The best acoustic versions

in #music6 years ago


Source
Years ago it was a trend to play sets of music acoustic, you probably can remember the MTV Unplugged series which were very populair. My opinion is that not all songs lend themselves to be played acoustic, but there are some songs which (for me) were gold in their acoustic version. In this post I will point some out.
Line-Break.png

Alice in Chains - Rooster



Alice in Chains is one of those bands that got succesfull from the Seattle rush in music world. This is acousticly such a powerfull song. Layne Staley, the singer, has such a recognizable voice. unfortunately, he died in 2002 committing suicide. He was only 32 years old but already had a long trackrecord abusing drugs and alcohol..

Chris Cornell - Billie Jean



I heard this song bu Chris Cornell the first time on his studio album. Didn't really knew what to think of it.. But listening it some more and hearing a acoustic version I thought it was awesome. He brings such a different vibe to the song... He has a remarkable voice, but the arrangement of the songs makes it even more powerful.

Dave Grohl - My hereo



Although listening to this song it needs no explanation. As far as I am concerned Dave Grohl is born to sing with only his guitar... Every word in this song is meant...

Queensryche - Silent lucidity



The one and only voice of Queensryche. For me the most influential voice of hardrock in the 80's..

Stone Sour - Song #3



Corey Taylor is one of my heroes (and I've got a few lol). This Stone Sour songs is acoustic just as powerful as it is in studio version. The cordchanges are platinum.... It's just an amazing song....

Kiss - Rock and roll all nite



Not only acoustic but also without the painted faces :) .. even without the overdriven guitars... It's a real rock and roll song...

Joe Bonamassa - Slow Train



I have seen Joe Bonamassa two times live. With one concert he also started with a acoustic set.. I do think he has a little to much guitars on stage ;) But boy he is one musician....

What are your favorite acoustic songs?

Have a great sunny day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Great selection @verhp11!
Haven't listened to the Chris Cornell cover of "Billie Jean". Amazing cover!
I didn't remember about the Queensryche MTV Unplugged, I must take a look at the full concert, Geoff Tate is a great singer, it's a shame that Queensryche and Geoff Tate have too different bands playing the same songs.
"Rock And Roll All Nite" sounds good in every format, what a fckin' song!

Some of my favs:

Pearl Jam cover of Bob Dylan's "Masters Of War"

Tesla "Signs"

Stevie Ray Vaughan "Pride & Joy"

The Rolling Stones "Wild Horses"

Pink Floyd "Wish You Were Here"

Thank you very much, there are so many great songs. Among the others, Tesla is great. The album acoustical jam, i played for ages !

Id have to think abput that. Cobain doing Meat Puppets comes to mind but there are so many. I heard a gorgeous acpustic of Guns of Brixton, wish i cpuld find it.

There are so many great acoustics :) thanks !!

Was there a non acoustic version of Silent Lucidity? I am just curious because I really don't know. I think I have only ever heard the acoustic version. Sammy Hagar did a full album of acoustic versions that was really cool. You should check it out sometime.

Yes there was :)

Oh okay, my bad. I think I was just confused because there is so little instrumentation at the beginning of the song. Now that I hear this I see what you are saying :)

Hahah no worries

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thank you very much !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.86
ETH 2992.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69