My 2017:Welcoming the new year - A new chapter in my life journal

in #my20177 years ago (edited)

Hey what's up Steemians, hope you're all doing well.

Well I know you're all excited and jumping on your toes.

Oh Come on, It's a new year so why not give it a fresh start?

  

As the first post 0f 2018, I making an entry for the My 2017: Welcoming this new year! 

And I want to thank @anomadsoul and @blocktrades for making this awesome contest.Anyone can join the contest by checking the above post.


In my country Sri Lanka, We have a different way of celebrating the new year. Our traditional new year starts on April,so the major celebrations are held on April. But that doesn't mean we are doing nothing on December 31st. As the other countries, we are also enjoy ourselves with celebrations.


 Getting ready to welcome the new year

                             

                                       To face the new year with fresh mind, we cleaned the house,washed the house floor and remove the unnecessary items. On that case, I had a big task. I took my Ordinary level exams last year and I had to remove my old school stuff. ( talking about bad memories)  

                                          And I wrote a summary about what I want to do, what I want to achieve in next year.Then I had planned the things i've got to do to achieve my goals.

It's almost midnight!!!

                             

                                                Time passed by and the night arrives. In the sky, there was full moon shining brightly. Stars were nowhere to be seen but it's a quite a sight. Me and my sister could not resist it and we capture the beauty in or hands within a snapshot.

                                         We Srilankans, always get blessings from our religion before we start something new. So we played Pirith Chants at home till the midnight. My sister made pasta for dinner.


 Clock stuck 00:00- a new chapter!!!

                                            

                                               It's so close to the 00:00!!! We all are excited!!! We can tell our neighbors share the same excitement as the sound of blowing fire crackers can be overheard everywhere.


                                            A few minutes before 2018, we gathered in the living room to "boil the milk".It's a Sri Lankan tradition,a pot of of milk is boiled in the middle of the house and as the milk flows out of the pot your future will be overflowed with happiness. When the clock ticks on 00:00,my father lit a lamp and mother lit hearth. My brother,sister and me sat around it wishing the new year to be a great one. After a sometime,filling our hearts with hopes and joy,the over flowed.

                 Merry wishes to the new year!!!



Goodbye  2017, welcome 2018


                                                       After worshiping Lord Buddha and getting blessings from God Ganesha, We had fun with wire crackers. We went to bed after watching few episodes of One Piece.


                                                          In the morning,we ate  Milk rice which is a cooked in coconut milk with a Katta sambol. Then we chit chatted with our neighbors and exchanged sweets with them. In the evening, our relatives will be visiting us and we are preparing treats for them.And also me and my mom did a dance to welcome the new year.^^


That's how I celebrated the new year. I hope you don't get bored by reading it.

Upvote if you like it

I appreciate any of your comments.

Thanks for dropping by:)


And,

WISH YOU ALL A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

p.s:Guys I also want to add that my post and @chamudiliyanage's maybe contain similar information, because we both are sisters and we live in the same house^^

Sort:  

It is two months old when I see your post. As I am a Sri Lankan, I can't help going away telling "Happy New Year" though it is little bit late.

Oh really? nice to meet you!
And wish you a happy new year!
We have another new yearcomin by the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16