You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing Posts

I also have made a ton of bad decisions in my life. A lot of them, however, have occurred since this one instance; and although I've never really talked about it publicly before, maybe my remembrance of it upon seeing your question is a sign. 

My mother got really sick with cancer when I was in high school. She had been diagnosed years before and had gone through chemo and what not, but at a certain point it got much worse. I went to an "alternative" high school in which many kids were allowed to do their schoolwork online due to athletic sponsorships/obligations. When her condition started to worsen I requested to finish the year of school from home so I could look after her. I think the school was into it, but my mother outright told me no; that she didn't want to get in my way or something like that. No matter how much I pushed she wouldn't allow it and the idea fell by the wayside. 

I was home for Thanksgiving the following year and her condition had gotten much worse. She was in a hospital bed with a full time nurse looking after her in the living room. I was in a very bad state- she and I had a much stronger connection than anyone else in my own life. I stayed up for days on end sitting by her bedside just watching over her. One night, the nurse asked if I should go to bed- after I had been up for a few days with a few random hours of sleep once. I told her no, that I was going to stay up. She persisted, and I gave in, thinking I could use a little bit of rest for the next stint. 

When I woke up the next morning she had passed. It was the most horrible feeling in the world. I struggled with depression before that but it got much, much worse afterwards. I think many of the bad mistakes I've made since have been the result of never forgiving myself for going to bed that night. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52