Am I Dreaming? Is it a Glitch? No - "You've Been Curied!"

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

millie-feathers.jpg

I have to share this experience with you, my followers, friends and fellow Steemians. I've just 'been Curied' and it could not have happened at a more apt and fortuitous moment...

Firstly, many thanks to @rasamuel for putting my post forward to the Curie collective. And many thanks to the members of @curie who responded to my post with such positivity. Maybe I'm crazy, but I feel as though you just acted as a channel for a message from life.

Because quite literally at EXACTLY THE SAME TIME as my partner was telling me how talented I am as a writer, and how it's a shame that I'm "not doing anything with it"; and as I was replying to him that sharing my writing alongside my art and photography here online IS me doing something with it, right here, on my Steemit blog, my last post about the death of my beloved Millie was suddenly going viral...

From 6 upvotes overnight to 360 upvotes in the space of 30 minutes! When I came to my computer and saw that happening live, I was completely blown away... At first I thought I must be seeing things, or it must be a glitch. I logged out and logged back in again. Still the numbers were rising.

I called Raven downstairs and said, "WTF is happening? Am I seeing things?! Is this for real?" We checked over on Busy together and saw the notifications piling up. Not dreaming. Seemingly not a glitch...

In pretty short order, I traced the phenomena back to an upvote from a curation collective known as @curie that had opened the upvoting floodgates. OK, so I now understand the phenomena in Steemit terms. But in 'messages from the Universe' terms? I feel as though I have a tiny, frizzled angel watching over me right now - and that something somewhere is telling me that I am on the right track.

millie-ig-3.jpg

Because although I understand that to some people (yes, I get these comments often) my work may look 'too eclectic' or 'unfocused'; although some people may not see the connection between my art, my photography, my writing, my music and the stories I share about my everyday life, guess what? There IS cohesion - there IS congruence. Each of those things - including my love for my non-human companions - plays a part in the whole package of my creativity. There IS no way of separating those elements out for me.

Yes, I could 'sell out' and hunt for the popular vote. I could embellish my story and pimp it up to play to the mainstream audience. I could shift my focus to 'what sells'. I could even (yes, this gets suggested - eek!) give up on my career as an independent creative and start working a day job instead. But you know what? No. I won't do it. I can't do it. It's not who I am and it's not what I want. (Note: I do already have a 'day job', in that I receive a small stipend plus accommodation for my part in taking care of the place I live in, so happily I'm not going to starve whilst doggedly pursuing my creative vision).

So. I am taking this message from life, delivered via @curie, as a sign that sharing all the things I love, all the talents I have, and combining them in my own way to pass on to others the messages that Life sees fit to send through me, is 'right'. "Be the connection, not just the observer", someone once said to me. Exactly. That's what I'm doing. That's my mission, such as it is. I did not light this candle to hide it under a bushel. So thank you for reading this, and for your support of my work, everyone who has and does so. Because moments like my 'being curied' experience make it all worthwhile and restore and replenish my faith.

Message received. Message absorbed. Message transmitted.

💖💛 💖 💛💖 💛 💖 💛 💖

With love,

Jay

millie-ig-2.jpg


Main photo:

CategoryColourful Photography
Settings50mm - ISO 640 - f6.3 - 1/500 sec
CameraOlympus OMD EM-1, M.Zuiko 12-50mm lens
LocationPeak District National Park, Derbyshire, England, UK

What’s your Curie Story? Use #mycuriestory to connect all of the unique ways we’ve been touched by @curie!

AND, if @curie has supported you, consider giving them one of your witness votes!

Find out more about Curie here

Sort:  

The power some people have on this platform is immense and it is great seeing people like @curie helping out those like you who work so hard and deserve to be rewarded for their efforts.

Thanks for sharing your story on being "curied," @jaytalor. c:

@avant Thank you for stopping by and leaving this supportive comment. I really appreciate it. I will definitely be keeping an eye on Curie content from now on!

This is so great to read @jaytaylor and really reaffirms my commitment to Curie. It is stories like yours that give me the fuel to sift through hundreds of posts daily, covered in spam and crap and plagiarism, because REAL PEOPLE are buried under all that shite. Real people are still here on this platform despite its flaws and warts, despite the rise of bots and vote selling, and their voices deserve to be heard. Their creative content deserves to be seen and rewarded. You are a tremendous photographer and I personally appreciate the diversity of your posting. Keep up the good work! So happy Curie reached you at a time when you particularly needed to be reached. Much love - Carl

Thank you so much, Carl. This is such a beautiful comment to read. I've got tears in my eyes here. Much love back to you, Jay 💖

Congratulations! You deserve it! 🏆

Awww, thank you, @rimicane. 💖💛 💖

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 05:50:06
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1136.06/1600.00
Total Photos: 57
Total comments: 49
Total contest wins: 17
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84