Wayback music challenge: Day 5 – Angel of Death

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

@slobberchops nominated me for this Wayback music challenge. You can read about it at the bottom of the post.

Here's the music...


Remember the record collection where I learned about Stevie Wonder? (You can read about it here). The guy who had bought it didn't know what to do about it and we were allowed to pick from it. The collection was mainly late seventies early eighties glam rock which at the time didn't interest me. But I took one record that was opening a whole new musical landscape to me: British Steel by Judas Priests.

My parents house that had been invaded by me and my band, was in these days also invaded by the role-playing club of my brother. It was the primary meeting place for a lot of young boys and girls, and new records was brought into the house every day: Sonny Rollins, IceT, NHØP-Achie Sheep, U2... the list could go on forever, but one day someone brought 3 albums by Slayer!

I lived in a world of fantasy horror, refined sixties jazz, Metal Hurlant comics, ghetto Hiphop, - Incredible that we could take it all in... OK, the song ran out now, but I will have to finish :)

Slayer was surrounded with a macabre image. Just listening to them was daring, but they strangely enough was on the same label as the best hiphop artists: DEF JAM. They had a satanic, nazi image (partly because of this song about the horrendous Joseph Mengele), but they were part of the same multicultural movement as Public Enemy, Anthrax, Run DMC, Bestie Boys - and they weren't racist at all. The band itself was made up of people with very different cultural roots. It didn't take us long to look through the sensationalist imagery - I mean the lead singer was of a Chilean family - but the music was not as easily diminished.

Hard to explain what we felt about the music. It was really wild! It was pure energy! It was bleak and optimistic at the same time, not least thanks to the incredible Cuban drummer Dave Lombardo. If you listen a bit before 4:37 you don't think that the crescendo can go any higher, but... it can. I still think this is a milestone in fast energetic rock.

And.. I am going to see them this December with the guys from back then who I still see.

I nominate @shortcut and/or @roused for this challenge if they like.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
Sort:  

:-D

I really like the guitar work that starts around 1:45, and the guitar speed at the end of the song is completely INSANE!!!

Another fun post, and given your interest in fantasy horror, it's easy to understand why you were into this.

The heavy metal went quite well with the comics of the time, The US version of Metal Hurlant was even called Heavy Metal. I only have a couple of slots left and now I am thinking what to present as the last tracks.

Here is Dave Lombardo with some cacophonical drumming. In the second song Kerry King from Slayer assists.

It does smart a bit after listening to Carl Nielsen's fifth symphony.

BTW I made a montage using your drawing; I added some truly Shakespearean heath. Hope you approve.

Hello @katharsisdrill, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks a lot. My main work which is published here is actually pictorial art. I make a comic , you can see the latest posts here: Phill from GCHQ: The wee bairn and illustrations and other art that is creative commons. Here is an example: Five high resolution Creative-Commons artworks

Congratulation man.. Have a good day..

Not sure why you congratulate me :)

The_commentphant.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75