Haunted: My song about a Haunted house. Music video Samhain/Halloween premiere and photoshoot.

in #music5 years ago (edited)


You know that there are places you’d better not roam alone in. You can feel that weird sensation that alerts you. What if the ghost in a haunted place is the place itself? Cross the fence and enter into the desolate feelings of an abandoned house. Places are not haunted by ghosts but by desolation.

I have not been much around these last few weeks because I was working on this music video. It took a lot of work and I battled with my old computer, but finally it is here, and right for Samhain/Halloween, though It stays as an official video for my original song Haunted remixed with new cello, vocals, and instruments and with a video filmed throughout this year.

Haunted is in fact one of my favourite songs of mine, but with its weird chord progressions and dark tone it was never one of my popular ones... still it's often on my performing set lists because It is one of the poems I'm more proud of and the whole theme works as a metaphor of desolation and abandonment. It's the house itself singing, not a ghost. Yidneth the female character of my story that usually appears in the different CDs sometimes dreams she is a ghost... and she wanders surrounded by moths... She is sometimes afraid to fall sleep and become a ghost.

The vocals have several layers, one is my pure voice untreated, the other two me singing with vocal fry as a creaking door and another layer whispering, so it feels I'm dubbing over the abode's voice.

The House would work itself as a big "Underliving" something living but not alive. This term and concept gave name to my second album theunderliving.com and keeps on being recurrent throughout my entire works.

This is a new videoclip for my song Haunted, the original version was released in Ancient Shadows (2006) but this is a new video and version was recorded this year (2018) and features a longer cello line and many more backing vocals as well as a a new videoclip filmed on an abandoned Palace on top of a Hill, an abandoned village and other locations. I premier it as fitting for Samhain as the veil is thin but remains as an official music video for the song. This new version slightly different than the one that was officially published will be listed free for patrons at patreon.com/yidneth and also here on Dsound in forthcoming for my Steemit followers. Here so far the music video.

Haunted (Lyrics / Poem)

Priscilla Hernandez Haunted - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-2.jpg

My crumbling walls groan and complain
the ivory gleam is now turned to grey
no steps on my dusty floors
No one sleeps in the musty bed
I feel alone and desolate
Deprived of the splendour of the elder days
my baleful halls... an ode to decay
the piano still plays itself
that off-key melody
that makes the shadows dance and boil
in that frantic ball
Shelter of the nameless gods and ghostly shades
the wild moan of wind warns I shall not be dwelt in…
…in the starless... dismal nights...
... I am... haunted
The garden grows wild
the ivy crawled and hid all the gates
and pallid blooms of rancid scent
took place when roses withered away
The abyss of nightmare lurks in each hole
and things unseen behind every door
but I cannot help but miss
the laughter of children
oh come again... cross the fence... to play with me
(Hide and seek)
All the yearning sins and secrets I may keep
still invoke and build that hideous fantasy
ah everyone knows... I am... haunted
And centuries run...
this rotten core will never fall down
laid my foundations deep in the ground
Defiant and silent I shall await....
while everyone says...
I am... haunted

Locations: Aizkolegi Palace, Tiermas and Ordesa

Priscilla Hernandez Haunted - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-6.jpg

Aizkolegi Palace stands on top of a hill, 842 meters high surrounded by lush and dark woods with gnarled trees. It was built over a century ago by Pedro Ciga, last owner of "El Señorío de Bertiz", the natural Park where it stands now abandoned.

Priscilla Hernandez Haunted - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

It was built as a second house uphill with amazing views of the surrounding valleys covered in beechwoods. On a clear day you are able to see the sea afar. Pedro installed a telescope on it to "observe and admire the wonders of Nature" but now it's closed and in ruins.

In his testament it was told it had to be preserved "its way" yet now inhabited, the windows and doors have been closed with planks and only some open windows upstairs offer an uneasy ominous black glimpse of its core. I wonder what's inside but I can only imagine it. There are several signals that warns of the dangers as the abode has been left to the elements and slowly breaking apart for a long time. Yet still stands, decaying and haunted by its own solitude. Thus it was perfect to portray my little story. The song had already been released on my first album Ancient Shadows, but being one of my favourites I couldn't help but film a new video and re-record voices, choirs and more instruments in this brand new updated version. The music video was filmed earlier this year before Spring opened its new leaves.

haunted.jpg

The house must be indeed HAUNTED because we got lost on our way downhill for several miles, had to go uphill again back to it to find our way through the dark woods... very ominous

Additional sequences were filmed a month ago in Tiermas Village, an abandoned town in Tiermas. The scenes at the waterfalls belong to the the Natural Park of Ordesa, the waterfall "Las Gradas" resembles somehow a construction, and the flow of water somehow represents the flow of time.

Haunted Ordesa Ghost  - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Of course yet again my obsession for moths... I never miss the chance to film one when the visit me...

moth - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

And its obsession for a flame... like a ghost to the living... like an empty house for inhabitants

Priscilla_hernandez_haunted.jpg

And thus there are moths in this video as there are usually in my drawings and the imagery since Ancient Shadows (my first album) where this song was first included in an older version. Moths and the ghost will reappear again in my third and forthcoming album Fear no More and I took the chance to re-made Haunted to rescue many of the elements that will be recurrent.

Credits

Music and lyrics by Priscilla Hernandez @yidneth
All arrangements, piano, synth, lead and backing vocals by Priscilla Hernandez @yidneth
Cello by Francina Turon and Biel Fiol

Video edit by Priscilla Hernandez
Camera work by @hedac
Special thanks to my friend Naliam who filmed an additional footage of me in Tiermas.

ghostlyshadow.jpg

The piano plays itself that off key melody that makes the shadows dance and boil in a franctic ball

haunted_PriscillaHernandez.jpg

My social network / Mis redes sociales

Official site

http://yidneth.com

Networks

See you at STEEMFEST 3 where I will perform:

I will be performing (along with @hedac) Friday Night along with some other artists in A Night of Steem. As performance will be based on keyboard/piano you can actually request this song. I'll share stage with @Katrina-ariel @Steembirds @Edpriva @Greencross. Do not miss also my friend guitar player @camuel who will be doing one of the conferences.

Read more on @roelandp post here:

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@roelandp/steemfest-updates-a-night-of-steem-line-up-documenting-steemfest-2018-and-new-names


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am very proud of you. :) You did a great work with the video edit and re-recording the vocals and remixing the song. Adding the new cello and adding new piano and more. The location was really haunted and remember we got lost in the middle of the haunted forest at night when returning from filming. Now you should make the making of... lol. I love going on adventures to film with you :*******

for sure it was Haunted, you rarely get lost!

Made you something >

Yidneth .jpg

Aww thank you sweetie :)
There is a section in my website (even if I have to update it) where people send their art inspired by my work or fanart or experiments (some from fellow artists too) https://priscillahernandez.com/photos/fanpictures You can upload it yourself there :)

Hi yidneth,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much! This one simmered slowly, thanks for the recognition

Pris!!!!! It's amaaaaazing! You are so spooky! That house is spectacular and the steep hill there next to it is eerie. My favorite part melodically is right at the 3:00 mark, just brilliant. I am always so amazed by your talent. The moths are beautiful as well, so neat that you held them. I could go on and no, there's nothing I didn't like about it. Love your beautiful dress as well, and of course, you are as haunting as always. Much love and adoration. All the time you spent paid off!! Cheers! ♥♥♥♥♥-Serena

Awww thanks so much, there is an easter egg in one frame of the video noone has discovered yet ;_)
aww thanks so much for watching it and for your lovely encouraging comment :) the dress is actually my Nighgown (for real, It was made by Kelly, my friend to have something magical to sleep on) and now it's kind of tattered and old so it fits :)
Thanks also for the compliments... learning :) next one hopefully easier for me... I take loooooooooooong on these.

This is amazing! I had a thought of you making a tarot deck, you look like the Empress card and the flowing water of all life, which you are!

I kind of chose the waterfall as a representation of flowing time though it's in reverse... kind of trippy :) thanks so much for watching the video kimmy, do you remember this one, cos you saw it live!

Wow that was amazing! Really in perfect time for Halloween too!
Cheers!!!

Hey thanks, solg is old but this version and video are from this year and premiered on Halloween as suitable date. Always liked that one connect better with my eerie ones. Thanks for watching. See you soon 🎶🎶🎶🎶

I think Priscilla, you are a fae of some sort, a gorgeously multi-talented spirit whose soul is so radiant and so beautiful that I just have to be thankful that you have shared some of your gifts and talents with us <3

Beautiful post, @yidneth ! Absolutely magical <3

Awww thanks so much, more a fairy godmother already, but really honoured of your compliment, I try that the best of me at least seep through my work, of course the whole is not perfect as noone is :) Thanks so much for the encouragement always!

Howdy from Texas yidneth! wow this is a combination of a beautiful song and melody with a chilling setting that is creepy! lol. That house you used is perfect and the entire video is top notch!
I'd love to be able to restore a place like that, did you go inside?

Sadly it is myterious vecause it stands on top of a hill in a Manor that now is protected natural park, nothing around but a long steep uphill hike, owner gave the land to give protected as natural reserve and thus after the forties not allowed to do actions or sell it or whatever that could alter. It was not safe to go in so the put planks on windows and doors except if that ominous top black window. Other walls are in Tiermas another abandoned village but most if the video is just around the house.

howdy again yidneth! how interesting..but sad like you said. but it does make a great background for that video!

Thank you, indeed it was, and actually inhabited for a loooong time, poor Manor

Delightful!
Both voice and video - everything creates a certain atmosphere!

Thank you for finding your way to give a listen and leave encouragement!

This is stunning Pris ❤️ Absolutely stunning..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22