Līgo (Traditional Latvian Folk Song): NEW MUSIC VIDEO, celebration of Summer, Life, Lammas

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Priscilla Hernandez harpsicle - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

This is my new music video Līgo, a Latvian traditional folk song. For the first time I premier an official Music Video here on block chain at the same time I do in all my networks. It's a celebration of Summer, love and life!

Here you can also click to watch it on youtube as well:

Līgo (later Jāņi) is a solar Goddess, fertility and Health. Even if in the song translation it says "Goddes of Darkness and Mist" which was the first thing that drew me to this song as I myself had made a song called "In the Mist". She is derived from the Roman Rosmenta (The Great Provider) and Baltic Goddess Saule.
Līgo is one of the main festivities and women pick flowers and birch branches and make flower garlands to wear in their heads and also bathe like nymphs in ponds and rivers. Men also wear wreaths made of Oak leaves. People celebrate around born fires and it's tradition to stay up all night until dawn. I hope to visit Latvia one day to see, enjoy and experience this tradition. It was my Latvian friend @lindahas who told me about it and encouraged me to do this song. Celebrations with marked pagan roots, and the little pleasures of the rural life by the countryside.
So Linda, thanks very much for introducing me to the music of your country, and this is kind of a belated gift for your Name Day that I know was a few days ago.

Ligo latvian song - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Also in the song another deity Māra is mentioned who is the highest-ranking goddess in Latvian mythology, Mother Earth and "provider of bread". . She is also a protector of women and children related with many ancient folk traditions relating to renewal and fertility.

priscilla Hernandez sunflowers - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-5.jpg

Filming the video. A celebration of Nature and Summer

As usual I had the help of my partner @hedac to film, though this time the entire edit is mine and I'm quite proud of the learning process and encouraged to do more of these. Most of the video has been filmed late Spring and this Summer as my surrounding fields have gone from green to golden to celebrate both Summer Solstice and Lammas (Harvest). Locations included the abandoned village of Guendulain that is surrounded by fields and a lovely pond, but also other locations in Navarre and Aragon.
My garland was a birthday gift from my friend and fellow illustrator Lisselotte Eriksson.

We had several animal guests :)

Guest starlet Pikku aka "Cookie Monster" the Duck

zizur - by Héctor Corcín.jpg

There is a little pond in Guendulain (a deserted village in Navarre, Spain) right in Saint James Way we often visit. And there we usually find a fellow duck very fond of cookies. As we have met several times and it grew confident to approach to us (and/or our cookies) we named (him/her) Pikku (Duck in Finn) and filmed several scenes featuring it. This talented bird actor was well paid in treats ;-). The video include also some companions and even baby ducklings (aww factor).

()

Other guest animals

There was a corn burnting bird on a blackberry bush for over a month... every day on our morning stroll it would greet us. It appears (and also its chick) at several spots of the video. I grew used to see it perched on the same branch always and I'm happy I've captured that memory in the video as well. I will miss you "Pichuichui" until next year where another corn burning bird goes to that branch... or is it you? like the year before? I fancy to think it's you, the one and only. Thanks for making an appearance in this project too.

 - by Hector Corcin.jpg

Another special moment that appears in the video was a little deer that approached to me :). Oh it was totally a Disney Princess moment (sorry for my hyper of awwws here)

Priscilla Hernandez and fawn - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Another location included a field of wild Allium in the woods. This is one picture taking "Behind the Scenes"

ligo latvian - by Héctor Corcín.jpg

Special thanks and dedicatory

Dedicated to my friend @lindahas who encouraged me to learn a song in her Latvian native language. Thanks very much for introducing me to the lovely traditional music of your country and for recording a spoken version for me to try my best. I a aware my pronunciation is not perfectbut it was done with utter respect. And I have the feeling it won't be the last Latvian traditional I will sing because you know I'm already in love with another.

Lammas: Celebration of the Harvest

wheat - by Hector Corcin.jpg

It is a period that starts the first of August until the 1st of September in many European countries.
This holiday can be celebrated either as a way to [honor the god Lugh, or as a celebration of the first wheat harvest. t is

Līgo ( A Latvian traditional song)

 - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Lyrics

Latvian (Original)

Līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Tumsas māte, miglas māte līgo, līgo,
Aiz ezera velējāsi līgo.
Dun bauzīte, čukst vālīte līgo, līgo,
Ievelk mani niedrājāi līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Viegli gāju pār ūdeni līgo, līgo,
Kā spārnota gaigaliņa līgo.
Zelta niedri zinādama līgo, līgo,
Viņā krasta galiņāi līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Nu atbridu, nu atradu līgo, līgo,
Zeltniedrīti nolūzušu līgo.
Jaunu meitu vainadziņi līgo, līgo,
Dučiem vīta krastmalāi līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Tumsas māte, miglas māte līgo, līgo,
Pacel savu villainīti, līgo.
Lai redzēja mīļā Māra līgo, līgo,
Kā niedrīti dziedināti, līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Līgo

English (Translation)

līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Goddess of darkness, goddess of fog līgo, līgo,
Was being purified on the other side of the lake līgo.
Reeds are thundering, flowers with long stalks whispering līgo, līgo,
Their voices tempt me into the shrubs and reeds by the lake līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Lightly I walked over the water of the lake līgo, līgo,
Like a light-winged bird līgo.
I knew a golden reed līgo, līgo,
To be on their side of the lake līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
I shakily reached my destination and found līgo, līgo,
Finding my broken golden reed līgo.
With dozens of young girls wreaths līgo, līgo,
The lakeside was scattered (with them) līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Goddess of darkness, goddess of fog līgo, līgo,
Raise your woolen cape, līgo.
So that dear Māra līgo, līgo,
Knows how to heal my reed līgo.
līgo, līgo, lī
līgo, līgo, līgo
Līgo


Videoclip making of  - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

If you like my videos please consider to subscribe to my d-tube and youtube channels


Credits

All photos and video filmed by me and @hedac

Music (Traditional, Latvian Folk song)
Arrangements by Priscilla Hernandez
Voice and backing vocals, Harp, Latvian Kokle, recorder, piano, chalumeau, small percussions by Priscilla Hernandez
Frame Drum performed by Héctor Corcín @hedac
A Kokle is a Latvian plucked string instrument belonging to the Baltic psaltery, also known as kantele (Finland), Gusli (Russia) or Kankle (Lithuania). I play one during the video.

kantele.jpg

--

You can support getting this song from my site or bandcamp

https://priscillahernandez.bandcamp.com/track/l-go-latvian-folk-song

My network

http://yidneth.com
http://youtube.com/yidneth
http://instagram.com/yidneth
http://facebook.com/yidneth
http://twitter.com/yidneth


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I’m a bit lost for words... which let’s be honest, is unusual for me. You bring so much talent and value to this platform in so many ways. This is just stunning.

@Ned, this is what your trending page should look like. When you get serious about wanting to bring in new readers and investors.. let me know.

Justine, thanks so much for your words, they mean so much to me... I kind of felt unsure, I don't know why. And well there you see my surrounding locations if you ever want to come to visit... with cake, cookies (or Tiramisu to lure Pechi to come). Thanks always for your kind and constant support as a fellow Steemian friend, and for providing yourself my dose of beauty to keep me reading myself the platform (aka I love your feed but you know that) :)

Oh my dear friend, your talent is out of this world and you don’t even know it. Your huge heart can be seen by all, you are one in a million girl! Take that to heart and believe it.. you are special.

Annnnnddd I’m always in for cake and cookies, let’s do it! ❤️

And you and everyone made me teary eyed again :). Catching up today, as I told you somewhere else, yesterday I got literally lost in the woods :) trying to send the love back to you all. Thanks so much.

This is one of the most beautiful expressions of music and nature imaginable. I feel immersed and one with the universe now. A thousand thank you's for this gift you shared. You're so beautiful I want to marry you right now.

Awww blush thank you so much Luzcypher and also to my @openmic family for the encouragement and support. So many signs of love I woke up with. I have been fighting my not video editing friendly computer but it was worth and I am overwhelmed and grateful with all the love and will try to address everyone with thanks. I have shared other videos one, Grow, I mentioned I would like to share with you because I think it connects with one of your songs so I may dare share with you if you do not mind.
Dunno what else to say
I feel encouraged and loved and wanting to share more including open mic. ♥️♥️♥️ Thank you 🐀

"I kind of felt unsure" <--- always so humble @yidneth... once again, beautifully performed, magically orchestrated, and the imagery swiftly takes you away to a lovely dreamy place where one can float away on a bed of clouds! 😊

Aww Alex thanks always for your constant support since day zero, and you always have the sweetest reviews your comment is so pretty that I am going to dare ask you to post it on youtube? Linda commented on ig ♥️ so hopefully make her feel special and well, see all this little army of love. Dtube has not upvoted, at least yet, still you all sent me briefly to trend. The community. Thanks ♥️♥️♥️

well, it seems dtube really missed the curation boat on this one, given all the whales you managed to attract this time around! lol

... and on a sidenote, I also commented on your youtube channel as well! 😁

@dtube finally showed up to the party :) Now where is @ned ?!? :)

Let me know when the echo bounces back.

Well, I didn’t expect him to see it.. but hey.. had to try 🤷‍♀️

Maybe he just needs someone to offer to help haha

Haha so far aiming for dtube to see it... But honestly happy and encouraged and the cuddly warm feeling of so much love, the effort of many small and manual curations and the people. Thank you all

Haha so far hope dtube sees it... Ned is aiming too high. Still I woke up to all this overwhelming love, even brief trending, on the merit of you all, the community. I have hurting cheeks.

Well I got kind of a little miracle anyway, thanks to you all.

It would certainly be awesome if @ned would occasionally use his stake to upvote AMAZING content like this, but shoot - we should be calling out @dtube here as well. If the @dtube curation effort can't figure it out to upvote this they should just quit already. Come on @dtube!

So true! I just assumed they would be by shortly.. shocked they didn’t...

I'm totally blown away by this amazing piece of art and would upvote it 1000 times if I could. Resteemed on my account and Open Mic. Stunningly beautiful. Truly stunning.

Aww thank you so much. I think I replied other comment up there. I feel overwhelmed and happy bybeveryones support and those best wishes back to you and all my open mic family.

Aww Carl thanks, Llfarms maybe triggered something there... Well so far no @dtube, I confess that doing the post so well and organically just thanks to the community should give them a clue to support back. I think they already take part of the post wether they do or not. I still trust they might more even with all the lovely shout outs it is having from friends. But I learned once it is bettee not to expect and just be grateful if things happen. See all the little curation teams together manually... All the lovely comments. It means a lot to me. I saw curie gave me a small vote even if I was not eligible due to payout, that small curie has been the biggest to me. We all fear to echo on silent halls when we go through the "long way" yet I have felt seen, and cuddled. And it is Sunday so I will be replying all as my vp allows but today is Nature day, out we go!!!
Thank you, Carl.

Yeah come on @dtube. How many times do we need to tag @dtube for the @dtube curation effort to drop a 100% @dtube vote on this wonderful @dtube video. Come on guys, use your delegation as it was intended.

Carl, I was lost in the woods yesterday (literally) butvstumbling upon your many efforts and shoutouts to help me. Thanks so much. Writing proper thanks to you and all later. 🐀🐀🐀🐀🐀

I totally agree with you there and somehow sounds funny in a GOOD way! :D and Oh my god! @yidneth This is a real deal!!!! You put sooooo much into it and I love the nature and how beautiful the scenes are! One of the best! on Steem blockchain for sure!!!!!

Thanks so much for the encouragement. Been around active since February and I do honestly try my best in my feed. To see the community coming up together to lift my spirits and confidence this way, thanks so much

@ned please see above comment and this post to shape the future of STEEM..

Can I just say how great it is to see so many curation efforts come together to make sure this amazing work is rewarded. It shows steemit isnt so broken after all, maybe it just needs alittle help, and coming together is the first step. ❤️

@ned hear what users of your platform has to say

I totally concur @llfarms
Incredible content that SHOULD be top of trending!
Unfortunately, Bidbots are ripe in the top flight!


Damn that's entrancing. Love it. Pretty impressive the wild deer coming up to you. Shows the harmony in your soul.

Actually there is a little trick for other deer (not this one) that appeared in grow and will appear in forthcoming video, I befriended a family of deer stag included bringing carrots twice a month, and they come to me like pets now. But this one was in another place and random deer, it was juvenile and actually I wasn't even feeding him there, so it was really sweet, kind of empathy!

Amazing Yid. Just so amazing. You put the bar so high for all of us. 🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌❤❤❤❤❤

Thank you Marica, it's my first upload to dtube in a while, I cannot get to play it from firefox, does it work for you? And well this is me, this Summer and the place I live in, :) I edited this one myself though @hedac was an attentive teacher

hmmm I'm thinking of plotting something... will tell you soon!

Ok, so if Curie doesn't show up here... i would be blown away...

this was just beautiful, actually the word beautiful falls short...

Stunning nature, stunning video.... loved it...

Dropped her a little curie direct follow love. That's all we can really give as the post went above the maximum pending payout :)

@markangeltrueman thanks heartily, because I have been working so hard in this one, I welcome the encouragement it means even if it's a symbolic one. It means a lot to me, thanks. I have grown this account organically I have never used a bot, I usually rely on random votes that curiously always come from different users... but the meaning of it really does encourage me. It tells me, means you see me and tell me you've made a bigger effort and encourages me to do more, plus I see fellow curators leaving their feedback which for me is the true reward. thanks to Curie team!

I used a bot once but I didn't inhale. I didn't like the way it made me feel and have never tried it again.

ninja points for you!

Curie is searching for new and/or undiscovered authors. As we all know Yidneth is great, but she is already discovered and earning well in her last 7 days (3 posts including this one) she has payout equal to two curie upvotes. :)
And I don't doubt she will be rewarded on this one too, and we (curie) rewarded her when she started and made path to her publicity here.

Cheers! :)

Curie is awesome and one of the reasons I stayed on Steemit when I first started. Love you guys.

@svemirac I was not really asking for it, though this is a new video and this is a two months effort post, so if ever needed encouragement on one, this is the one, the first in almost a year of the kind. I've been curied three times and already grateful. I never lose hope though as it's also stated that sometimes rules are overlooked when there is a significant breakthrough or advance, so I won't expect it but I don't lose hope of it either. Thanks and all the team, I know it goes anyway to needed places and I trust manual curation and everything you do. And Meno for the good wishes.

well you are here... your comment has value too... honestly more than upvotes... I want a standing ovation, this is just beautiful!

Thank you Meno so much. See my cookie monsters friends... Summer has not ended. Happy Lammas

Meno I left a little thank you helpie video on the discord :)

Such an enchanting and mystical music. You never disappoint @yidneth. Not only do you provide top notch vocals, you also add pictures and writing. Your beauty tops it all of course 😘

That's what quality posts should look like. I wish I could upvote you with more than 100% voting power.

Aye Aye, my Captain @drakos! Thanks always for stopping by and for the constant encouraging you provide... believe me it's not unnoticed and It's very appreciated. I try my best and well that's my region This late Spring and Summer so far :) because Summer has not ended and we are still "harvesting" the seeds we planted.
Thanks always for the support
your ratty steemian fellow friend! :)

As a latvian I'm surprised by your work here.
You must be in Latvia at Līgo celebration. It's totally worth it- songs,dance, Līgo cumin cheese, and a lot of beer :)

But about this song- You nailed it. Top noch!!!! Thank you so much, if more people would be like you.
Greetings from Riga :)

Yay, the third Latvian fellow that joins me here :) Can I make a question?
Can you understand me? It was done with lots of respect but I speak no Latvian, I am in fact from Spain, so I hope I do not have the funniest accent, so I was a bit concerned about that. Well the thing is that as a tradition I've been wearing garlands and bathing in rivers in Summer Solstice XD but your country were celebrating this all time alone :). I play the kantele/kokle and well my original music is more film-music fantasy, but I do enjoy traditional music if it has that "fantasy" nostalgic element to it. I befriended a Latvian friend @lindahas and she encouraged me, so I took it as a challenge and well, for all my friends and followers it was unexpected too XD. And yes it's now in my bucket list to do things in life... Celebrate Līgo

Greetings back from Spain, where this was filmed, though I tried to look locations that I thought looked like rural Europe, something I think the celebration has in common. In fact I'm now inclined to make a little version of another Latvian traditional but I can't make the words out clearly yet. I found a version but no lyrics online yet, but well there might be another ;-)

Answer to your question- Yes of course I can understand you very well.

There is a thing- In Latvia living loads of people who can't say a single word in Latvian language, and those people living here already for many years...this makes me respect your work even more, cause I think our language is not the easy to pronounce. I guess it's all about practice. :)

And I thought that video is filmed here in Latvia, that was dope!!! For sure looking forward to see more of your masterpieces.

This was so beautiful - entrancing. Your work is always such amazing quality!!! It looks like something i would see on TV! :) I am so glad to always see you thriving here :)

Your music is so calming and beautiful <3 I love that you take the time to film all the little insects and everything.... that is so time-consuming! You can see how seriously you take your work! Every little bit is perfect!! :)

Wonderful job and congratulations on your huge success on this post, my friend! :)

This video is fantastic! The singing, the video editing, all blends together seamlessly with the rhythms.

I also like the glowing sunflower.

Thank you, plus as you can see all the animal friends were well paid in cookies :) thanks for your support always!

it is a lovely video indeed :) Will you be celebrating lammas ?The whole town is empty what is the story ? BTW your video missed one protagonist ...

vulture.gif

Oh but for me it has many protagonists, all my animal friends, it's a celebration of the Sun and how we must be grateful for what Nature provides to us, to me and to the smallest ones too. And i'm sure the vulture is in the sky but unseen from the plane of the movie, it's there, sure!
But most of all it's a tribute to my steemian friend @lindahas who encouraged me to sing in Latvian when I have no idea hahah XD

Lol i meant one protagonist was missing this one > vulture.gif

It's hovering in the sky, didn't you see it?

Yes just reread it lol old woman just woke up lol ....<3

p.s what did your latvian friend say did you do it justice :) and who knows if reincarnation really is a thing you might have lived there once :)

I think she hasn't still listened to it quite yet... she is @lindahas here on steemit absolutely adorable girl!

I'm biting my nails, this is when she comes and say... Pris what are you saying I don't understand hahaha!

LOL thats when you change latvian to was speaking in tongues ;)

hahah I hope I've done fine. It's done with love and I really fell in love with the song... in fact I may give a try to another latvian traditional about the sea... like I fell in love with some of the songs, and this is not for my album or anything, just for fun... loosing knots...
took long, been trying to get things finished and actually her name day was a few days ago and I'm a bit belated!

she told me over instagram and also another fellow latvian friend here told me they can understand me weee!

Ow dear @yidneth what have you done again this time that is even more fantastic that the last ones. This payout it totally how it should be because you deserve all the recognition in the world! <3

The fact that it is entirely organic and itbis the community who came together to make it trend. I have no words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97