You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Curie Story - How a @curie upvote changed my life.

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for taking the time to write out this post. I find it very interesting. I'm close to 30 days in Steemit and somehow got fortunate enough to get a Curie up vote, or at least I think I did. I also wondered who @hendrikdegrote is. I would agree that Curie is helping fulfill the best part of the Steem blockchain in helping reward good content. I am curious how creators fare after receiving one or two big Curie votes. Do many of them go on to be more successful as long as they keep creating good content? How likely is success, and what other factors beyond producing quality content help to achieve success here? I've been receiving between $0.50 to $2.00 on a lot of my posts, but have had a few that made it much higher. Do I change up my strategy, or keep plugging away? Will it be worth it if I follow my current strategy? These are just a few of the thoughts and questions that this post inspired.

Sort:  

Hi Justin :) I am a Curie curator and in fact did submit one of your first few posts to Curie for review and eventual upvote, a post on portrait / vertical composition in landscape photography :)

Engaging with the community and making friends is probably more important to success here than posting quality content; or rather, quality content still certainly helps, but is not typically enough to guarantee success. Most of the people who "make" it have become active in one or more of the communities that have sprung up on Steem blockchain. I have been doing some analysis on user retention, authors voted by Curie certainly are more likely to be active users and less likely to drop off, but correlation here does not necessarily equal causation. Either the Curie upvote is helping to keep authors engaged; or Curie is doing a good job finding engaged authors in the first place; or both. And in any of those cases, I think the below numbers speak to a job well done by Curie curators.


*Posts or Comments
**All accounts with at least one post or comment (n=416,379)

Aah yes! Now I remember your username from your comment on my vertical landscape post. I didn't have a great idea of what Curie was at the time, but noticed others posting to that community with the Curie tag.

That is interesting data you're citing. I'd agree that whether Curie causes continued engagement, or simply identifies existing engagement and quality, it's serving a valuable purpose. All very interesting to me. I noticed there is a Curie white paper. I'm off to read that now.

Thank you for your uninhibited sharing! @markangeltruman 😉

Since joining steemit about 3 weeks ago, I kept hearing a lot about @curie but I never understood what it was. I only knew that @curie is a witness to the Steemit blockchain.

So in summary, @curie is a handle owned by a person or a group of persons whose sole purpose is to help curate quality content in the Steemit blockchain.

When coming onboard Steemit, it was clear that there are rewards for content creators. But I find it most interesting how this blockchain makes it a rewarding experience for curators as well.

The feeling that in some cases you are potentially changing people's lives is something else - something that I believe only curie can offer.

I would like to learn more from you. I am right now still a beginner but I envision a near future where perhaps I can start my own curation trail to help encourage and reward young starters who write quality content on the topic of renewable energy, climate change and adoption stories.

What is your advice?

my advice is to join the PAL and or Homesteaders server, where you will find interesting people to network with that share your interests. There are already a few curations going, however if you are doing solely malaysian starters thats a great initiative. :)

PAL invite
Homesteaders

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84