My Curie Story | How Curie's Vote Helped Me Serve My Nation

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

A little more than three weeks ago, I had a little chat with @anjkara here on Steemit. She had enjoyed a story-poetry I had done, and had suggested I convert the idea behind it into an open challenge. My answer to her that day was that I lacked the time required to dedicate myself to such an endeavor at that period.

My reason for this had been that I was on the verge of going away for the one year mandatory national service done in my country Nigeria, for all first degree holders below thirty. This though true, was however not my primary concern at the time. My true concern was the need to source for the necessary funds required to truly mobilize myself to whatever part of the country I was posted. Yes, the government won't fund that...

Anyways, fast forward a few days later, and I decided to enter (amongst many others ) a contest held by @zulfikaraw, calling for adventure stories. That morning I had woken up with swollen eyes, as a result of writing late into the previous night. My partner was also due to travel home to her parents that morning. So after seeing her off to the bus stop, I got back home and settled to write something, anything for @zulfikaraw's contest.

As I wrote, my eyes protested, and every line written felt like a separate conquest of its own. At least on five different occasions I resisted the urge to select all I'd written and simply wipe it all off, just so I could close my eyes and rest. But for some unknown reason (probably my need for funds), I soldiered on.

By the time I was done with THE FOREST OF KUDU, my eyes were pouring out water. With a sigh of relief, I submitted the post and commented the link to it on the contest post. Then I gratefully closed my eyes, and I slept off.

So as not to escalate my bad eyes, I completely refused to look on any screen (so I didn't check on the post) for the rest of that day. I used eye drops at intervals, and slept when I could. In the middle of the night around 1.am, I decided my eyes were good enough to finally look Steemit up. This is how it happened...

First, I noticed the rise in my reputation score. I was confused, 46 and 49 aren't that far from each other, but I could remember vividly that my rep score had been crawling for a while. Why then the sudden boost, I asked myself. Then it hit me, I must have gotten a huge vote. Down I scrolled, and then those numbers appeared like the most colourful dream I'd ever had. I almost jumped and touched the ceiling. No, I didn't, but I certainly did wake my neighbors...

U5dsoNud6o4Lf64m8vEVxr1EHFcWJYK_1680x8400.png

At this point, I had no idea it was @curie that had voted my post. As a matter of fact, I had never heard of the @curie trail prior to that. To truly confess, even after I opened my post and saw the comments, I actually thought it was @misterakpan's effort alone that had given me that massive vote.

Then I got to do some little research, and I discovered that curie's votes is one of, and for me so far, the best thing one could experience here on Steemit. That day my joy knew no bounds, and I was able to relax and mobilize myself successfully for my national year of service... @curie is a darling, and @misterakpan really doesn't know how much his attention to my post meant to me... I love you guys loads....

You made serving my nation a less financially straining endeavor, THANK YOU!


This post would also not be complete without giving due recourse to those who helped build me here on Steemit, my Steemit Mentors (though they may be unaware that they are)...

In no particular order,

@vermillionfox, @artwatch, @iamthegray, @karenmckersie, @byn, @chinyerevivian, @djoi, @emilo3, and of course, @mimy

You all are cherished, more ink to your pens...

Sladen Loves Y'all...

P. S. Service to my nation is tedious, and I really do miss Steeming with regularity...

#SladenSpeaks

BQ7oTrtlXpj.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @seesladen, I chose your #mycuriestory to be featured in our most recent Author Showcase. Loved your story! You can check out the post here:
https://steemit.com/curation/@curie/curie-author-showcase-may-1st-2018

Hiya Sladen

That's really inspiring. I'm so glad you got the Curie and that it helped take at least some pressure off your enforced slavery. You're so talented and sooooo deserving.

Best wishes <3

SIGNATURE.png

😘

Who is the mentor? Look at this old man calling me, a small boy, his mentor

Congratulations once again though. Na my post remain for curie to upvote.

And yes, @misterakpan has been very wonderful. I know other Nigerians who have benefited from him.

Hope service is awesome 😜😜😜

Blessings

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

As I wrote, my eyes protested, and every line written felt like a separate conquest of it's own.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

I'm so glad that you're having such a positive experience here on steemit. I love it as well :)

Thanks a bunch, you rock!

Congratulations and I hope your year of national service goes fast.

Me too... 😊

The military drills are exerting 😣

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54