There is no such thing as ONE favorite song (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #music6 years ago
To ask me what my favorite song is would be pretty wicked, to say the least, and yet, @zord189 dared to do exactly that. I did some thinking and almost every musical genre has a song that I like. I could not even say that some are definitely my favorite because they change all the time. One day, one is my favorite and the next day another. There are some which are in the top 5 all the time but even them I cannot listen 24/7 because I get sick of them. It is tricky to choose but I will try.

Welcome to my musical journey!


CC0 image, Pixabay, author: Free-Photos, adapted by me

I will take you through some of the genres and present you with my favorite pieces. Turn the volume up because you are in for a treat. Music has a way of moving you and this one most certainly will.

"One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain."
-Bob Marley

When it comes to choosing my favorite genre, that one is easy. It was, is and always be rock and roll. There are so many talented artists there, from A as ACDC to Z as ZZ Top and everything in between like Janis Joplin, Led Zeppelin, Guns n Roses, Deep Purple, Whitesnake, Jimi Hendrix, Queen, and many many others. While I do enjoy good metal now and again (we will get to that later), rock will always hold a special place in my heart.

Now comes the hard part,
what is my favorite rock song and why?

Hmmm.... I could say Stairway to Heaven, Highway to Hell, November Rain, Paradise City, Whole Lotta Rosie, Smoke on the Water, Satisfaction, Hotel California, Sympathy For The Devil, Fear Of The Dark, Welcome To The Jungle, Kashmir... Oh, there are so many to choose from... This is madness! (...this is Sparta!) It is torture but fine, if I had to pick one, let it be this:

Why? Because it is absolutely brilliant when it comes to vocals, instruments, melody, lyrics, everything actually. Do you agree? Do you have a better one on your mind?

If Rock is my favorite than this would be my second favorite. I love it because artists have the best voices, vocals are just incredible. From Marvin Gay, Ray Charles, Otis Redding, Etta James, and Aretha Franklin to Erykah Badu and Amy Winehouse, I love them all and I love all their work. I am thinking about what song to pick and between Hoochie Coochie Man, Mustang Sally, Green Onions, Minnie the Moocher, Respect, Muddy Waters, Think, Sitting on a dock of a bay, Sweet Home Chicago, Superstition, and so many others, I will pick this one:

Why? Because I am absolutely in love with his voice. It is one of those voices that brings chills down my spine and I can not stand still while I am listening to it. I am gently swinging left and right while writing this right now actually...

From all the genres this is my least favorite. There are still some great artists and songs but I since I am really picky when it comes to my music, it is hard to enjoy that which is just nasty. That is why I always say that there is a huge difference between new and old rap. Old rap had some meaning, it had a message in every song and was powerful. Today's rap has nothing more than insults and swears and it is terrible for me to listen to. Eminem is a shining star between these new artists. Between Changes, Gangsta Paradise, Lose yourself and a couple of others, the best one in rap genre is something that I am not really sure it is rap but it is close enough, here it goes:

Call me a softy, but I used to cry at this song. Lyrics are amazing and the song carries a powerful vibe and message. Listen to it but really listen to it carefully and let the words resonate with you.

Awwww, metal... Sometimes the escape that I am looking for. This one is not hard. I have a couple of favorite bands and one song that was always my favorite. Bands include Motorhead, Metallica, Pantera, Avantasia, Nightwish, Helloween and between all the different sub-genres of metal, power metal is something that I enjoy the most. The talent that is present there is just amazing. Here is a song that I have always considered the best of what power metal has to offer:

Avantasia is something completely different from everything else you have heard. It is a metal opera, a complete work of art with characters, plot, and amazing songs. It is a project that had 2 parts and made many different artists from different bands to come together and create something magnificent.

Always present and always a source of inspiration for other genres. Classical music will live forever and there is a reason for that. The quality of it can not be compared to anything else. I fell in love with this music when I was only 10 years old. I remember how I first heard something from Mozart and it completely blew me away and took me to some other land. When I grew a bit older, I learned how I was exposed to this music since I was just a little child in Tom&Jerry cartoons. From Vivaldi, Bach, Mozart, and all the other genius men, my favorite piece is from the opera Carmen called Habanera:

I only need to close my eyes I and I am somewhere else in that instant. I was always moved by opera and enjoyed it very much. Carmen is the first opera I heard live and I think it stayed with me ever since as the best piece of art I have ever witnessed.

Sure, there is a lot of crap nowadays but you will find little gems in that mess if you look hard enough. P!nk, Eros Ramazzotti, Jessie J, Justin Timberlake, Adele, Santana... You know... Those that actually sing and have songs with lyrics instead of just going la-la-la or repeating baby-baby... When it comes to picking the favorite song, there are too many to choose from. I will go for one that is very special for me because of the words it has, phrases and an overall positive and inspiring message of hope, enjoy:

I love the beat this one has and the lyrics are just... me... The lyrics are me. I always say that I have the perfect life. I have no troubles what so ever, except one. I have the perfect partner, health, friends, mind, and find joy in almost every day. The only stress factor is money, the only thing that is not perfect and was always an intruder in my happy bubble. That is why I like the verse "No more counting dollars, we’ll be counting stars" because I still carry hope that one day, even that last stress factor will be gone.

There are other genres that I have not covered in this post, that does not mean I do not like them. I do not have a favorite artist and I do not have a favorite song. Music is music, art is art, all of it is pretty special and depending on my mood, I will enjoy different pieces of it. I love it when music moves me, it can be lyrics, vocals, amazing instrument playing, or all together. Since I started the post with Bob, I will finish it with Bob because the lyrics of this one go well together with my philosopy of happiness blog that I am writing for you.

I hope you have enjoyed our little musical journey. Here is one last song for the road with the secret I am trying to tell you little by little in my every post:

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds

You can be in control of your life, if you want to. You can be a victim, or you can be a creator. Your mind is all you need. You have a brain for a reason, use it. Accept responsibility for your life. Stop blaming your parents, the government, the media... You are responsible for the decisions you have made and will make. Live like you are going to die tomorrow and learn like you are going to live forever. Follow your heart but take your brain with you. Music will help you on your way. You are special, you are unique, and you are loved.

One more time... Because some things need to be repeated...

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds

Image sources AND LICENCES in order of appearance:

- all images used in this post are free for commercial use, they are royalty free with the links to original images provided under them
- line divider that I use is from FREE CLIPART LIBRARY, and is here
- title pictures are made by me using the CC0 image from pixabay that can be found here
- my bitmoji avatar was created on https://www.bitmoji.com/, visit the site to create yourown

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Wowwwiiieee! Let the games begin. I actually have a consistent Rock and Roller that is my all time favorite "Sympathy for the Devil" from the Rolling Stones. The argument in my head is to name the second place song, but Bohemian Rhapsody would be there at least part of the time.

Blues? I'm way more blues than rhythm and blues but a favorite? That's tough but I guess today it would be John Lee Hooker and Boom Boom.

Is Everlast rap? Then this is it:

Some of that video is shot in Bombay Beach on the Salton Sea, California. One of my favorite places. I was there last week.

Metal? Scorpions. I'm not a well rounded fan.

Classical. That's a big category. I have a whole bunch of real favorites but I'm going to go with "Ravel : Bolero". Today.

For the road? John Prine or Warren Zevon. Probably Prine. I've seen him live at least 20 times. Let's do Sam Stone.

Thanks Petra. Your list reveals much of you.

Music always says much about us and the song you have shared is lovely, haven't heard it in a while, thank you for reminding me! Winds of Change from Scorpions is really powerful, let your balalaika sing
what my guitar wants to say... marvelous... Sympathy for the Devil is one of my favorites when it comes to Rolling Stones 💚

This is fabulous @zen-art! You have selected many of my favourites. I didn't mention Bohemian Rhapsody in my post because it didn't fit with my approach. I did, however, mention Bob Marley's Redemption Song. Yes, for this contest, @zord189 has a lot to answer for!

HAHAHHA WHY ME?!?!?!

MAMA..... LIFE HAS JUSTTTT BEGUN!~

Hahahaha! Under pressure?

He should be under pressure, we sure were while thinking about this post :D

Hahahaha! Yes, indeed, but I had fun, didn't you? He has asked for a second installment of mine... Not so sure about that. Not this week, anyway! LOL


Oh WOW!!! That sounds amazing!

Glad to see I'm not the only one around here who loves this song :D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 443 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zen-art 💚 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Excellent selection over the years, through the years, through changes @zen-art in total agreement, there cannot be just one song!

Picking just one song is impossible for me :D

Oh I could NEVER choose!!! Nice job trying though, clever way of getting around it!!!! Great song to end on too... perfect for @zen-art!!!!.That song never gets old for me

@metametheus will like this post....💚

It was hard to choose but somehow I managed :D I am happy you like the last song 💚

What a unique take on the contest. Also every song in that list is amazing, seems like we have similar musical tastes XD

I am glad you like them :)

Ha ha... Nice trick! One song from every genre!

Some great choices there though, many good old favourites of mine as well!

If there is a loophole, I will always find it ;)

Wow @zen-art

That's a pretty epic post with a plethora of awesome tracks and bands. I have to say we have a similar view and a similar taste in music. I never dismiss anything of any genre if I think it's any good but Rock is definitely my natural choice.

I cant argue with Bohemian Rhapsody. I have followed queen consistently through my life, since the early eighties. I regret never going to see them live when Freddie was still smashing out those dulcet tones. My other Rock bands of note that you haven't got down are: The Foo Fighters, Def Leppard, Meat Loaf and Whitesnake. Your list of tracks is spot on though.

Blues and Soul. My mums influence on me. Diana Ross and the Supremes, The Four tops etc Wonderful stuff. My dad was a blues fan and liked BB King. Marvin Gaye is the man though!

I'm with you on the Rap thing. It has its place, no doubt but it's not my thing. I do think Marshal Mathers is talented though.

Metal. Awesome pick here. I have never heard of it before but it's very good. The lead vocal sounds a bit like Bruce Dickinson which brings me on to one of my all time favourite bands. Iron Maiden.

The classical track is beautiful. My wife listens to a lot of ballet related classical music so I recognise some of that stuff. Romeo and Juliet, Nutcracker etc

I have a 15 year old daughter who is trying to keep my pop music taste relevant! Great track this one. I like Bastille and took my daughter to see them in Malaysia. I like Jack Garratt too.

Lastly! Cant go wrong with Bob!

That was fun. Thanks for posting and best of luck with the competition. I'm posting mine in a moment. 😁

Gaz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44