My biggest fear

Weekly photo challenge @claudiaz

I didn't have to think too long about this one. I'm not terrified of spiders or snakes, I'm not afraid of heights, or of the dark.

My biggest fear has always been that I would get a phone call saying Jim had been killed while off on a motorcycle ride with his friends. He often came home, bandaged or needing time to recover from broken ribs, but he never made a big deal out of it, and was always ready to go again.

He was such a dare devil!

He drove too fast and laughed at me when I would ask him to pull over for a few minutes so that I could take a photo and catch my breath.

He often thanked me for not standing in his way him and letting him live his life, and I don't think he ever knew of my fears or how I had to clench my teeth or turn my back to his antics.

image

I often had to take a deep breath or look the other way.

image

image

And in the end, it was cancer that I should have been most afraid of.

Sort:  

Oh my.. that is sad.. My heart goes out to you!

Thanks, my awesome friend!

Wow. Didn't know Jim was such a risk taker. 😦 Sounds like he lived life to the fullest. Now I see how you guy's managed to take such great photographs! Miss seeing the dynamic duo, miss Jim, he was always an important part in all, if not, most of your posts.

Nice to see him again, so to speak. ♥

You can't imagine how much I miss him. We.had so much fun together. I am so grateful for all the memories.

Sorry to read that. I know it doesn't bring him back but I always preach to friends and family how important it is to eat right. My number one garlic killer is garlic. You won't smell nice but you'll live

He fought it off for 10 years, but in the end there was nothing that would stop it. Hope the garlic works for you...It is an awful way to die

The end made me teary eyed. Hugs to you,my friend.

Thanks for the hugs!

Tipuvote!

Thank you so much, 💕❤

My pleasure!

Awh sweetie, It sounds like Jim knew how to be free with his expression of life. I bet he knew deep inside how much you feared those motorcycles. Thank goodness you can say that you two enjoyed so many wonderful moments together. xoxoxo

The thing I loved best was how he lived his life which such exuberance! We had so many fun times.

That is the best part of life, living it with passion and not holding back. What a precious example of the love you two shared, I can feel it coming through your post. Did he die recently? I hope you don't mind my asking, but do you live in the country or on a farm?

Jim died almost a year ago. On Jan. 19. I live in a wooded area on the Rock River, a few miles from town. Most of my life has been spent farming, or living in rural areas, or small towns. I have moved around, but always stayed pretty close to Wisconsin.

The reason I asked is when I read your last reply about his exuberance I got chills from head to toe and the strongest smell of hay in a barn came to me. It felt like he was saying hello to you and I was to share that with you. You shared a deep love for each other because that's what I feel from him towards you. Wow, I am crying writing this to you and hope that is okay to share, as I know how tender your heart is.

My farming days were before I knew him. He was a total city boy and farming was a complete mystery to him. Not sure what the hay thing was about!

😪😪 its great you let him do his thing and he lived a good life with you and I'm so sorry God took him to soon I love your post Melinda it shows how much you loved him❤️😍❤️

Thanks, Ceci. It's was much too soon. But we did create memories!!

I can imagine your fear living with a fearless husband. My husband has done many of dareish things that made me cringe. He wanted to get motorcycle but I have been totally against it...so no motorcycle. I have enough worries with the kids. God Bless you Melinda, I am so sorry to hear about the cancer. That was really heart breaking to hear.

Thanks for your kind words. He brought me so much joy that it would have been foolish of me to try to set limits on him.

Oh my heart......sigh. Your story has given me great pause.

I never expected to watch him die day by day in our home.

I can't imagine how difficult that must have been for you. Your post was a beautiful tribute to him. Thank you for sharing how much fun you were together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67