Musical Mood Of The Day: Creedence Clearwater Revival

in #music6 years ago

Good afternoon! In today's musical mood of the day I'll be discussing about the classic rock/roots rock band Creedence Clearwater Revival. Often abbreviated to CCR, the band gained both critical acclaim and commercial success throughout the late 1960s and early 1970s, firmly establishing themselves in the process as one of the cult groups of the rock music.


The band in 1968. From left to right: Tom Fogerty, Doug Clifford, Stu Cook, and John Fogerty. Image source: Commons Wikimedia (under CC0 license, therefore available in the public domain)

Their instrumental sound was marked by an eclectic style encompassing roots rock, swamp rock, and blues rock influences, while the lyrics sung by John Fogerty had a strong southern American mark. One of the musical acts that is now credited with actively contributing to the American counterculture of the late 1960s (together with the likes of The Doors, Janis Joplin, or Bob Dylan for example), Creedence Clearwater Revival had released a number of 7 studio albums, the vast majority of which charted very high in both the United States and overseas.

Additionally, some of their most successful songs also made it to the soundtrack of several popular culture films such as 'The Big Lebowski' or 'Forrest Gump'.

Below you can listen to a compilation of some of their most fine compositions. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Fantastic band done many great tracks, thanks mike

This music video just awesome .
I really like it .

Good job , carry on .

Thanks for sharing @vikthor
Upvote you .

I loved CCR and had their albums (yes albums) back in the late 60's and 70's. One thing to point out is that many people mistakenly credit Tina (and Ike) Turner with the song "Proud Mary". because it is Tina Turner's signature song. And she does an absolutely fantastic performance. However, it was written by John Fogerty and performed by CCR. Reached #2 on the charts.
A great song performed by many people.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

First I see @neds short call out to the Grateful Dead, and then I see your post, looks like it is going to be a musical sunday for me. Nice selection to profile, thanks.

You're welcome!

I like CCR! Did you know they started out as a Garage Rock band called The Golliwogs? I will write an article on them soon. Thanks for reminding me about this awesome 60s and 70s band which will inspire me to write my own article about them!

I hope you don't mind, but I think I'll drop a link to the post I just did in Reply to this excellent article on Creedence Celarwater Revival, covering 2 songs they did when they were called The Golliwogs! People who like CCR might want to check these songs out.

https://steemit.com/music/@garagebill/garage-rock-before-they-were-creedence-clearwater-revival

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74