Do you know the Chapman Stick?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

rose_SG12gpwp_whole.jpg

Years ago I visited a national bass day in Nijmegen, the Netherlands. There was this guy playing ( I thought) self made bass guitar ( we were at the Bass day, so it wasn't a strange thought was it?). But when we walked towards him we saw he was promoting 'The Chapman stick'..

The Chapman stick is a string instrument invented by Emmet. H Chapman. Like I said already I looks (from far) a bit like a guitar or bass guitar but in stead of strumming the strings you have to tap them. While on a guitar or bass the strings are going from low to high tones, with a Chapman stick the lower key's are starting from the middle. This way you can play quite melodic and basslines at the same time (with both hands). This gives a very special sound and a lot of possibilities playing.

There are 8, 10 of 12 string version of the Stick. Dreamtheater used one in their song 'The New Millenium'...

'The guy' at the bassday turned out to be Ron Baggerman, one of Holland's ambassadors of the Chapman Stick.





Have a great night !!!!


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


The are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for you Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! I'm playing it since some years :) it's a really fantastic instrument. Here is what I try to do with it

Nice meeting you !!! What a awesome intstrument it is!!! And great playing !! wow....

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Can you play this instrument ?

Hi there, I don't think so, but I've never tried..

Hoi @verhp11,

Jouw post is vermeld in de Alldutch Recap #2

Na uitbetaling van deze post, ontvang jij een gedeelte van de SBD opbrengst!

What a great instrument and playing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20