You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Growing Healthy Plants

in #my20186 years ago

I love gardening as well and all things that flower! I got the leaf love from my Momma. We always had house plants growing up and I always wanted to water them. She used to have me shine the leaves with mixed water and mayo. Boy would they shine. I would plan to turn them every time I dusted so they would stay shaped right. Now that we are on our farm I find myself starting all my flower beds over. It is exciting but I sure do miss some of the 1000 things I have planted previously. Your gardens and plants are beautiful. I have been looking for other plant lovers to follow :)

Sort:  

I like that "leaf love". I could not imagine moving from here, after all the work I've put into the beds, gardens and soil. But your farm is really gorgeous! How many acres do you have?

It was very hard saying goodbye to 15 years of work but I wanted to get to our farm. It was harder moving plants and bulbs to vacant land and moving out of the country for a while. I doubted I would have anything when we returned but I was surprised. We have 112 acres here and about 1/2 is woods which I thoroughly enjoy. Thank you for all your sweet compliments. I have so much work to do here and so much to learn how to do but I am really excited about it. Your farm is gorgeous as well. It seems like you have it all figured out and I so want to be there :)

We've been over 30 years getting "there" so don't get impatient! LOL

Oh, if I could have 112 acres! No nasty neighbors on each side. We had planned to buy at least 1 of the pieces abutting us, but chronic illness intervened...

So we work to make our little piece the best we can.

Mira Mountain we live on was for sale about 10 years ago and never sold. In 2007 it was split into 5 parcels. We were living in Tennessee and only visiting Chad's family here but knew we wanted to live here one day. We had been looking for 10 or so acres for several years when we found this property. We were able to purchase one parcel of 28 acres. Over the next 10 years we were able to buy 4 of the 5 parcels. The last parcel is owned by a neighbor up the road and across the street. He didn't want someone to build across from him on a hill and be able to look over at him :) He takes very good care of it and is actually the man who invited me to the Rocky Bottom Sampling. He is a Certified Master Naturalist and has converted his property to a Wildlife Habitat. He has given us first right of refusal when he is ready to sell. His grown children are not interested in the property so hopefully one day it will be ours. My Husband is the one who kept wanting to expand. It seems like a lot to take care of but we have a couple of farmers who take the hay so they mow for free and we are just making small projects as we go. About half the acreage is wooded, so we are just working on cleaning up the downed trees that will burn in our furnace or fireplace. The deer fence and garden is our priority now. My soil is going to be a work in progress. I just hope it is ok this year and yields me some goodies. I love being up here all alone! We have friends that love to come and visit and they never want to go anywhere, just hang out here on the porch ususally so that really fills my heart knowing we can share and they enjoy. I hope to have enough flowers growing one day soon to take bouquets to a nearby nursing home. It breaks my heart seeing so many that never have visitors or get mail or receive surprises. That is a giveback goal, anyway. Man, I could talk to you all day. I am so glad to find you :) my new cyber friend. I hope you have a beautiful day and I hope it is filled with smiles and laughter!

That is sooo coool about your neighbor! I wish one of ours was like that.

Regarding the soil, now is the time to do soil testing, to get a baseline. I gardened for a lot of years w/o soil testing, and I made an unholy mess of the soil, adding things absolutely not needed and not things crucially needed. Never knew how bad it was until that first test. Now I've spent 7 years fixing the mess... I strongly recommend using Logan Labs and creating a custom mix just for your garden. Takes a bit of learning, but I've made 2 posts on how to do it, with a 3rd final one to come.

I have a friend who bought a house on the top of a mountain, and when we go visit, we just sit on the porch and look, and look, and look.... It's so peaceful and quiet there. I don't know how she brings herself to leave for work each morning....

I also am delighted to have met you! I just LOVE your photos of your place. I am looking forward to sharing things with you. :)

I do need to check on a soil test, for sure. Thank you! I am so glad to have met you too. We are so happy and blessed here on the mountain. Thank you for all of your kind comments. I am equally excited to sharing things with you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70