The Beauty Called Curie...

in #mycuriestory6 years ago

U5dsoNud6o4Lf64m8vEVxr1EHFcWJYK_1680x8400.png

They were strangers...

They sat across each other, an empty table between them. Both had tired looks on their faces; the regimented life in camp was beginning to take its toll on them. They both waited silently for the meal they ordered to be served.

Kay glanced at his wristwatch and sighed; he was the one in charge of unlocking and arranging the chairs for his platoon members at the multipurpose hall, and tonight there was a performance. More specifically, in about twenty minutes he had to leave, else there would be commotion in the hall when he eventually arrives... He sighed again, and in a bid to take his mind off worrying, he starts fiddling with his phone...

Bola turned his neck around for the umpteenth time, he wondered what was holding back the guy serving the food. He needed to eat quickly and then get to the hostel to change into the required uniform for tonight's performance. The soldiers never blew the beagle a moment late, and this waiter dude was simply wasting his time. He never liked hurrying, perhaps he should just leave he thinks to himself. He makes to stand up, but the sudden high pitched scream accompanied by a bang on the table stops him straight on his tracks...

They aren't strangers anymore...

............

Awesome steemians,
Forgive my drift, but that narrative was important. It happened about two weeks ago (fifteen days ago to be more specific ). And if you had guessed that yours truly is the character Kay, then you are absolutely right.
Now why was I screaming and banging the table in the middle of a seemingly dire situation? Your guess is as good as mine beloved steemians, @curie found me worthy again...

A while ago I had written my first curie story detailing how @curie made serving my nation an easier task than it would have otherwise been. After hitting camp however, I faced a few extra snags: internet service was horrible, light was not readily available, and of course, I had to act the soldier for 21days. What was a man to do?

The result? I could no longer keep up with the posts on my feed (that hurts), and I also couldn't keep up with my favorite contests here on steemit. The worst part was losing touch with all the new friends I had made here... Let me stop here, lest I get too emotional...

Anyways, at certain occasions I did find some few minutes of respite to settle down enough to pen down some of the story ideas in my head which I had put on hold. One of these was Waiting For Juliet, a short story about the love of a woman, for another... No spoilers, go read yourself.

It was this story that found favor with @curie curators once again, and which made me go around screaming and banging on tables... 😊

............

I usually say I'm the luckiest person on planet earth, and to be honest, I believe it to be true, a hundred percent. This is why when I found out, after leaving camp, that flood had ravaged the house where I stored all my clothes and electronic devices I couldn't take into camp, I smiled to myself, and remembered @curie. She (@curie) made my camp easy, and she was also just in time to prevent another headache after camp was over.

Today I haven't been able to replace my laptop and a few other electronic devices yet, but a lot has been replaced with ease... Plus I made a new friend, who I've introduced to the platform.... All thanks to the beauty that is @curie... ❤

Who else knows that feeling when you go to steemnow or steemdb and you see @curie or @henrikdegrote on your voters list? I know right? It's indescribable...

#SladenSpeaks


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68988.65
ETH 3774.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43