Letter To My Sixteen Year Old Self...

in #blog6 years ago

iStock-184839769.jpg
Image source: Google Images


Dear little one,
These are the words of your grown up self,
From he who was you once,
To he who would someday be myself...

I know that this letter may never reach you,
I simply write in the wild belief that you may see,
That even though many of your dreams never came true,
I'm glad you never believed in "what will be, will be"...

Look, your teenage years may be much overrated,
As a man now, I can tell you that,
Those "learn this or learn that" words which you hated,
They've come around now to bite me back...

Little Sixteen, I do not claim to be any wiser,
I would be you again if I had the chance,
If only to do the same things a little better,
Now that experience has burnt my hands...

I could start talking of all that I've learned,
Of love, of money, of commitment, and aims,
But all of these things you too have felt,
Only in your case, they were little more than games...

So I'll simply say, all in all I'm proud little one,
Of you, of me, of what we've become,
If life was a game, we may not have won,
But it's safe to say we've certainly begun...

And we'll get there someday,
And he who we would become would show us the way...

With another letter in due time...

Yours in the nearest future,

Sladen Kay

#SladenSpeaks


Originally written and posted here on Steemit...

Reposted for @rumplestiltskin's Killerpoetry Contest #25


PhotoGrid_1497729547627.jpg

Sort:  

This is awesome man

Mad jamz

Beautiful poem 💞Absolutely lovely 💜💙

Thanks, you're too kind. 😊

Why have you declined payout for this, Sladen? It's stunning.

Thanks for sharing

SIGNATURE.png

Awwww, thanks for your kind words ma'am....

I did cos I initially published it here, about a month back. And even though it had quite a low payout (due to my low follower count and less recognition back then), i still didn't want to risk anyone's wrath, lol. Better to decline payout than be flagged, yeah? 😄😃

Thanks again for your kind words, appreciate.

Ah, I see. Makes sense. My first posts where ghost towns too lol. And, sadly, some of my newer ones hahah

SIGNATURE.png

Idea: why not tag people and invite them to write a letter to their younger selves? Fun to get everyone to play along. And monetise it!!! :D

Would be wonderful... But i fear i wouldn't be able to devote the time to it now...
Perhaps after the first phase of my fast approaching one year mandatory service to my country...

after the first phase of my fast approaching one year mandatory service to my country...

Is that a kind of compulsory military service? What do you have to do?

SIGNATURE.png

It's more like compulsory slaving... We are posted to a state (must not be our state of origin, and state where we schooled), and we are drafted into some government institution (maybe a school or a ministry, but mostly schools), and we are used as staff for a year, and are paid peanuts (emphasis on peanuts)...

But then again, most employers demand a certificate of service before employment, so we can only grumble...

Oh no! That sounds terrible - compulsory slaving! So sorry to hear they have you by the balls... do your slave duties or else you won't be able to find employment later on! Wow!

I hope they post you somewhere cushy and nice and easy. Somewhere with lots of perks.

:(

SIGNATURE.png

I hope so too... Thanks for your kind words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45