You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Baking till the madness.

in #my20186 years ago
My grandma fed my crazy creativeness all my childhood, and I can’t thank her enough for that. She taught me to rely on my senses, and common sense beyond recipes. And even when everybody else is saying that baking is a matter of science, it is also a matter of passion and common sense.

That applies not only to baking but all cooking. For example, there are lots of recipes that severely understate the time needed to properly bake a chicken in the oven. If you follow the recipes, you'll get a rubber chicken you might as well take to the bathtub with you. The trick is to keep it long enough in the oven for the skin to become crusty and the meat to come off the bones very easily with absolutely no redness anywhere.

Sort:  

Kids, play nice!

Common sense is usually winner when comes to, well everything. I don’t like to follow recipes at all. I only seek inspiration from them.

You can do that if you have a lot of knowledge and experience. Have you noticed any common ways recipes tend to be in error or produce sub optimal results if followed to the letter? I don't cook much but in our household my wife has been increasingly delegating meat preparation to me. I suppose she sees some potential in me and an opportunity to offload some of the work involved to me. I do have to say that I like meat dishes and preparing some of them.

I think that these recipes that are for "home cooks" are the biggest problem. In those never explain why things should do as they suggest. Also temperatures are usually way too high. And you never should rely on time with cooking meat, proper thermometer for checking temperature makes a big difference.

Also temperatures are usually way too high. And you never should rely on time with cooking meat, proper thermometer for checking temperature makes a big difference.

We have noticed the same. The worst thing is having the meat burned on the surface and raw inside. Often, I begin with a lower temperature than the recipe says and extend the time. Sometimes I turn up the temperature a bit in the end.

You rarely can spoil the meat cooking it gently. So i think you are doing it all fine ^^

Dude, you are commenting to a professional chef, and someone who is really good at it 😂 She could science the fuck out of you about this topic, any day.

I get the impression that you read too quickly and were led astray by the "not only" structure. I was in agreement with @escapist's statements. Not arguing against them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78