Sort:  

For me its the content, plain and simple. This can include an original post or a comment they made.

It needs to be insightful, relevant, thought provoking. It doesn't necessarily need to be my way of thinking, in fact giving me pause and making me consider different viewpoints is something I really look for in people I follow. I already know what and how I think, why follow someone saying the same things I do? 

I like to learn things so I tend to follow people who post new and interesting things, not just cat memes or pic of flower with no description, I can google those if I want.

People who make me think, engage me in philosophical discussion or debate. The ones that can help expand my horizons so to speak.

These are the individuals I tend to follow the most

Nice insight! Thank you!

Has to be the content that they are writing and posting. I will follow them if i enjoyed it and would like to read more of their work.

Sometimes it could be someone following you and commenting and voting on you regularly. It is more out of good manners sometimes to show a thank you for their support. It all depends really and it is about engaging and getting on with everyone.

I have never chased a whale as I reckon you would be wasting your time but if they were a good entertaining writer then I would probably follow them. Account size should have nothing to do with it is what I am really trying to say.

Thanks for the honest answer! I appreciate it.

The quality of their content.

And how do I define the quality of their content? It depends... it can be how friendly they are, how beautiful their pictures are, how interesting the content is that they write, or how good the content is that they resteem.

Fair enough! Thanks for the reply!

It depends. If their content is the cream de la creme for that user then definitely I will follow him/her because of the posts, but if his posts are not that interesting for me, and I have such people following, but I am enjoying communicating with then I will follow the person just for communication. Sometimes it happens that I am writing articles that trigger the person and we start the interaction, but generally I find both posts and comments as important factors to follow someone. At the beginning I was following lots of users who have big amounts of SP in hope of some upvotes from them, but after a while I quit that strategy and I only kept in my list persons that I like to read and interact with. I don't like people who resteem a lot by the way. 

Good to know! Thanks for the input!

Posted using Partiko Android

The thing that is prioritized when following someone is that if they are interesting and they are posting contents from which I get to learn something and it should be a little interesting as well.

Each user has their own criteria and after following few of them it really attracts to go through the posts of the selected ones.

The way of presenting a content, really maters. 

The users who engages with the people who comments in their posts is another attraction that leads to a nice communication to build up.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47