My 2018: This is my Hobby - "To enjoy a good story!"

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

I am an addicted consumer of stories, I do not discriminate the format in which they come wrapped, I just try to enjoy a good plot whenever I have the opportunity to run into one. From anime to literary novels. Although I must confess that at first, it wasn’t like that, I had certain "prejudices" to call it in some way, but I surpassed this as long as I could.

My hobby started at an early age, it started when I first saw a chapter of an animated series, to be honest, it was so long ago and when I was so young that I do not remember if it was Pokemon, Digimon or Dragon Ball Z; in any case, that led me to look and see more series with that particular style of animation at a time when I had not even heard or read the word "anime". Before this I already saw some series cartoons in Cartoon Network and Fox Kids (that nowadays has another name), the certain thing is that the differences were very remarkable; from my perspective, the anime also offered better animation quality, more outstanding and mature stories, and this despite the age I had liked, plus all kinds of interesting elements in their worlds, it was when I realized what I had a clear preference for watching anime. In my childhood, in addition to those already mentioned, I saw titles like Samurai X and Gundam Wings, these should emphasize that they have a mature plot such that it was until after adolescence that I came to understand them completely. The quality of the animation of these passed into the background, as long as they had a good plot, a story that captivated me.


Code Geass, one of the last masterpieces of anime genre I've seen for a while.

Years later I would be interested in video games. I played in Supernintendo and N64, but the real interest arose when my parents bought a Playstation 1 for me and my brothers. It was then that I discovered the genre rpg (role-playing game) in one of the titles of the consecrated Final Fantasy saga, the first I played was Final Fantasy VIII; I loved his story and all the elements that his spectacular world offered, later I would discover the Final Fantasy VII which its background story trapped me in an overwhelming way and from then on I’m a faithful follower of the FF saga. I used to (and even now and then I usually do it when playing) imagine supposed situations in which the story would derive, like trying to get ahead of events. I also liked to imagine ways to improve the gameplay of the titles I played back then. From then until today the genre of RPG still being my favorite, due to the interesting and intricate stories that their games usually offer, and how you interact with them.


Final Fantasy XV, the last FF I've played, I recomend this to you all.

Already in adolescence, I began to feel interested in movies, since then I have seen an infinity of these; I will only mention some the ones that most impressed me: the two trilogies "The Lord of the Rings" and "The Hobbit" (only in the movies, I know it), through these I learned of the existence of J R. R. Tolkien; This man imposed the giant task to create an extremely interesting alternative world with all the elements that this entails (mythology, races, languages, etc). Then I watched Titanic (a lot of times if I’m honest), a good story of a tragic romance that I would label as timeless, a jewel of the seventh art; Schindler's List; undoubtedly one of the best performances of Liam Neeson, in this he gets into the skin of Oskar Schindler, a German businessman who makes his fortune in the middle of the Second World War, a masterpiece that I totally recommend to you all.


Les Misérables, one of the greatest films of the last years.

In my adolescence I discovered the manga and the comic and then I figured out that many of the stories I grew up with originally came from these formats. So far I have spent pleasant moments reading some of these works at first static images and black and white (in the case of manga) bothered me a bit, but once I reaffirmed that if there was a story with an interesting background, the rest was irrelevant.


Ghost in the Shell, one of the most influential manga of all times (and one of the best I've read).

By the date when I was finishing high school, the series that today is an unquestionable worldwide phenomenon; Game Of Thrones, a story so complex and full of surprises from the first season till the last one; war, betrayal, fantasy, religion, sex, among other things take place in medieval environment where there is no such thing as a defined protagonist, so any character in the cast is at the expense of the uncertainty and dangers that imply the relentless world of ice and fire; this is the only series until the moment in which I have seen repeatedly all its seasons to the point of seeming absurd to myself, however when the eighth and final season of this is released, in 2019, I will probably see again for one last time every season to say goodbye as is due to this wonderful story. From the aforementioned, I consider other options; among which I can highlight: Da Vinci's Demons, Stranger Things, True Detective, Vikings, among many others.


Heroes, this was the first series I watched.

For some time I had intended to start reading novels because after having seen productions such as Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones, the reasons were enough for me. Yes, I had set myself the objective of reading the original works in search of differences with their productions taken to the screen. But, I confess that I always opposed some resistance to reading texts for extended periods, until recently, when I started on this platform; I read a post from a user that recommended some authors, after reading the post I was very interested in some of the reviews I had written; Then I decided it was time to put that complex aside. Since then I have read a couple of novels: American Gods, Elantris, A Song of Ice and Fire: A Game of Thrones. And I have a long list for a long season, I try to find time in the day to read and not lose the habit.


The Little Prince, the first book that caught my attention.

Also in my time in Steemit, motivated by the literary material published by other users, I have proposed to write my own stories. Today, I periodically publish the first book of novel series that I have entitled “Akashic Codex”: The Herald of Chaos and Order. I plan to have a bit of everything, with characters of different nationalities; with different profiles and dissonant personalities with only one thing in common; they will immerse themselves in something "very strange and strange" that will make them rethink several things about life.


This is "The Herald of Chaos and Order", the novel I've been publishing here.

Through my experience, I can say that any material, regardless of its format (from cartoons to movies), has the potential to be something worth enjoying; as long as it has a story with an interesting background, if they are risky, original and unpublished proposals are more than welcome. I think that imagination has unlimited potential, my evidence to claim this is the countless number of works that have taken place throughout the history of humanity (The Divine Comedy, Lord of the Rings, The Odyssey, Romeo and Juliet, etc). The ancient civilizations, in order to explain the variety of climatic and cataclysmic events, among other things that occurred in their time, imagined all kinds of fantastic elements and conglomerated them into what we all now know as the different mythologies, it should be stressed that I’m completely demeaning the veracity of these elements; There really has to be something to justify and inspire such incredible stories that many have marveled at. That said there’s still much to see in my opinion, it may be that a large number of works of all kinds that have been published leave little room for originality in future productions, but I reaffirm the above, I think we should not underestimate the imagination, without needing to be 100% original can result in something extremely incredible, to give a recent example, I quote again the saga of the writer George R. R. Martin: Song of Ice and Fire; this takes references and influences from several sources (Tolkien and Shakespeare) is therefore not completely unpublished, it is something that has been seen and yet I think it is even comparable to the very trilogy of Tolkien and the best tragedies of Shakespeare as Macbeth or Hamlet.

Answering an interesting question:

How would you explain your hobby to an alien?


I found interesting this question that the friend @anomadsoul raised, I will take the floor and pretend that I can explain to a visitor from another world what my hobby is.

Well... First I'd check if I can establish verbal communication with my new friend of the stars, if not; I suppose I would resort to signs or corporal expressions (complicating my task a lot). Once I made sure that we understood each other, I’d communicate that in my species it is a custom that goes back to its roots, telling stories and transmitting them in a wide variety of ways, ranging from verbal to written forms. At this point I would try to ask you if in your world it happened the same, to respond positively: I would show you a copy of A Song of Ice and Fire: A Game of Thrones, if he shows interest, I would give it to him, in the case of answering negatively: that would complicate a little things, because he would not have any reference in his culture of what I'm trying to explain, and well this would lengthen the issue a lot, in my attempt to make him an addict to stories like me. In any case, I suspect I would end up hooked to a series or movie that showed him, and then there is a sea of options for all tastes, even for the most demanding and critical, or in this case "uninterested".


Sources:

Image 1, Image 2, Image 3, Image 4, Image 5, Image 6

Sort:  

wow.. lovely post, i enjoyed reading it as i am too a fan of stories in any form they are..

you can check my post for your story cravings..

https://steemit.com/horror/@mairayasir/is-someone-there

Thanks for your comment. I liked your post too

Thanks...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mervin-gil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

very nice, but two of the photos are not working, can you fix them :)

Hi. Thanks for letting me know, problem solved :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61