Christmas Music Monday (feel free to add your own tracks)

in #musicmonday5 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture its true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Hope everyone is well and looking forward to the Christmas break. I did have a hip hop track lined up for tonight, but with Christmas approaching .. it didn't feel quite right. I thought I'd go for something a bit leftfield, not necessarily a Christmas track .. but one that speaks to the virtues of the season. I also wanted to thank everyone for their support this year, wish you all a very Merry Christmas, and as I won't be around until Mon the 6th .. a Happy New Year! I'll be back in early 2020 with the next two parts of my new series, I've been busy gathering some important references .. so just been a little delayed in putting them out .. until then, I hope you enjoy my Christmas music choice!

Minnow5.gif

Written by: Perceptualflaws
Song: Benedictus
Artist: The Strawbs
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Hey there @rosgard thanks for popping by with your choice this week. I enjoyed this one, and its certainly not one I've heard before. Great fun sound and energy .. and what a brilliant video, reminds me of my wives driving!! :D Thank you for the music my friend, and a very Merry Christmas to you.

Thank you I'm sorry, I forgot that you have a tradition of Christmas. Suggested music on this subject. We have a tradition of science. Space, science, Gagarin.
We also have Jewish communities. Therefore, in honor of the Jewish tradition of this ancient people, such music.

Hahaha!

I almost forgot it was Monday given how close we are to Christmas and the days of the week get overlooked.

I was thinking about how I love Christmas but the songs annoy me. Same old over churned bullshit only a child or Bing Crosby fan could enjoy.

This one may be an exception!

Merry Christmas buddy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy Christmas to you @zekepickleman .. I hope you're looking forward to a good break with the family. I know what you mean about the Christmas songs .. when I was at college, I worked at a cd packing factory .. I still wake up in a cold sweat .. dreaming I'm stuck on a cd production line for 12 hours with one Christmas cd on a perpetual loop lol This one definitely on it though .. and that's a very good thing, as this is both underplayed and a great Christmas sound. Thank you for the music my friend .. and a Merry Christmas to you and yours! :)

Happy Christmas to you too. Have avoided the carols so far. BUT ... its Chrimbo after all.

Happy Christmas to you @riverflows :) I hope you're looking forward to a good one?! Ha yeah, I see what you did there! lol I was actually trying to think of a Christmas hip hop track, but came up with something that most definitely didn't speak to the spirit of Christmas! lol But, I'd obviously forgotten to this classic, thank you for the music my friend .. and a Merry Christmas to you and yours. Catch you in 2020. :)

Ha, glad you liked it. I thought I nailed it too ;p xx My Christmas playlist is this, Johnny Cash, John Lee Hooker, Nat King Cole etc. I collected my own in a special playlist I hear once as I am cooking Chrissy Eve and that's it. I only heard Fairytale of New York once this year. Happy Christmas to you and yours too xx

I can't believe I missed a Christmas song posting opportunity...asleep at the wheel again! I have one you can put in the archives for future reference if you haven't heard it before....

Happy New Year my friend! Sorry for the late listen to this one, but I've been away since Christmas eve and I'm only just back, in fact .. I'm still in the middle of sorting out my work etc for tomorrow and so there probably won't be a #musicmonday tonight. You're right, never heard this one before .. but I can guarantee it's going to be on the Christmas playlist for next year. Thank you for the music and my final dose of Christmas spirit. Oh and did I say ... HAPPY NEW YEAR!!?? :)

Happy New Year to you too! I am actually been able to get on here early today...now no Monday music. Oh, well, there's always next week, I'll have to consider it a challenge to make it!

It's a long, long time since I've heard the Strawbs. A great track and a fine sentiment for the season that's in it.
May I take this opportunity to thank you for all the entertainment you've so generously provided, the support you've given me and to wish you a peaceful Christmas.
So here's some soothing Smiths for you with I thought, a rather a cute video.

Thank you @deirdyweirdy your kind words are much appreciated. I sat down at the beginning of the year and started to write my book, but the pace of cultural changes (and my knowledge of what was behind it all) impeded the free flow of my thoughts, so I decided to write about what I was seeing and back it up with some deep research .. but combined with a busy work schedule, it's meant I haven't been on here as much .. so thanks for staying the course. :) Once I've written these next couple of posts I can get back to the book .. plus I'll be free to write some more shorter posts on steemit. A beautifully relaxing track, and a sweet video that captures the childhood magic of Christmas. Thank you for the music my friend .. and a very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hey @sequentialvibe sorry for the late ears on this one but I've been away since Christmas eve and I'm only just back, in fact I'm still sorting myself out so there probably won't be a #musicmonday tonight. A nice musical treat to return to though my friend .. very dramatic and very well done in fact I'd have liked to have seen the prodigy cover a classical number, interesting to see what they would have done with it! Thank you for the music and a Happy New Year to you! :)

Sorry so late, keep losing Mondays. Have a Merry Christmas and the Happiest of Happy Years ahead.

Hey my friend .. no problem and sorry for the late ears on this one, but I've been away since Christmas eve and I'm not long back, in fact there probably won't be a music Monday tonight as I'm still getting myself together and ready for work tomorrow. Such an iconic and classic Christmas song .. can't believe the pc brigade are now ater this timeless treasure as well .. idiots! :D Happy New Year and thank you for the music .. at any time of the year this is a true classic!!

Congratulations @perceptualflaws! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99