Music and TV Way Back Challenge: Day 1

media.jpg
Source

Three days ago the awesome @enginewitty began this challenge as a way of earning SBD to help me repay my loan for flight tickets to the upcoming TWB meetup in Gatlinburg, TN. I cannot express enough gratitude for this brilliant gesture on his part. Thank you!

@saffisara began the #tvshowwaybackchallenge and @greek-trail started the #musicwaybackchallenge. I thought that I would take part in this too and will post these for the next seven days also, reliving some of my youth...if I can remember that far back.

TV Challenge

Battle of The Planets

Battle of the Planets! G-Force, five incredible young people with superpowers! And watching over them from Centre Neptune, 7-Zark-7! Watching, warning against surprise attacks by alien galaxies from beyond space. G-Force! Fearless young orphans, protecting Earth's entire galaxy. Always five, acting as one. Dedicated! Inseparable! Invincible!
Source

From the cheesy title music to the over the top announcer, this brings back such fond memories. I initially began watching this in Italy when I was younger - I forget what it was called there. Lots of Japanese cartoon shows were redubbed into Italian in the 80's.

Interestingly, 7-Zark-7 was played by none other than Alan Young, of Mr. Ed fame.

MV5BNTg0NzAzMjY4OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjQ5NTQ4NA@@._V1_UX148_CR0,0,148,216_AL_.jpg
Source

Music Challenge

Video Killed the Radio Star

 
A lot of music from my youth is memorable, and not for the best reasons. One song that I have always hated ever since it was first heard on the radio was 'Video Killed the Radio Star' by The Buggles, released in 1979.

To this day it still sets my teeth on edge and is akin to watching somebody scrape their nails down a blackboard. You get the picture, I absolutely hate it.

I would like to nominate @rhondak to take part in these challenges.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

In my mind, that Buggles video seems meshed with... Einstein a Go Go!

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

G Force 5 holy crap, that brings me back!

Okay, battle of the planet and video killed the radio star deserve a good upvote, although I couldn't watch the latter -- not valid for country.
This link works for me...


steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71526.27
ETH 3810.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49