Gold in the Mountains: Show Your CaliforniasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mycalifornia6 years ago

Hi Friends,

This post is an entry into the weekly contest of @socalsteemit where we show our California.

California is famous for getting a large number of its first settlers during the California gold rush. Many people headed out west in search of the gold riches that California had to offer.

While gold mining hit or miss for many of the dream seekers, remnants of the gold rush can still be found today. Where I live near the San Gabriel Mountains, evidence of the gold rush can still be found in the hills. If you explore certain areas of the rivers and streams, you will find roads and mined out caves where gold seekers searched for the big find.

Here is a picture of me panning for gold in the east fork of the San Gabriel River:

0CD7B8E6-F0DA-407C-AD32-E99D158B210E.jpeg

While I love being up in the mountains for the change of scene and fresh air, I have not had much success finding the gold flakes nuggets that are still waiting to be found. There are dedicated prospectors who are finding a decent amount of gold still today, but it is a lot of tough work to get the gold - the thrill of the big find keeps many of them going!

Thanks for stopping by today,
Brian

Sort:  

Nice! I love the East Fork. I do quite a bit of prospecting up there. It's tough to find much with just a pan. You really need a sluice box. And the gold is usually deep. But I'm super excited for this year after all these rains, the flood gold should be pretty awesome!
17757402_1488294901201643_182830466913092639_n.jpg

That’s a great pic! Sounds like you know what you are doing and have had some success up there! When I finally make it to a meet up, maybe I will have to convince you to impart your knowledge sometime!

I'm not the best prospector up there, but I do ok. It's always a lot of fun regardless. I've been doing it over 6 years now and I'm still learning new stuff all the time. Someday I'd like to have a meetup up there at the Oaks picnic area. I think it would be fun. Do some diggin' in the morning then have a BBQ/meetup in the afternoon. I also wanna start posting about gold prospecting more here on Steem. I think I'm gonna start off with some basic "how to" videos.

Love the idea of a meetup up there! That would be a great time... like your idea on the how tos as well!

Thank you @brian.rrr for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Great adventure sir @brian. California is such a enriched place of Gold Mine. Gold is the most precious metals and it's tough to find it in mountains without any machine but if you get then you are very lucky. Best of luck.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

wow, very nice natural photography. this photo touch my hart.
But what are you doing in the water?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83