Shoe Shots No. 10 ~ Hairston Ascott III Weighs In On Tax Day ~ Original Post on The Procrastinational Arts ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mycatweighsinontaxday7 years ago (edited)

P1030510-1 193kb.jpg

"Isn't There Something Else You Really Should Be Doing Right About Now?"



A Short Conversation Between Hairston Ascott III and Myself On The Front Porch This Morning:

"Morning Hairston, what you looking at"?
"The Mailman."
"Oh, that's right!!"
"What?"
"Nothing. SO...how's your day shaping up so far, shorty?"
"Not too bad. Chased Little Kitty around for a time. When's breakfast going to be ready?"
"Get to it in a moment."
"Your moments are a whole lot longer than mine."
"Patience, patience, as they say. All in due time."
"Due time, schmoo-time, let's get to the Kibbles n' Bits."
"Alright."
"Speaking of the Mailman, isn't today Human Tax Day?"
"Yes, suppose it is."
"Are you done yet."
"Close."
"You know what they say..."
"Who's they...you're a cat... and what does WHO say?"
"I heard it from the neighbor kids, they were playing Army in the lot next door. Some sort of argument about who's turn it was to lay down. Something to the tune of "close only counts in horseshoes, hand grenades and atomic warfare."
"Oh."
"Well...?"
"Well what?"
"If you get in there and feed me, you can get to work on those Taxes."
"Suppose you're right."
"Of course I'm right. I'm a cat. Let's get to that breakfast. Oh, and sorry about all that hair on your pants."

Patting Hairston on the head as I get up to make some food, and get going on the day...

"That's OK, It's what we kitty-tender's do. Be right out with that food."
("Finally!")

~ Finto ~






Self-Actualized ~ MultiColor 99 3/3 Award for Number of Followers



Please Check Out My Other Posts, If You So Desire
~ALL ORIGINAL CONTENT~

Sort:  

Irs all about that food when it comes to cats! What a cute critter!

He is a cute and nice cat. But about as bright as a sandy brick. Wiggles his head/eyes like those eyeball cat-clocks on grandmas wall years ago when you talk to him. "I know somethings up, just not sure what".

Hehehe, one of mine is as thick as a brick. He is also the most loveable and affectionate but boy is he daft!

You have a beautiful companion :)

Thank you, he is beautiful, and a real character. The cats keep life interesting, that's for sure.

I have three dogs and two parrots, but I do not know how to talk to them, I imagine my morning together talking at the same time.
Excellent work dear friend @ddschteinn very creative congratulations, thanks for sharing

I bet you discuss things with them now and then. It's amazing how often I look around to see if anyone is listening, when carrying on a conversation with one of the many cats around the place. They sure ACT like they know what I'm saying.

Great you have three dogs and parrots. What kind of parrots are they? Actually, what kind of dogs too? Have you even done a post on your parrots? That would be interesting. Thanks for the look in and nice comments. Take care.

Nice post @ddschteinn, it looks like Hairston Ascott III could be a maine coon, just a guess?

Not sure. He's an 'over the fencer'. As in, just showed up over the fence one day. Wouldn't go away, got fixed, and now sits and waits for breakfast/lunch/dinner all day long. He isn't real thick (except mentally)... Think maine coon's are pretty stocky, aren't they? Middle name is Ascott because he has a huge white mane like a lion. A real character, that's for sure.

Hairston Ascott III =The coolest cat name, EVER!

Seriously, he sounds about as motivated as all of my felines, but with a moniker like that he could probably sit in a shoebox all day, flick his bushy tail, and still be the most savage creature ever.

There were never conversations with Cleocatra and Boobie Clark about tax preparation procrastination, you have a very special cat indeed! Loved this post! Well, I am rather fond of them all, but this one made me laugh like a laughing gas addled hyena!

I don't know, sounds like your naming skills at least meet, if not surpass those of here-abouts. Cleaocatra, and Boobie Clark. Pretty classic monikers in their own right. Is that them in your post? From what events or whenst do these labels arise? I am working (very slowly) on a book about cats, since there have been many, and the naming part is a whole lot of the fun. I should do a short post on this idea sometime. "Get in line, posts, get in line"!!! If only grand ideas would just put themselves out...

Glad you enjoyed this post, as well as others. So fun to write, so much more fun if appreciated. (And Hairston is far from a savage creature, more of a numb little dork, but lovable. The Ascott comes from his enormous white mane, (or Tudor Ruff), that he keeps very well groomed. Sits around with enormous tufts of fur sticking out of his mouth, for an hour or two. Not the brightest bulb in the package, but a nice cat. He just showed up at the other cat's food bowls one day and just decided to stay. So he IS actually rather smart, on some mental plane of study.)

Alas, many of the best named animals in my life received their labels courtesy of my father, a man of rare linguistic talent, or as my husband likes to say: "Diarrhea of the mouth." Most creatures and people in our lives get multiple names and nicknames, for apparently the people of our flock can't bestow just one moniker as a label!

The kids got to name the two feline paper weights, Tingy (AKA Big Kitty) and "The" Precious (Do NOT forget the article). I might have got banned from cat naming after bestowing the last floofy cat with the name Smudge Mohair Vestment Jr. I am not ashamed....

So looking forward to your forthcoming cat tome! How exciting! And many apologies for referring to Hairston with common youth slang of the day, I have been hearing how "savage" things are as of late, and it has apparently rubbed off! lol. I do so hope that you'd be so kind to give Hairston a scratch from this Kat, apologies for excess fur stickage to the hands and clothing in advance......

Hey, that sounds exactly like a conversation I had with a cat of mine at one point...lol!
Excellent original tag ;)

Love them tags. And you probably got smart (unlike some of us), and don't NEED to have this conversation, as you probably get those things like taxes done a BEFORE the night tthey are due. I fear I will still be having this conversation long after this cat is gone. Then again, maybe an anti-procrastinational epiphany will strike soon. Then again, again...

Oh! I have just seen this post! Nice photo with cute cat! Very creative conversation between you and your cat. I enjoyed reading the story....really amazing and this can make me smile widely.... Thanks so much for sharing! ;D

So very glad to make you smile. I always talk to my cats...even when other's are around..."Who's he talking to"? They are alot of fun. Did you ever keep that cat that was on your balcony?

Yeah! You have very good humor and everyone who is around you would feel happy.

Oh! I'm really glad that you still remember the cat at my balcony! I'm sorry, but she and her kitty left me since then.... Her kitty is now growing up and looks cheerful. He or she with his or her mother keeps running to and fro in front of my house! Thanks so much for asking about the cat! ;)

Good one. I bite the bullet and do it on the computer...seems to make it a bit less...yucky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95