seen baby turkeys in the wild.🍗🍗

First time for me too! Youngest I've ever seen before were 3 times that size! Good to see such a nice size group, guessing each hen had 3-4 poults?

It's funny how you can spend so much time in the woods and still never see certain things. Lol

These pictures are awesome. It might have been a tough job to capture them without scaring them off.

Thanks @preetika yes I was doing my best tippy toe ninja mode around other bushes and trees to not scare them off.

What a nice family. November is not too far away...

Yes, first time I've seen any that little running around in the while. Looks like both hens had a nice healthy hatch. Now if we can just keep the coyotes away!

칠면조가족 나들이군요...

Yes, it is a turkey family (for english folks).
고맙습니다 (Thank you!)

you have a fantastic capture.

Thanks @wendyth16 Love that hot pink flower on your blog.

wow i want to it on tae dinner

Well, I just like to watch them nowadays, and listen to them. Just love to hear the wild gobblers gobbling!

nice pic's...mother with his baby

Tks, I was excited to get to see them in my own yard. I used to drive hours to see them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82