You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing Daily Questions 🐮

in #musing6 years ago

Compared to a site like Quora (where I'm a Top Writer), musing.io has a lot less depth of interesting questions and answers. It's less good at identifying answers that are interesting for me to read.

While I could point to some features of Quora that musing.io lacks (like the ability to use LaTeX in math answers!) I don't think those are serious drawbacks. The biggest obstacle is probably that you have to be on the Steem blockchain already in order to contribute questions or answers--- and the signup period for a free Steemit account is still quite long. It was about four days when I signed up, and there's no way I would wait four days merely to ask or answer a question on musing.io. This will probably continue to be a drag on growth.

A Q&A site needs to find a way to bootstrap an interested and interesting base of users, which is not an easy problem. musing.io offers just very small payments even to very committed users, and poses a severe obstacle to casual users.

Sort:  

Thanks @markgritter - this is helpful feedback.

We plan on addressing everything you mentioned here. I think in the immediate term, the low payments to committed users thing is the most pressing issue. Other apps on Steem like d.tube and dlive.io have large delegations from other users that allow them to reward their users greatly, but we do not unfortunately :/ I am trying hard to fix this. I believe it would solve a few issues, as it would also attract many more users that can further vote on content.

Would love to chat more about things some time! Sending you a Linkedin request if that's cool :)

Here's a Quora question for you, and it might help give a little exposure. I already mentioned musing.io in my reply to the only answer so far.
https://www.quora.com/What-are-the-most-useful-applications-built-on-the-Steem-blockchain-and-why

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62