The Biggest festival of Holland "De Zwarte cross" Part two

in #music6 years ago

20150725_141236.jpg
My sons with their 'just bought' Zwarte Cross shirt (2015)

Yesterday I wrote my first post about "De Zwarte cross" inpsired by the post of @broncnutz , if you didn't read it already you can find it here.

20160723_145142.jpg
My kid's enjoying a Zwarte Cross original carousel

As I finished yesterday with the different motorclasses they have during the weekend, I didn't mention it earlier but the whole event is from thursday untill sunday evening. Anybody who want's to participate in the cross can join. You do have to let your vehicle be checked by the officials before you may enter the track. Just precautions and rules to avoid risk and danger. And although it seems like a loose cross, the rules are strict.

line.jpg

Themes


Every year the festival has a theme with a 'statement' from the organisation. Often it is social of nature from which they would like to remind people of the good things in life because there is already so much wierd stuff in the world.

  • Love, peace and harmony
    A theme where they ask attention for just respect eachother for who you are..
  • Zwarte Cross, ook veur blanken
    This was my favorite. Zwart means black in Dutch. And the year of this theme there was a lot of problems in the Netherlands around racism. Some extreme political parties where discrimination a lot of people. So the theme was "Black Cross, also for white people" ... I don't think the cynism joke plays well in englisch langauge, but it was a great statement that all people are equal and the same..no matter where you are comming from...
  • 'Vaak bun je te bang"
    This means "Often people are to scared. They are referring to the behaviour of people in general. Everbody stay's in their trusted surroundings whithout daring to take a risk or getting out of their comfortzone...

There are (of course) many more, but I think you get the point.

Nozem oil


I think this festival is one of the few (if not the only one) with it's own shot (drink). It's called Nozem Oil which means something like "Lad Oil". The package is completely in style of motocross, in an oil can.


Source

Everytime we are at De Zwarte Cross, we at least have a few Nozem Oil's.


Me (right), my brother (left) and my best friend Ronnie at the Cross in 2016 (aren't we sexy lol...

My own Zwarte Cross Experience


When I played in the band DOGZ, years ago. We got an invitation of the Zwarte Cross to play in one of the tents. We were thrilled and of course a big honour because at that time the festival was already growing rappidly. (Dogz played kind of the same genre as Jovink and the Voederbietels and our Drummer knew the guy's). So of course we said yes...but soon I noticed that it was in my summer holiday period, while I was in Antibes, France.... So at first our drummer said that he would arrange a stand-in, but of course I didn't want that because this was a once in a lifetime oppertunity. As a band we were a foundation which means that you cant make profit with performing but you can pay for expenses. So I bought me a plane ticket from Nice to Amsterdam and vice versa to play at the zwarte cross. I felt like a real rockstar lol... I arrived at Amsterdam Airport, my neighbour picked me up. He drove me to the festival where the band brought me my gear. We played a gig of 45 minutes, which was great, and after that it was beer time, if there is on gig where things as food, drinks and comfort etc was very well arranged, it has to be de Zwarte cross.. I even had a Bass-technician lik... And I flew back to my wife in Nice the next day.... It was indeed a once in a lifetime experience.. I did looked for some picture's but haven't found them. So when I do, I will post them of course..

Stunts


Every year the have special stunt which will be performed. And a few are already in the guiness book of world records..

In 2009 a motorcrosser jumped of a ramp of 70 meters.. The bike was in 1000 pieces, the crosser was all right :)

Some great freestyle motocrossers

A motorcrosser jumps over the mainstage

Jovink giving a "open air"concert in hot-air balloons.

The globe of death, some crazyness

Every year they also have a stunt area on the terrain where all day stunts are showed to the audience, and of course everybody loves it...

Last not least, the music


Of course a festival is nothing without some good music. and you are at the right place at de zwarte cross. There are many stage area's with all kind's of music, so for everyone there is something to see or like..

In the past years great act's already have played on the festival. There are several stage's like a Reggae area, where you can chill and relax. A real 'gay bar' called "The closet" with dragqueens and great disco music. A country stage

The last few years the line up is more alternative and art-kinda. While in the beginning of the festival it was more rock oriented.
This year we are going on the friday only. Me and my son are big fans of Volbeat and they are closing the festival friday. So we are really looking forward to it. They've been there also in 2010.

DJ Don Diablo at the zwarte cross

Closure


I hope to have given you a bit of a inside on the zwarte cross. Besides it's the biggest festival in Holland (220.000 visitors each day). It's also the most relaxing. Never anything happens overthere and the organisation came from with passion insted of making money.. And that's something you see in everything on the festival. All the items, stages and stuff are so well thought... Just amazing.
It is something our region is very proud of... I'm looking forward to the 13th of july, time for the Zwarte Cross. :)

Have a great sunny day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

In 2009 a motorcrosser jumped of a ramp of 70 meters.. The bike was in 1000 pieces, the crosser was all right :)

I felt a little sorry for the bike, was it written off?

Yes,as far as I know it was already written of 😀

Wat een gafe blog. Hier zit alles in en ik was er een beetje bij zo ... tof!

Dank je wel :) hey, wat zie ik nieuwe foto ?

Yep soms moet je iets veranderen ... ik heb me ook aangemeld bij Discord

Kijk, beter !! :) Nou dat zie ik je wel op Discord :)

That's some festival... 😄 Maybe I get to experience it one day... ✌

If you get the chance, go for it !! it's awesome!!!

Very cool! Looks like it was a great time! Thanks for sharing. The oil themed beverage looks pretty crazy though. I think I'd be too afraid to drink a pint of motor oil.

Hahahah trust me, its delicous... you're on discord ? Can send you some :)

yeah, I am on discord. It is okay though :)

Your posts are really awesome

Hi Fellow Dutchie, like the work you put into the post, never been but maybe I should go one day, saw your posted because of the resteem of Qurator, decided to follow! keep up the hard work.

Ik blog over mijn Reizen, NBA Basketball en Amsterdam
Fijne dag

Ha @heyitshaas ,leuk en dank je wel !! Qurator doet zn werk dus :) leuk weer een Dutchy :) ik ga je blog bekijken. Fijne avond !!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Wow, it was cool! I visited motorcross competition once in our city, but it was just a motorcross and nothing more. But you guys have managed to make an amazing show from this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65