You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing Posts

in #musing-threads6 years ago

Can someone please explain to me why people perceive different colours on this dress?

So supposedly this trended a few years ago, but I only saw it for the first time today. When I look at the photo, I perceive the dress to be BLUE and BLACK. I then asked six other people, two of whom saw the same colours as I did, while the others saw it as WHITE and GOLD.

I would appreciate it if you could tell me which colour combination you see, and if someone can explain the cause of this discrepancy to me, I would be thankful.

Sort:  

I am seeing Blue and black. The dress generated lot of comments all over the world back in 2015. Some people saw white and gold even though the makers said the colour was blue and black.

Scientists have provided an answer to the phenomenon. The difference in opinions is how the brain perceive colour under different hues.

The eyes was programmed that for those who saw the blue and black, their vision totally discard the white and gold vice versa. They also argued that a factor can be the device the photo was viewed on or the expectations of the user.

Thank you for your reply, it was very helpful indeed.

White and Gold here!

The short explanation for this is:  People decide an object’s colour based on the shades surrounding it, not on the actual colour of the object itself.

This is also why some colours appear to be in a lighter tone when surrounded by similar lighter colors or how a solid dark color appears to be more darker than usual when surrounded by lighter colors. Depending on how your brain interprets the color surrounding the object in question, you might see some colors differently.

Thanks for your answer, your explanation was solid! Gave it a go by putting it in front of a blue background, and while I still saw it as blue, it seemed a lot lighter than before.

The colors I see in this dress is a Khaki tan  and white.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68062.15
ETH 2637.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70