Music Production Insight - My FL Studio Projects look like a real mess but its only the results that matter! :)

in #musicproduction6 years ago (edited)

Today i had a very stressfull day. My nerves were at breaking point but in the second i started my #DAW (Direct Audio Workstation) i felt better and better. This is my heaven where i can be free and express myself. Sometimes wonderful Melodies just flow into the Piano Roll like i really know what im doing! lol

And when that happens i can sometimes finish a Track in just a few days. I feel like this will be such a Track and this is why i will give you a preview of it. I never did that before. Normally i finish it and then Upload. This Project File is named "Sad Great World" and is some kind of EDM / IDM mix with a little Chiptune. (If you didnt know, Chiptune or Gamewave is like Arcade Game Music.) The Name of the Track is likely to change because my last Track is named with the word sad too. xD

Even when i feel sad i dont want to do really sad melodies. To me it feels like it has a little sad feeling in it but begins to be more and more uplifting. And this is what i want. Catch you from the Point where you feel sad and lift you up!

The next part of the Track will have some changes. I want to change the Key, Melody and even instruments so it doesnt get boring. Tha hard part will be, to glue that together so it still sounds like the same Track.

When Professionals start a Project they plan almost everything ahead. They write down Notes, the concept, Genre and much more. I cant even write Notes but as it turns out i dont need to. I just have an idea in mind and start searching for a Synthesizer that comes close to that idea. Then i tweak the Knobs of the Synth until it sounds like i want it to and then i start playing the Melodies that i had in mind.

IDM - sad great world 01.flp - FL Studio 12_2.jpg

After that i start building the next pattern or add an effect and so on i dont even have order in that i just do what comes to my mind.

This is what my mess looks like:

IDM.jpg

I put everything in one Pattern and just got one seperate Pattern for the Drums and Percussion. Normally you have each instrument in its own pattern and Track to have a good overview whats happening. This is why my Projects are a real mess but i do know what happens there and putting everything in one pattern has a big advantage to me because i can see the Notes of the other Instruments in the Background (This is called Ghost Channel) and that helps me a lot to not place Notes on the wrong key.

Here you can see the 2 Melodies playing at the very beginning of the Track. One of it is ghosted.
IDM - sad great world 01.flp - FL Studio 12_4.jpg

The next things im going to do is give the Drums a little more love and add some more percussion. Also i need to add some delay effect on the snares in the middle when its building up. Then i move on to the next part of the Track and i really dont know what result to expect. Its just like my Blog. I simply start writing what i think and feel.

I just wrote this to see if anyone is interested in Music Production Posts and the Techniques i use. Please let me know! Maybe you even give me some Feedback about what you like or dislike or do you even got ideas? Now i need to go back to heaven to make more Music! See you later ;)

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Then i tweak the Knobs of the Synth untill it sounds like i want it to and then i start playing the Melodies that i had in mind.
It should be until instead of untill.

Thank you, this really helps me! Are you a bot? This was the fastest response i ever had. :D

Don't judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.

Nice set up you've got there in FL Studio. Making music is a good place to go to forget bad sad days. Music is energy, and you can create some positive energy with it to help you on those days. Anyway, I like how the song is coming. How long have you been working with FL Studio? And yeah I personally like music production posts like this because it gives me ideas outside of my own ways of production.

Thank you for your feedback! I use FL since a few years now and was using other DAWs before. I startet 15 years ago with e-jay musicmaker. xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69194.08
ETH 3757.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67