My Curie Story: Thank You @curie

in #mycuriestory6 years ago

Old Woman2_who_lived_in_a_shoe Joseph Martin Kronheim 1875 public.png


We didn't have quite as many children in my family as are shown in the picture. This drawing illustrates the nursery rhyme, "There Was an Old Woman Who Lived in a Shoe", and appears in an 1875 book, My First Picture Book, by Joseph Martin Kronheim. The image is in the public domain.




It can safely be said I was born with little influence, even in my own family. I was fifth in a clutch of six children. There were three girls, and I was the middle girl. Obviously, I wasn't the most consequential person in the house. That may be why the recognition @curie gave me feels so remarkable.

I keep asking myself, why me? There's only one answer: @curie genuinely wants to help Steemit be a quality organization where new people, people with little influence, can feel invested.

Of course @curie doesn't operate in a vacuum. I don't understand exactly how it does operate, but I do know that those who receive its attention have to be recommended. That means two fellow Steemians, with no ulterior motive, with no significant connection to me, took the time to nominate my blog.

So what has @curie done for me? Of course, there are upvotes and an increase in my ability to operate on Steemit, but that's not the best part. The best part is, I feel great. I feel appreciated, energized, eager to do more work and to participate. Thank you, @curie, for the recognition. Thank you, @veckinon, for nominating me, for giving me a boost when it seemed I was treading water. Thank you @raj808, for reading my blog, for appreciating it, and for taking the time to put it forward for consideration.

I'm not a young woman. In my youth, I made my way through various challenges, basically on my own, without a network, without influence. It's nothing new for me to press on against odds. What is a surprise, is the sense that in this wacky world of cryptocurrency, whales, dolphins and minnows, generosity and kindness are offered so freely.

Tonight, I'm going to rest for a while, then start on a new blog. But first, I want to encourage everyone to vote for @curie as witness. @curie is a solid operator in the Steemit community. Its activities elevate what happens on this platform. Our vote counts, so we should use it wisely.

Thank you, to so many really nice Steemians I've run into, and thank you @curie.

Sort:  

Hi @agmoore ,

The new Curie Author Showcase is up and ready for viewing. I used your #mycuriestory in the post this week.

Thanks,
Gene (@curie Curator)

Thank you, @randomwanderings. I like your handle--sometimes that's how I feel on Steemit, wandering randomly, occasionally getting lost. Then someone steps forward, gives a boost, a little advice and I'm back on track. I really, really appreciate efforts like @curie that give this platform a sense of community.

There were three girls, and I was the middle girl.


The proverbial 'Jan Brady.' Haha.
Just kidding.

I have never heard a group of children referred to as a 'clutch.' Is that a thing?

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

This is exactly how I felt when I got my first and then second curie votes. In fact it was the second one which inspired me to visit the curie chatroom and learn what it was all about. I am really glad to hear that it has had the same encouraging effect for you @agmoore, it makes being a curator all worth while when I read stories like this. When I joined curie I wanted to bring people the same feeling of positivity that I felt in the beginning. It's great to have another quality writer on steemit :-)

Thank you. Much appreciated, as you realize. I'm trying to reach out to others, as I get stronger on Steemit. It is a community :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49