You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Classical Musical Exploration: The Alternative Tuning and Just Intonation of Ben Johnston

in #music7 years ago

I'll look forward to hearing your compositions!

I'm still wrapping my head around the maths involved in music, but what I'm finding is that the 12-tone system seems to be a necessary compromise that allows for key changes, and for singers and instruments to play together. It's starting to feel a bit like Godel's incompleteness theorem! But you're right, voice and strings allow us to approach "pure harmony" in a way that keyboards and fretted instruments never do.

Sort:  

You may love this one. It is amazingly crazy..
It makes me want to retune my harpsicord and try to play some Bach.
It is great until there is a modulation. Like you said...


Happy Holidays.

Thanks, @energikar. Just looking at that guitar makes my eyes hurt but the sound really is lovely.

Happy holidays to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51