My 2018: A Tour around my town: my small but mighty town.

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone.
IMG_20161209_180548.jpg
That would be a picture of the gates of brass in my town. 😏😏😏Read about it below.

Today I'm going to be giving a short tour on my town. But maybe I should clarify that it's more like a quaint little village in a big town. The big town would be Aluu and the village I live in is called Omokiri. For further information, it's in Rivers state of Nigeria.

Have I said before that it's a small town,🙈 well I'm saying it again. You can literally drive through the main streets of omokiri in 8 minutes tops. I would know because I live at the boundary between omokiri and the next village, omuchiolu.

Omokiri is basically made of shops, filling stations, a few hotels, hostels and houses everywhere. It's labelled "school area" because it's right next to the prestigious University of Port Harcourt. A great population of the students have taken up residence in and around here.

Fun fact: I can say that it's the only village I know of that is fondly called "Aluu" by the students.

Back to my tour.
A few metres from my house is our famous playground which is used for every single function possible. From church Crusades, to weddings, to football matches, to our favorite "egelege" (traditional wrestling) festival, to burials, and most especially massacres.

Check out the story of the Aluu four here https://www.google.com.ng/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aluu_four_lynching&ved=2ahUKEwjq9eu_h5nZAhUFPRQKHYMPDdAQFjAAegQIDxAB&usg=AOvVaw0ETQ_QUybdJK0_Q4m2NavL
NB: I can't guarantee how accurate this is though. But it happened.

Back to my tour, a few ways down the road, we have a car wash and a few bars. I've always wondered why people like to build their drinking establishments right next to each other. (it's kinda weird - bar association 😉). Next is the market which was newly built IE if a year ago means newly. The market really caused a lot of trouble which led to the erecting of our very own police station. But that's a story for another day.

We have 2 beautiful filling stations. Don't ask me why we need 2. I don't know. Coupled with the fact that..... Coughs. 😁 Next up is the police station. This is the only town in Port Harcourt if I dare to say where the police are very creative. They specialize in erecting structures using bags filled with sand and sawdust. These structures serve to create a one way route where it should normally be 2. Don't ask cos I'm not going to tell you what else they do. 😝 (I feel like I'm saying this a lot. Too many mysteries around here😵)

Next site of attraction should be the University of Port Harcourt demonstration secondary school. I said should be though because I'm not sure there's much to talk about. Last time I was in there was 8 years ago. 😟 after the school, all that's left is student hostels. Lots and lots of student lodges as they are called. But trust me, a hostel is a hostel. Whether off campus or on campus. I didn't forget to tell you about the hotels. I guess I skipped them because I've never been in them.

That's all about my town I think. I know there are more, and I'm missing out on all the nooks and crannies but I can't help it. In the 16 years I've lived there, my dearly beloved father has been a wonderful army general. No comments please. Sometimes it happens to the best of us.

unfortunately, my phone just gave up on me 2 days ago so I can't take any pictures 😪😪😪😢😢😢 would have loved to show you all I talked about. Especially the playground. Who knows whether it's haunted by ghosts.👻👻👻

The link below is my motivation to write about my small town. Do check it out.
https://steemit.com/my2018/@anomadsoul/contest-my-2018-a-tour-around-my-town-100-sbd-in-prizes

I want to specially thank @blocktrades for sharing love in the form of sp delegations which is being used to help minnows like me.
Extremely honorable mentions:
@anomadsoul
@steemitworldmap

Thanks everyone for reading this post. Do keep in touch. Don't forget to follow, upvote, comment, resteem. Much love 😘😘

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64