The Christmas that changed the story.

in #my-niche7 years ago

images (4).jpg
image source
Christmas day in my house have always been the best day for everyone. At least that is what father will say but not for me. I am that boy that never satisfy my dad and mum always seems to find something against me. I don't know how to do anything right; the way I dress, the way I eat, the way I talk...everything is always wrong. At least, that is what everyone at home always say.

Unlike my twin brother, he's the man of the people. Dad's favourite and mum's beloved. He has a great sense of humour. Very accommodating and always find the right word for every thing. He's such a perfect human. I always secretly pray and hope I can become like him one day.

It was 24th of December, the Christmas Eve, and I saw different colours of light reflecting through my window. Christmas songs played everywhere and I could also hear the sound of children making merry. This is the type of Christmas my dad referred to when he said Christmas day was the best for everyone.

But this year was different. There was no Christmas tree or light, no Christmas music or any form of merry in our house. The last Christmas day is one that will not be easily forgotten in our house.

This is what happened


Exactly one year ago, the story that changed the lives of our family started.

I had failed my exams like I used to but this time was even worse. I did not have two people behind me, like I used to, I was the last. My twin brother was in the same class with me and he was the first position. Teachers and classmates always mock me. Some even said they doubt if we both grow in the same womb at the same time.

Dad already warned me that if I fail again this time there will be no sweet Christmas for me. And he fulfilled his promise. He got a lesson teacher for me the next day after the holiday. I was not permitted to play with the other kids neither was I permitted to watch TV.

On December 25th I thought all would be different because I have served enough punishment already. I did not play like other kids. I did not watch TV all through and I did not have a special Christmas wear.

There is a special Christmas gathering for children that we all attend every year. Well, this year we did not all attend because I was locked up at home. A punishment for my dull brain and a poor result.

Mum and dad did not notice when my twin brother left them to play with the other kids. They had gone across the busy road to spend their "Christmas money" as they called it to buy toys. With so much excitement the kids ran back after getting the toys without watching if a car was coming before crossing the road.

A car was coming with a high speed but before the car screeched to a stop it had already hit one of the kids. There was so much noise and in no time the news had already reach the parents who were also gathered there.

"Who could it be?" This is the question that the parents whose kids are not with them dreaded to have an answer to. That was the last my parents saw about my twin brother.

"It shouldn't have been you." dad cried "You are the bright one, doesn't death see the other one... " Mum cautioned him before he could say more words.

It was as if that day officially marked the end of my existence in his mind. Mum often time mistake my name for the name for the name of my late brother anytime she wants to call me. I have always lived in his shadow when he was alive and it has also continued that way even after his death. For the past 12 months nobody has noticed me. Not as if they did not See Me but they saw me as the one who should have been taken by death instead.

Could they have accepted me as their child?


I stood up from my bed and stayed close to the window as I stare at the bright Christmas lights that showed different colours. "This year Christmas is definitely not worth celebrating. Not at all." I said to myself.

I was still lost in my thought when mum and dad opened the door of my room. I wondered what it was they wanted this time. I had improved in my results. I've behaved myself so well that I always ask myself, "if it was my brother, what would he do?" So, they are the last persons I expected right now.

"Son, we are sorry" Dad said. This was the first time in a long time he called me that. It had always been names like, "idiot", "fool", "stupid" so I wondered if they knew they were at the wrong place. Before I could give a reply, they both moved close and hugged me so tight. (I realized I needed one so much.) They both cried and I followed suit. And this is the Christmas that changed the story.
mr-aaron-footer.gif

Sort:  

You always have an inspiring and meaningful message from your posts. Merry christmas to you.

Thanks boss for reading... Merry Christmas to you too

ahh Merry Christmas everyone!

Merry Christmas to you too

Its seems your post just made me fill the vibes for christmas. Wish u a merry christmas in advance.

That's the aim bro... Merry Christmas in advance to you

Wow. This story is so touching. I nearly cried.

Wow! I'm glad the story touched you. We must all learn to love unconditionally.....

Parents need to stop using a child to grade another...really bad

Yeah.... too bad but do many parents do it.

Enjoyed your story bro....nice presentation

Thanks for reading bro

Oh dear. Really a touching one!!!

Thanks for reading through...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56