My 2017 Achievements and Failures

in #my20177 years ago (edited)

My 2017 @anomadsoul

My 2017 actually began in the summer of 2016 when the love of my life was told that after battling prostate cancer for 10 years, it had progressed to the point that nothing more could be done and he had 6 months left to live.

From that moment on, time has all run together into one continuous stream of raw emotion for me.

image

By fall, it was necessary to begin hospice care. They came in for about 15 minutes a few times a week and supervised and ordered all the necessary medications and health care supplies. And we had a health care worker who came in and helped with baths and personal care twice a week, but for 6 months it was just he and I, learning together what it means to die of cancer. And we had no idea how awful it would be.

I have MS and for years he had been my care giver. He assured me that it was never a problem to haul my mobility scooter in and out of the car, and we traveled the USA together, and although time ran out before we got to all the places we wanted to go, we got to see an incredible amount of the country.

image

There may have been some concern from our family and friends that caring for him would be beyond my capabilities, but we proved otherwise. Our kids were all marvelous and helped and were here as often as they could be.

We moved a hospital bed into the living room, and I did not leave the house from September until he died at the end of January. Although it was the hardest thing I ever did, I could not have felt more honored that he wanted me by his side and trusted me through it all.

Coping with grief and all the adjustments I have had to make without him has filled the rest of my year. He left a huge hole in my life and in my heart.

image

I have probably failed in lots of ways this year, but I made it through. And there were lots of momentous events...my son got married and I have a wonderful new daughter-in-law.

I am so thankful that I found Steem and all of you! It has truly given me a reason to get out of bed in the morning. When I share my photos with you, I am re-living all my wonderful memories, and that is helping me move forward. I debated about writing, and then about sharing this, but I have learned so much about life this past year, and I wanted to thank you all for helping me through it.

image

image

Sort:  

A touching story of life and love. Glad to see you can smile as big as you are.

Thanks so much, Tony. Some days are harder than others.

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Thank you so much.

<crying all over the place💖💖💖💖💖💖 what a caring, loving and telling, story you share with us all.. I thank you soo much for the trust💖....
I cant see, were you should have failed in 2017..sweets, you did just what you could and thats alll that matters :) ... Im wishing you, will have a great Christmas with love and good memories :)

Thank you so much for all tour wonderful kindness. I appreciate you so much, my friend! 💕

((((Melinda💕))))))))) Happy to be here with you💕💕💕

So sorry for your lost i pray that the comforter comfort you, i can relate to your story,
Am glad you share this story and am glad i took time to read it, peace

Thank you so much.

So sorry.

I cared for my mom till she passed in my house. With the aid of hospice I honored her wish not to go in a home etc. So hard, but was right thing to do.

It is an intense experience for everyone involved.

Wishng you all the best for 2018.

I hope the Steemit xommunity help bringa you some comfort. Xxx

Thank you for your good wishes I truly am grateful for all of you!

I think you are so brave to write this... No way you have failed; the fact that you made it through is a personal triumph and achievement. My sis also went through her husband's illness and death last year - not an easy time at all... She is still coping...
I love all your photographs here, they are beautiful memories... so glad you have wonderful memories to hold on to!! Am so glad you are here too... 💕🌼

It was really hard to write. This will be my first Christmas without him. Hugs for your sister. It is so hard. I make it through, day by day.

Thank you very much, Melinda...
Well, you know we are all here for you... and there are lots of us too! :)
Yup, day by day... step by step...

Aww you are really brave for talking about this and going through all of this. Both you and your husband found great, loving partners in each other. God bless.

Thanks so much. It was hard to write, but I'm so glad I did. I appreciate your kindness.

Oh my goodness, Melinda, what a soul touching story. I can see on your photos and feel from your words what a wonderful couple you were and how much love you shared. It always breaks my heart when two wonderful people find each other, but they must say goodbye too soon. Life can be so cruel sometimes. Well, I guess there is complexity of many reasons for everything and maybe soul lessons, but only God knows exactly. However, life also gives us lots of things to be happy about and that we need to focus on. Family, friends, nature and in our case Steemit. We are here to supprt each other and I am so glad to be here with you. Sending lots of love to you and your family 🌸💖🌸

Thanks so much for your kind words, dear friend. He was a wonderful guy and I will always miss him.

I can only imagine Dear Melina, stay strong 🌸💖🌸

thank you for sharing that would not easy, but it gets easy to find a strength, and then you are again on your shape.

Thank you for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33