#MY NICHE CONTEST #2 - MY FIRST DAY AT SCHOOL|| True Life Story Filled With Unforgettable Hilarity & Anecdotes

in #my-niche6 years ago


Thanks to @awolesigideon for giving us this opportunity to share our stories. Read more about the contest here.


It was the first weekend of December. The grace and mighty of Christmas could be felt already. The children couldn't wait to embrace the merry that comes alongside the Christmas. Every parent was busy looking for a means to celebrate the coming festivals in the best way. Everywhere was literally filled with activities. And while these were going on, I was set to resume at University of Lagos.


I've dreamed of gaining admission into this prestigious institution in the country for long. And fortunately, I was admitted at my first attempt. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the mail sent from UNILAG on my phone. "So I would eventually become a student of this great school!?" I said to myself as I jumped up from the couch. I was filled with total excitement. I was still busy staring at the mail when my mother came in from her place of work.

Mummy, I'm being admitted. I've gained admission into one of the best universities in Nigeria!

She could feel the unrivalled level of happiness in me as I jumped to her. We almost fell down. She was overjoyed. She was aware of my admiration for this institution and how much efforts I put when seeking the admission. The sleepless nights and restless days, studying, the fasts and prayers all worked in total agreement to brought me this.

Dad got me a new IPhone as a gift for bringing such a great news to him. He was so proud of me. Resumption time was few weeks away and there commenced the preparation. Clothes, foodstuffs, studying materials and other provisions I needed were bought and I was set to join other students in the school campus.


The day has come. My daddy and I alongside my younger brother packed my stuffs in daddy's 4matic benz jeep. It was my favourite from dad's garage and he knew he had to take me to school with it.

At exactly 1pm, we left our compound at Airport road, Ikeja and headed towards Akoka where the university is seated in Lagos. Lagos is best explained with its traffic congestion. Setting on the road, we saw the joyful traffic laughing at us. We were almost at Yaba when I saw some men fighting, exchanging blows on the road. It was a bus conductor and a passenger who happened to be in suit.

"Lagos is filled with different characters. He could have avoid exchanging blows with a mere bus conductor. He looks so cute better than giving a fight", I said silently.

After spending couple of hours on the road, we reached the first gate of the university of Lagos.

"Even the air feels better", I said as I jumped out of my father's ride.

My father received a call and as it seemed to be an emergency, he left hurriedly after seeing me settled in my hostel. The campus looked so big. Filled with countless students; staylites and freshers who were busy doing one thing or the other. I was paired with Hannah, a marijuana addict in the same hostel and she happened to be the genesis of the difficult time I had in my first year at school. This very first day at school saw lots of fun and activities that can't be forgotten.


Thanks for your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50