7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 1 - No Good (Start the Dance)

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hello, hello, hello....

From what I've seen this genius challenge started by @dimitrisp and I was nominated (after I kindly asked) from the fabulous @mariossap. Thank you so much for this one, mate :)))))))

Alright, the song just started playing so here's my story:

During the late days of May back in 1994, me and my homies decided to visit Athens. Some may think that Corinth-Athens is just a 45-minute ride by the car or train nowadays, but when you have to cover this distance on "παπάκια" GLX 50cc, the trip seems to be endless. Furthermore, if your parents don't know about it (the so called "σκαστή"), the whole thing becomes a little too adventurous.

Two motorcycles, five people (I know huh?) from Corinth all the way to Athens. The oldest's 16 and the youngest 13 (that would be me). Our destination is Monastiraki to do some shopping that would help us stand out in the rave party of the same night (it was a warm Saturday). 

Soon after we arrived and started the "looting"...emm the shopping I mean, we see about 15 people (mainly young guys) standing outside a CD-Store that had a telly in its window wall. We hear that Prodigy's new single titled "No Good" will premiere by MTV in a few minutes and we join them. See, back then you had to wait for months to watch the video of a song you listened to the radio or on a CD first. There was no YouTube back then!!!!!!!

The video airs for the first time (in Greece) and even though there was no sound as the telly was inside the CD-store, there were about 20 of us going like this....And when I say no sound, I mean NO SOUND! I guess the 90's "drinks" were way too energetic ;) 

I went on seeing The Prodigy in live concert (my favourite band) many, many times and in many different countries. Actually, I met Keith Flint at some point when I worked in England. I will write about our meeting in another post. 

Allow me not to mention the rules or nominate someone on day one, as this post is dedicated to T., one of the "Fab 5" who's not with us anymore. 

You left us way too early, brother. We love you and think about you every single day since you left. Even today when we all get together, there are ALWAYS 5 glasses on the table.  

You have been loved!!!!!!

I Miss You So Much!!!!!!!!


Sort:  

I love this song! and the whole album Music for the Jilted Generation was great! "no good" is always in my ipod playlist when i go out for a run or at the gym.
i'm sorry for your friend :(

The Prodigy was going to make it into one of my next #musicwaybackchallenge posts, Im an Essex boy so its a natural fit to me. Sorry your mate isn't here to join in.

I loveeeeeeee Essex. I've been there several times. I have a son with a British woman, so I lived there for a couple of years ;)

Cool in the end I decided to go for Altern8, not The Prodg'

Dude, they were so inferior to Flint's gang ;) lol

Ha ha, no argument here mate

It's a good one to dance and release to that's for sure!!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59449.45
ETH 2406.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43