Music Monday (feel free to add your music)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture its true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Hope everyone is well and has enjoyed a really good weekend!? Happy Monday! Well, I've recently been revisiting some of my old hip-hop collection and thought I'd share this track by Immortal Technique. For me and with a nod to KRS-ONE etc etc, this artist stands guard at the frontlines of the intelligent hip-hop movement I grew up with. Yes much rap has been sidelined off into vacuous ego-centric bullshit that masquerades as a shadow of it's former self. Luckily by weaving history, truth, spirituality into inventive lyrics and killer beats .. artists like Tech are keeping the fire burning! And I tell you what, I'd put the knowledge of this man against any academic/historian and philosopher out there. I hope you enjoy!

On another note and for anyone that is interested, If you didn't catch it the first time round here is a post I wrote about hip-hop and the artificially created gang culture that destroyed black communities.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: Eyes In The Sky
Artist: Immortal Technique
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Great Immortal Technique track, and in the interests of further banishing the Monday blues I present to you The Rubber bandits.


I always get a laugh out of it no matter how many times I see it. I hope it's not peculiarly Irish humour.

Always good for a laugh...or a cry!

Haha I don't know what I just watched .. I think I'll have to watch it again to absorb what I've just watched, there is a lot going on there lol Definitely banished the Monday blues my friend .. random as f... but in equal parts hilarious, throw in some funky beats and its smiles all round lol Thank you for the music and the laugh @deirdyweirdy :D

Fucking hell I love that lol. :-)

That's brilliant! Even the dog joining in and the 2 council workers slinking off with no idea how else to react.

No law against street performers is there :-)

Haha .. yeah Phat Bollard .. saw this the other day and they are from down my way. lol

Check my post out today, with a link to listen to their album, just this minute finished listening to it, pure class. :-)

Happy Monday!
I had other plans for today’s song but hearing immortal technique I had to share this song. I think anyone who listens to him had heard it but it’s a powerful song, depressing as it is. Too many people fall into this category, doing something awful to ‘impress’ others.

Immortal Technique- Dance with the Devil

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey my friend, hope you've enjoyed a good weekend. A brilliant track and a sad indictment of our times .. there are very few people that are purely evil .. sadly there are many people that carry out evil acts, change of time and circumstance and their lives could have been very different .. I've seen it too many times. :( It is a depressing song .. but it also heralds the power to spark thought amongst the thoughtless and to plants seeds of change into the minds of those that are ready to make that change. As always, thank you for the music @cmplxty

Hey my friend .. hope you've been well, looking at the picture I thought it would be a heavy metal track .. but I stand corrected, some cool beats .. and Russian hip-hop! Never knew you Russians could rap ;) Great stuff!! Thank you for the music my friend .. really enjoyed the cool sounds and freaky video! :)

This is a parody of rap. The band creates bad songs. Such a policy. very bad song, but very good short movie. Create a clip that tells the story. The songs are always parodies, always funny. The band has no musical direction. They parody everything.
The plot is more important than the content of the white verse. The parody was carried out through the most ancient Arabic style “rubai”. A female refrain uses the triple meaning of the standard Japanese verse of samurai haiku.
The musical design of classical motifs of Irish folk music dates back to the 20th years of confrontation of various mafia groups. Rap refers to the modern drug bands.
In the end, combining incompatible parody turns out. Unfortunately I can not explain no longer speak the language.
The clip itself is always a small completed story.

Haha parody songs .. you should give Weird Al a try :) .. But in honesty, it was the first Russian rap I've ever heard and I thought he had a pretty good flow. :)

Russian rap if it can be called so on other principles. Promotion of the army, strength, sport and a healthy lifestyle. It will look something like this.


There is nothing above freedom. Life does not make sense if you are not ready to die in battle for your principles. What is the difference between the life of bacteria and human life? Man is ready to die for his principles. One of the NATO forces (ISIS unit) shot down our pilot. Once in the entourage, he led a battle of regular weapons. When the soldiers of NATO (a unit of ISIS) surrounded him, he blew himself up and the enemy with a grenade.
The last phrase of the hero was for our people. Now his family, his children are honored, they are millionaires.
A few minutes later, the special forces rescue squadron approached and the ISIS unit (NATO military unit) was destroyed. Then the bus with the pilots of the United States was blown up by the Kurds. Killed 20 US Air Force pilots. Someone gave money to the Kurds, unknown intelligence.
I was a school teacher. When the war began, I went voluntarily to the army. I was accompanied by my children, the students of my classes. Then I was given benefits, free to finish a second university.
After the first university, it is allowed to study immediately from the 3rd course. Unfortunately I did not work with children anymore. After the army, it is not recommended to work with children and influence the minds of children.
Education is not useful. At the end of the training I was bored. He took the land, allocated 10 hectares of land and started his own business.
I guess I'm happy, although I miss working with children. I had interesting kids. They had interesting ideas, kind hearts. Some have tried to invent the "perpetual motion". Funny ...

hello my friend, thank you as always for the music, not sure if I have shared this very talented young woman before xx
Sudan Archives

Wow, took a while to get into it though different yet brilliant.

Hey my friend .. thank you for taking some time out to stop by and share this uniquely brilliant track .. difficult to place and a genre of itself. I love the creativity and musical mastery at play here .. inspiring sounds. I love it when people break free from musical conventions and explore the uniqueness of their own creativity .. the true essence of music! Thank you for sharing my friend .. this really was a pleasure to listen to!

Loved this one!!! Added to my YouTube faves to remember it. You've give me a few of those this year!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yah! Have I posted this one in the last few months? I don't think so but it has been rattling through my head.

I have had this in my head every day since we agreed to do a night of Beegees songs next month. Harmonies are great and it is to disco throwback. Them Straight to the Heart Songs.

I will have to post some of the footage when we play this show as it should be pretty funny.

Happy monday dood!

I remember some kind of Bee Gee's fusion .. but no not this track lol Forgotten how good this one was, they had some great melodies .. one of those tracks that in equal measure inspires a smile and a longing for the local discotheque lol And yes when you perform it you must load it onto a future #musicmonday .. would love t see you guys perform it. Thank you for the music my friend .. this was a listening pleasure!!

Now this one tune, when it came out, I bought the album, bought some USA speakers, floorstanders, I forget the name of them, got evicted due to them lol, and used to play this at a volume that shook the house, the bass though, oh the bass, it was amazing, eh, I was young (ish) self (ish) and hated having to be back in the UK, I wanted to be in Asia again, though was stuck working in shitty factories, in the auto trade.
Engineering is a bitch, when you are doing it for a corporation. :-)

Headphones to max bro.

Hey my friend, hope you've enjoyed a great weekend. Great choice this week bro .. loving the lazy heavy basslines .. I'm can imagine it reverberating through the whole house, I can see why you were popular with the neighbours! And what a great voice .. he was big for a while and then just disappeared, is he still recording? Nicely done this week my friend ..chilled vibes and heavy bass .. what's not to love? Thank you for the music dude!

Most welcome bro, and every day outside the slave trade, caught on camera from door to door, shite hole Birmingham UK, is a great day for me.

What headphones you using? I have a spare set free, if you want to hear like I do?

By the by, nice choice of tune, great apt lyrics.

Hey dude, not sure why I missed your replies last night .. I'll blame #steempeak lol I'm with you on Birmingham .. they have literally turned it into one of the biggest hell holes in the UK .. and there are many! lol I have a pretty good set of headphones thanks dude .. very comfy, although pretty old so the only wording not scratched off is that of the maker .. Sony! Thanks my friend, glad you enjoyed it .. been doing some work outside and I can't believe how hot it is today .. a really beautiful spring day, in Feb!! :D

Okay my friend, also glad you have some nice weather, it is also mighty fine here too today. :-)

Oh this was a lovely memory.. And a gorgeous song... I remember this album!!!! Gonna go blast it now...

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice one, enjoy. :-)

Hi there yes i love songs mainly olds from early 70...i ll introduce to folks Todd Rundgren with a wonderful melody called hello its me also sang by his band nazz in 69 here we go

Hey sorry I missed this one last night my friend. Although it worked out well .. the sun is shining, the breeze is gentle and it's great track to while away my lunch break to. I'm also a big fan of the 60's & 70's .. fashion, music, art .. although I haven't heard this guy before, so I shall enjoy checking out his back catalogue. Thank you for the introduction and the music @chessguy .. I enjoyed this one!

Did I hear someone say Weird AL?

Haha yeah I think that may have been me lol .. Hilarious mate .. nobody does it better lol Do you ever remember the more explicit Kevin Bloody Wilson? Many schoolyard memories of his work lol Dude, its been a long old day and this was just the laugh I needed .. and laugh I did! lol Thank you for the music my friend .. just what the Dr ordered. Actually, while I'm at it .. this song reminded me about the Amish mafia .. have you ever heard of them? lol

Amish Mafia LOL...Nope never heard of them!

But I do know of Kevin Bloody Wilson! I made sure Santa brought me that bike I always wanted for Christmas:)

I wondered what the hell this one was about when it started - fuck I hate that song! But this did redeem itself somewhat lol. I love your hip hop selections - thankyou! Sorry I've been absent from music monday - came back today. Will think of a tune to drop in reply..... still lost in Orbital world a bit xx

Okay here it is. Was listening to them live in the radio studio on the way up to Melbourne Friday night. They are from Hobart. Kinda low fi/post punk kinda thing.

If you can not watch the whole thing, watch the last 15 minutes my friend.......

Hey thanks my friend .. I actually watched this a few nights back and whatever anyone's opinion of Robinson .. watching that BBC crew squirm was a thing of beauty! :D

The arrogance off the BBC knows no bounds it seems, and £220 just for drinks? What a complete farce.

Yeah what a joke .. credit where it's due .. this was a joy to watch! :D

Check out Celine Dion in this one broskie.

Thanks my friend .. I shall enjoy watching this. I've been at this many many years .. and I think I've shown my knowledge and my worth. It's my profound belief that there is indeed a spiritual component behind all of this, and I've carried out enough research and deep thought not to care if people find that statement to be a little out there.

Not disagreeing with you on either count. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65