Mid-Week Musings: Luxuries

in #musings7 years ago

I don't know about you, but I tend to buy things and then rarely use them. I am talking mostly about small luxuries - the espresso maker and meat smoker come to mind.

It seemed like a good idea at the time and I watched a bunch of YouTube videos of people making awesome espresso and espresso drinks at home, I had to get one too. And of course, you need all the supplies and accessories as well - the tamper, the fancy double-walled shot glasses, the specific cappuccino cups, etc. Well, fast forward two months after purchase, and I was rarely using the thing. I loved what it was producing, but it took too much time, and a strong cup of black coffee was just a simpler and easier proposition. Thus, after 2 years of little use and taking up counter space, the espresso machine has been boxed up and put away.

DAA4AA2C-EEE4-41B8-9AAB-2F62E10F91D8.jpeg

The meat smoker has a similar story. I got excited watching the YouTube videos, but when I started smoking, it took a long time (which I knew of course), you had to babysit/tweak it for 8 hours and it was a hassle to clean afterward. I mostly use the barbecue grill, so the smoker was just a luxury item. Now it sits covered in the backyard, and I maybe used it twice in the last year. sigh

A quick look at my Amazon purchase history shows me many of my neglected luxury items. I think I need to be more conscientious about my purchasing or at least more deliberate about using the items I purchase. Although... now that I think about it... a drone would be nice!

Musing over.

Brian

EBFFAD02-F816-4805-98A0-4032560C7CCF.gif

Sort:  

You could always join SA (Shopaholics Anonymous)!



Perhaps it's time that your dearest wife got involved? ;-)


You said you bought some stuff but after using it for sometime you just throw it somewhere and you may not need it anymore,, and this is a cool thing at least you used it for while. Some people are only buying and they dont even know what to do with what they bought,, But wise people buy only what they need no more no less.

That is so me! @brian.rrr spend it to regret it !

In my later years I just want to continue to use, for the most part, things that I am used to using and don't have to learn how to operate the things with all the gadgets, bells and whistles that I will probably never need. Even a car with too many new dials and buttons is not for me as I will never use most of them and it is just too annoying to learn how to operate them. I guess this sounds like the "grinch that stole Christmas". Lol!

nice post.i buy also many things and then i use them rarely or never.

That drone will be Very useful to film all the neglected stuff from above ... that sure make sense 😉 . But good that you could affort things, and admit afterwards that you actually dont need them.
While thinking and writing, maybe the drone could bring the goods to somebody else...

Great post there, keep up good work !

This replay was created using STEEMER.NET Alpha ( support STEEMER.NET Transactor / Wallet / Exchange Project here: https://steemit.com/investors-group/@cryptomonitor/steemer-net-steem-blockchain-transactor-for-windows-android-app-funding-update-243-1200-sbd-28-12-2017 )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67