My Niche is Natural Weight Loss MY-NICHE Contest Entry

in #my-niche6 years ago (edited)

In the photo on the left I’m at the Guggenheim Museum in New York City unable to bend my fat body into a seated position. I remember distinctly how hard it was to sit there so my son could take a picture.

On the right, I’m jumping up on a ledge so my son can take a photo of me in a crazy Star Trek shirt I found on top of a dumpster.

Look at the difference in my knees in these two photos and ponder how this can be the same person.

fitinfun before and after sitting difference.jpg

The first photo hurts my heart. It was always a dream of mine to see this museum. It was built the year I was born and my dad loved it. He always said he wanted to go there and never got the chance before he passed away. So now I was finally there, and so sick and obese that I could barely move.

Here is another photo of me on that same trip thinking I was going to die in a NYC Subway station. My son @blxphabet took this one too. He was sobbing in fear. We were stuck between flights of stairs of the subway station and I could no longer move. He already pushed my up many steps to get this far. When I got to the landing and saw many more stairs to go - I was done.

dying in the subway fitindun.jpg

My son said, “No Mom! Why do you want this picture?”

I wanted it because I thought it might be my last photo. I was so scared and I wanted him to remember me if I died. My boob is holding the water bottle up so I could get to it. My arm had no strength. I couldn't breathe. The wall is holding me up. That’s not pee between my legs – it’s sweat. On one of the coldest days ever, I am sweating like a pig and want to rip off all my clothes.

"Take the picture, son. Just take the picture."

Why did I think this would be a good picture for him to remember me by?

I already wrote a post for this contest about how my obesity caused my son’s PTSD and you are seeing one of the very moments that happened to him.

In a few minutes I recovered enough for @bxlphabet to continue pushing my huge body up the stairs. He was behind me - pushing with all his might. I was slowly taking each tremendous step. The whole time, I was thinking I would crush him if I died trying to get up the long, long flight of stairs.

But I lived.

And I lost “Half My Size.”

I want no other parent or child to go through what we did. This is why I do what I do.

Here is another photo @blxphabet took. It is my signature pose of victory. He took at after I just swam laps for two hours while he filmed me.

Sharon fitinfun Signature pose pool no frame.PNG

When I post this photo in weight loss groups, the most common response is for someone to tell me they wish they could cross their legs like I’m doing. Then all the other obese people chime in and say “Me too!”

Currently more 4 out of 10 Americans are obese. Eight hundred thousand Americans die each year with their cause of death listed as “Obesity” on their certificate. I so easily could have been one of them.

I consider this to be genocide. I do everything I can to stop it. I mostly do this for free. I'm in close to 100 hundred weight loss groups and forums. I post day after day to try to convince people to try and lose weight. I show them my old misery and my new-found vigor. I say the same things over and over and have them in a file so I can copy them and save time.

Anyone can lose weight if I did. I know it. I see it happen for others all the time. All you have to do is:

Get over your excuses and take action

I say this 1000 times a month and sometimes people hear me.

This is my entry for the MY-NICHE contest by @awolesigideon with the theme of "My Niche".

Last week I wrote about my first time being thin for the contest entry. It was not any easier than being fat. The best thing I can tell you is to lose weight as early in life as you can. It's best to get it over with so you can move on.

fitinfun before and after difference.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 6.67% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @fitinfun!

Admirable!! Really admirable! How long did it take you to loose all the weight? I can imagine looking at the first picture might hurt your heart.

I used to work in a hospital where we did a lot of bariatric surgery. If you see the amount of complications in surgeries, just from being overweight.. its just shocking

I think this is a really good niche. Enough to tell about right?

It took 4 years from start to finish and I was done when I was 50 in 2011. It took 3 years to lose about 40 pounds. Then I got skills and the next 85 came in the last year. Then I lost about 20 in the following two years, but I was not really trying for it - it just happened.

Many doctors told me to have that surgery (for years of pressure) and after seeing others have terrible results, I am very grateful I did not.

I was always in and out of hospitals and they used to have to get 4 people just to move me. After I lost weight and was in an emergency situation, one guy just grabbed me and carried me across a field. I was in shock from that alone.

I have my work cut out for me indeed. Thank you very much for commenting about your experience with obesity. Working with it in that setting must be very difficult.

Challenging Id say! I dont like the fact that so many people are 'just' doing the surgery without realizing the irreversible impact of it. The road you took, gradually consistently loosing weight is a way more sustainable solution.

You must have run into so many strange examples all ready where you find something what you were not able to do before. I can only say: bravo!

The surgery is pushed by doctors hard now. Back in 2007-2010 when I was losing very slowly - my doctors harped on it. Now, it's the first thing out of their mouth to their obese patients. I'm sure there is a lot of money in it. I see the wreackage in my weight loss groups and it is horrific. Lots of death and destruction and suicides.

There is NO money in natural weight loss. I can tell you that for sure. I talk and show examples until I am blue in the face - but once the person "gets it" they don't need my help and they lose the weight quickly like I did.

I was a fat four year old and thin for the first time at 50. Never did I undergo such emotional upheaval. I had only one person's example to guide me and so knew I had to get that first year in without gaining weight. 2012 was probably the worst year of my like, but once it was over - now I am healing.

I wrote a bit about that first year in my last post for this weekly contest. Not fun to re-live!

Priorities of healthcare unfortunately, money and not de bigger picture.

I can imagine that its not cool to re-live that period. Reflecting is good but experience the feelings again really sucks.

Yes, this makes it difficult to be coaching weight loss sometimes. The physical issues are one thing, and the emotional are another .

What a great story of getting in shape! I'm working on the same thing myself currently, so it's nice to see an inspiring story such as yours. Also, sweet Futuro wrist brace, I use one on each wrist when I have to type a bunch!

Good for you, @robhimself1. Anyone can do this if I can. What steps are you taking?

I have Rheumatoid Arthritis now and many various braces. I love the Futuros. Very comfortable and great support.

I've cut out soda and beef and am just getting started on a workout regiment. I'm working on cutting down carbs overall as well.

I don't eat beef here just because it is not delicious in Thailand. I'm pretty much paleo though and almost no carbs. When I was in the states I cut gmos and us grown wheat and that made a good difference for me. The soda is a killer and I drank way to much of it in my day.

Just keep to your plans and continue with what works. I know you can succeed.

Dear their is clear difference between your photos..
U were not able to bend knees and then after loosing Half of your weight, u were able to do thing which u were not able to do so.. what were you feeling when you finally got slim body? I mean how much u were excited about this?
That story of your moving up on stairs and your son pushing u proves it that it was really hard and tough time.
Keep one thing in mind that fat should be in proper balance in our body, sometimes people lose fats and their body do not have even the required amount of lipids/fats, which have a lot of problems like wrinkled skin and many more, so just keep balance between

Be healthy, slim and smart :)

I was excited but also very scared. I wrote about it on that other post you saw about first being thin. Now I am pretty much at peace with my life and weight and looks and everything. It's time to rebuild my life - almost 8 years after losing the weight :)

Slow and steady wins the race

This is a difficult process to believe. I congratulate you on your success

Thank you so much. I did not believe in it either until I was lucky enough to succeed.

Wow, the change you achieved in your weight seems incredible. It really is admirable. regards

Thank you very much.

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @fitinfun! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

WOW! You realy get lose weight... I must try and start now hehehe

You can do it!

You got a 4.78% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @fitinfun!

You got a 1.83% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @fitinfun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33