Wayback music challenge: Day 3 – you haven't done nothing

@slobberchops nominated me for this Wayback music challenge. You can read about it in the bottom of the post.

Here's the music...

OK, thing is... 1986-87 was kind of an explosion musically for me. I had been shielding myself from popular music as I never really felt part of the social community surrounding it, and I had only been taking part in it negatively, for example when hating on "I just called to say I love you," by Stevie Wonder.

This socially created animosity against the man was with me also in the year 1987, and as I was not really confronted with his music I just kept at it - that is until I had a present for my birthday. It was one of my parents friends who had bought a LP record collection for almost no money. As it was the ridiculously low price and not the music that had interested him he gave away records every time he could ( I will probably get back to this record-collection). What I got for this teenage birthday was a Motown Compilation with an incredibly beautiful, chocolate brown lady in bikini on the cover. He had chosen it because of the girl of course, me being at an age where he presumed that I would be interested in such things (I had been for a long time, actually), but as I now had this record in my small collection I put it on one day later. The first song was crazily funky, my body knew, I knew: this was GOOOD! I looked at the cover and what do you know: Stevie Wonder.

I learned an important lesson that day... now the music stopped. Perfect timing if I must say so.

I nominate @shortcut and/or @roused for this challenge if they like.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
Sort:  

Isn't it strange how an artist worst material can become one of his or her greatest hits :-/

He is of course great and has music running through his veins. I remember the above song, whenever I hear it I'm never sure if it is that, or this:


I really love these two Stevies together :-)

I think that is the reason artists sometimes has a bit of an estranged relationship with the public :)

It should be added that my rejection of the song was both immature and opportunist.

Nice jam! I love them both together and on their own.

Love some of Stevie Wonder's material, but like you am not keen on the big 1981 hit, "I just called to say I love you".

I have my particular reasons for disliking the song which I will explain in a forthcoming series of articles I plan to post soon.

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82