7-Day Music Challenge: Your Top Albums - #3 Walking on a Dream

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody!

Day three for my music challenge and today I decided to present my most recent purchase of a studio album. I know it may sound a bit weird, but my last purchase was back in May 2009. Of course, I've bought a few CD's since then, but they were all Best Of and Anthologies of some of my favourite artists. I mean, do new artists even release albums these days? Because all I see is singles, singles and more singles on YouTube. 

Anyway, back to my music challenge, the album of the day is Walking on a Dream by Empire of the Sun. The majority of my most beloved artists come from the 90's and previous decades, so as you understand Empire of the Sun is a bright exception. 

Source

This album according to Wikipedia, was released on 3 October 2008 but I bought it almost a year after its release. I kept listening on the radio and MAD TV a few songs from this album, but I had no idea who was singing them or what the name of the album was. 

So, back in May 2009 I was in the airport of Côte d'Azur in Nice, France, in order to catch a flight for Athens. It was really early in the morning, around 5-5:30 if I can recall correctly. During a "pit-stop" in the duty free shops before I board the plane, this colourful and vivid cover caught my eye. The way the two artists were dressed impressed me even more. I had a suspicion that they may be the ones who are singing "Walking on a Dream" and "We are the People" but I wasn't sure. I decided to buy it. 

I was going through a very complicated phase in my life at the moment. I had just turned 28, I was done with my studies, my military service, my Master's degree and my law practice as a solicitor. Strangely, I still had no idea what to do with my life really.  

I was leaving behind a person that I knew I would never see again, despite the promises we were giving to each other moments before we say goodbye in the airport. I wasn't in love; I wasn't out of it either. I wasn't happy; but I wasn't sad either. 

I remember getting in the plane and sticking my face to the window. The sun was rising and I had this bittersweet feeling and happy melancholy that early mornings of spring always raise in my soul. I hadn't gotten any sleep for the past 24 hours or so, and when I decided to insert the CD in my portable Sony player I was in a semi-conscious state listening to "Walking on a Dream." How cynical and ironic, huh? 

I don't remember much after that, other than waking up in Athens at some point. Sometimes I feel so content with being who I am and having the memories and life I have had. I am blessed :)))

Still In My Playlist 


Walking on a Dream 

We are the People

THE RULES 

- You need to pick your 7 all time favourite albums. Post one every day for seven days in a row.

- One song (AT LEAST) from each album has to be in your playlist currently. Oh yeah, you also have to share this song with us through YouTube.

- The Cover of the Album has to be the main theme of your post each day. 

- No need to explain why the specific album is a favourite of yours, but if you feel like it, PLEASE do!

- Use #albumchallenge as a tag. 

-  Last but not least, nominate a different steemian each day! 

Today I nominate @alinak15 and @mariossap

Sort:  

Mannnn this song is dope 😂👌 you got freakishly amazing taste 😂 Added this to my playlist now!
Screenshot_20180706-082329.jpg

He He that's awesome bro ;)

thanks a lot! i will start today! :D

And here I am.. just surfing the blockchain. HELLO FUTURE BLOCKCHAIN ARCHAEOLOGISTS!!

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #49! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually 😊


You can upvote, follow, resteem, delegate and join my curation trail to support me, good creators and minnows.
Thank you!

i had no idea these guys are singing these songs :P

Yep, it's them ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60255.54
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55