My 2018: A Tour around my town: Welcome To Ogbomosho

in #my20187 years ago

My name is Ajasa Bolaji, all the way from the Nigeria (Giants of Africa). Currently schooling in Ladoke Akintola University Of Technology, where I study Medicine and Surgery (Preclinical level) Ogbomosho Oyo State.

Though, I stay in Lagos but my town for now is Ogbomosho. Where I had to make a tour around for this contest. Ogbomosho the second largest city in Oyo state I presume, known for its abnormal climatic factors and farming activities especially mangoes plantation and cashew plantation.

I would like to say a big thank you to @anomadsoul for this contest as it has helped me an introvert (kinda an inside person) to visit places I have never been before even though I have been staying in Ogbomosho for over 3years (technically due to a year strike and holidays).

So I would begin in my hood, though its kinda local in looks. Ogbomosho is still a developing area but we have some cool places.

Adenike Area

I stay in Adenike area of Ogbomosho a quite popular area. My hostel where I do stay is Treasure Island.

image

Here is Lesbora hall where I sometimes play table tennis with my friends, its a big hostel compared to my hostel which is actually beside it. Its height makes my hostel look dwarfish in nature(like my hostel it literally down to earth)

image

Pioneer, a popular football hub where guys and sometimes ladies of adenike come and watch football matches or just relax in their bar. But I only go there to watch Manchester United matches or sometimes Popular Games like El-Classico or UEFA Champions League.

image

The street that leads to my hostel just a narrow road can't contain two cars easily
image
image

Iya Halima, a very popular petty trader. Rumours has it that she is the first petty trader to sell good in adenike maybe because that's where she and her family resides. They are indigenes of Ogbomosho.
image

Satisfier, a popular restaurant in adenike. its not a very big one though. Since I am not a rich guy, I don't really patronize them like that.
image

LAUTECH main Campus

Moving on I would be touring around the main campus of LAUTECH showing you places around the school.
image

Let's start from places that are close to my hostel

Laboratories

Well, the laboratories is a 3 storey building of 3 sections. Each section contains 3 storey building, one section each for Biology Physics and Chemistry. The Laboratories are well equipped and we have great lab technicians who assist and lecture students during practicals.
image

We also have laboratories for the health science students who do practicals for Anatomy Physiology Biochemistry and Histology. The are all equipped also with lab technicians who are very good.
image

Though the school has an old lab which they dont use regularly but still functions

Library

What's a school without a library ??. A bad bad school. LAUTECH library has been in existent for quite a while now over 20yrs ago since its commission. LAUTECH library offers the standard library services you would expect.

Well equipped and filled up with the latest books you can find from medical books to engineer books (all kind of books are available in the library). The Library also have an E-Library services, standard computing stations.
image

Lecture Halls

LAUTECH has lots of lecture halls that i couldn't tour through all. But the ones I could I took pics of them and would write a little about them.

We have the sifax lecture hall where I go meet my crush and we read together. Well she doesn't know she's my crush cause of my shyness I haven't told her yet.

The Great Hall, a newly built hall which is awesome and very spacious and it has a twin
image
image

1200 FET Lecture Hall, for the engineering students of the school
image

MKO lecture hall, named after the great MKO abiola
image

FAG lecture Hall, for the agricultural student in the school
image

FPASS lecture Hall, for the Pure and Applied Science students.
image

ICT centers

A school of technology has to have an ICT center at least one. LAUTECH has at least 6 ICT centers in school that I know of.

The New ICT
image
CAD center
image

Zenith ICT CENTER
image

First Bank ICT Center

ODL ICT center

OLD ICT center

The ones I couldn't take their pics was because it wasn't easy walking up and down touring around the school.

Sport Center

Well, LAUTECH has its very own sports center where people use to keep fit. Maybe also train to represent the school in competition.

Tennis
image

Football
image

BasketBall
image

Taekwando
image

Volleyball
image

School Farm

Fertile land, large amount of space and viable crops. LAUTECH has vast are of land where they practice all kinds of farming including cattle rearing. The Faculty of Agriculture is the largest faculty in LAUTECH due to the this vast area of land. Crops like Cashew Orange Mango Pawpaw and so on are present on the school farm.

Important Structures

  • HEALTH CENTER

    LAUTECH also has a reliable Health Center which is adequate.
    image

  • LAUTECH BAKERY

    LAUTECH bakery though only makes bread but the bread is so so so delicious only the smell would take you to heaven.
    image

  • Senate Building

The building where are administrative works are done.
image

  • HighRise

A building for the engineering students of the school. Its quite tall if not taller than Senate Building. Like its name High Rise
image

  • LAUTECH Staff School

A school for the staffs of LAUTECH not only staff though.
image

  • Banks

    There are lots of banks in LAUTECH from GTB, First Bank, UBA Skye and so on. But the busiest are GTB and FBN.
    image

####LAUTECH Alumni park
Leaving the main campus we have the alumni park where events are usually being held.
image

Under G

Another popular town in Ogbomosho which is more of the hotspot town for students. Student love to live here cause of the classy lifestyle people live and its high cost of living. But the town is so poor compared to adenike in terms of Power supply and water supply. They struggle for those basic amenities needed by students.

So let's talk about places in Under G

Alata

A popular restaurant in under g, they have two branches though. But this one in under g is quite popular. Rich guys and ladies eat here not minnows like me.
image

They serve quality food and its quite a 3.5star place to eat at.

Fish park

A spacious park, where you can hang out with friends if you have money. Similar to Alata, but they don't serve food, they do serve pepper soup and suya.

Its also serves as a car wash

Other Places in Under G that I couldn't visit

  • Amazing

    Another Popular Restaurant

  • Facebook

A junction or busstop named after Facebook

  • And we have lots of popular hostel cause of their high cost

While touring Under G I was oppurtuned to visit some friends who made me morning breakfast and evening lunch while I rest during my travels
image

General

Another town I would be talking about would be general

This was the last place I toured before retiring back to my hostel

Here, we have The LAUTECH Teaching Hospital for the College of Health Science Students
image

We also have Ace Supermarket, a very popular and big supermarket.
image

Town

** A town named town, isnt it quite funny ?. Well, I didn't visit the place cause of cost of transportation and I was tired.**

But popular places here are, The King Palace, Bowen Hospital , Sabo Market , Garage and so on

Ogbomosho also has its own radio station. Ajilete FM.

Markets

The only popular market I visit is OJA WASO, but I couldn't go there also cause I was tardy.

Home Calls

On my way home I was able to also visit Nest Hotel, a very popular hotel due its Gym Facilities and Car services to provide for those visitors. I was also able to visit College ( Where Faculty of Basic Medical Science Student take Lectures).
image

image

For Food Only (FFO)

Well, Ogbomosho is quite know for its unique Akara(bean cake), which is quite delicious to eat.

During my tour I was able to visit friends who also served me in the morning and in the evening.

In the morning I was served Noodles with stew while in the evening I was served Eba (cassava flakes) and Efo riro (Vegetable soup) garnished with orisirisi (meat ponmo and fish).
image

Activities

Farming is quite a popular activity you can partake in Ogbomosho. And maybe Forestry

Apart from the above two, petty trading should be pretty much the only activity I can think of

To join the Contest

Sort:  

You really project the image of your school well and you described it excellently.Great job and continue your good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86