Tribute cover to my favourite band: TEARS FOR FEARS (Swords and Knives)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This is a fan-tribute to my favourite band TEARS FOR FEARS (http://tearsforfears.com), a very simple cover of their song "Swords and Knives" (just me and a pad, lead and keyboard recorded LIVE and subtle harmonies added afterwards also in one take) of Swords and Knives, song included in their album "The Seeds of Love" (still one of my all time favourites). I will be always grateful to this band as a major influence to become a musician myself.

Fooled by now we mystify the past...
like a dream, like it never happened

This quote from the lyrics haunted me for years and that was the reason I picked this one that maybe is not as popular as other greatest hits from this band like Shout or Everybody wants to rule the world.

One of my major influences

Although I am usually compared (for obvious reasons) to female vocalists, the truth is that I always list them as one of my major influences as I learnt to sing listening to their albums. they always hold a special place in my "inspirational sources". In both of my albums some "Tears for Fears" references appear, as entitling one of my songs "In my minds eye" or starting another with "memories fade" small hints and clues pointing to one of my most beloved bands and songwriters. Thank you. With honour and gratitude. And if you like this song, please check the original, mine is a more ethereal humble haunting approach. I had previously covered "Mad World" It´s not at the moment in the channel, but thinking about re-sharing, Tears for Fears is a band I always return to.

Playing ghostly shades with a sheet and shadowsplay

ghost shadow - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-3.jpg

I gave the song a ghostly ethereal vibe, the lyrics are very ambiguous and mysterious... and I will admit it was an idea on the go that I kind of plot for another forthcoming videoclip (with more preparation). So we just used an old sheet and a spotlight and filmed me on a second take doing the subtle whispers. The I inverted the colours and turned them into red, kind of almost inside a womb feeling. I wanted to interact more with me, but that idea is already there for a future vide. As an experiment it did the work :) and we learned from it. @hedac as always helped me to edit the shadow in though it's very simple, nothing but a quick mask.

ghostlyshadow.jpg

Lyrics

A waking world of innocence
So grave those first born cries
When life begins with needles and pins
It ends with Swords and Knives
Oh dangerman, oh dangerman
Your blade fits like a glove
When forged in steel
Time cannot heal
That blood red bond of love

Turn the tables, we'll burn the fables
Lies beneath the visions and daydreams
Fooled by now, we mystify the past
Like a dream, like it never happened

I had previously made a cover of Mad world

I had shared previously my cover of Mad Word... and I was thrilled to have Curt Smith, original singer of the band retweet my version... Still both are just my humble tribute to my favourite band, they really made me want to become a musician. I hope to be able to meet them one day.


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

Beautiful! Tears for Fears is an awesome band, although I mainly know Shout and Mad World. Can't wait to hear your version of the latter.

P.S. I love the visuals that you add to your video. Do you make them yourself and are you doing the editing too?

I actually edited the post and added a few hints of how it was made. My partner @hedac helped me to merge both, but it was super simple and hopefully slightly uneasy. We have much more serious videoclips on our youtube channel but these covers are spontaneous tributes and tend to be simple.
If you like Mad World I also gave it a try (one girl band style, celtic twist at the end)

This gave me Goosebumps! :>)

Have you ever seen Donnie Darko? I remember hearing of this song on the soundtrack of that film, back in 2001 or 2002. It was a cover by Gary Jules.

You are definitely multi-talented and it must be nice to have a partner who supports and complements - hopefully also compliments ;>) - you in your creativity

P.S. I apologize for the extremely late reply. I just moved house and forgot to get back to you.

oh my, don't worry about replying late, I do that myself all the time, this week in particular was super hectic for me as I had some friends visiting and a little concert in the woods yesterday. Yes I saw the movie, cult classic and so weird. I love Gary Jules version but it became so popular than many thing Mad world is by Gary and don't recall Tears for Fears at all which I think is unfair. My version of Mad World stands some place between the two, nor electrop nor moody, just weird in the middle hahaha :) Thanks for the compliment

Yeah, I get that feeling. I also have difficulty with people liking a remake ( of a movie ) or a cover of a song - especially when it lacks creativity - more than the original. I think Gary Jules' wasn't a bad one though. It's nice though to get to know something older ( and better ) by learning about a newer version.

It's not a bad thing to be in the middle between those two versions of Mad World.

Have a nice day!

When I think back at Tears for Fears first thing in my mind is "Shout", followed immediately by the movie "The Breakfast Club"... Strange, because I don't even think that song is in that film.. This song I didn't know, but I love your cover :-)

Ah, I remember; it was The Simple Minds in that movie! Love them too...

Dont you forget about me... Dont dont dont....🎵🎶🎵🎵

ah i recall this song! most peeps dont remember tears4fears. always i loved them, and saw roland orzabel in concert a few times. i just looked and see they are touring again..

Lucky you, the only time they came to Spain and I was to see them (Night of the Proms concert) I got a performance the same day in Barcelona so it was impossible. I admire Roland a lot and it's one of my biggest vocal influences. In fact I love them both, we´ve exchanged a few tweets, and his brother is also very open with the fans. Curt is also very kind and retweeted my version of mad world and My point being ( a song of his), these are done with admiration as statement of their influence in my own work, though I made this version in my style and not theirs and it's meant to sound different.

Oh I love tears for fears. This is amazing, so hauntingly beautiful. It's like a performance from the world of Faery.

I made a cover of Mad World too, the link is at the end, but I always liked this less known strange song, and felt a bit experimental that day.

Do you know Susanne Sundfor?

I have no idea why it reminds me of your style because she is nordic, and if I remember you live in the Canari Island ( or am I tripping?), but I think here style would fit for you, because of the ethereal and dreamlike atmosphere of her voice and the scale.

Anyway great cover I am not at all familiar with the original

I was born in the Canary Islands, moved to Spain mainland in my 20s and lived in Barcelona a while but live now in the green mossy North of Spain (Navarre). Thanks for the compliment, and recommendation,sounds great
Pd. Original swords and knives is rock lol

"Pd. Original swords and knives is rock lol" Oh yeah my wife knew the original so I went to check, I love the way you made it your own, that's for me as powerful as your own work

Beautiful!

Thank you, in this case song is nit mine but my favourite band, though original is very different

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yidneth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Is a beautiful my friend s

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @yidneth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is so beautiful!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44