I recorded this on Freddie Mercury's Piano EXCLUSIVELY for Steemit.com (+ my thoughts on a 'STEEM VAT')

in #music8 years ago (edited)

I Went To Bed On $4 And Woke Up With $9000

Hi! I'm Benbrick. A Platinum-selling songwriter from London. I've written with Troye Sivan, Utada Hikaru, and had my music endorsed by Ricky Gervais. Previously I've premiered new music on Earmilk, Shortlist and Wonderland.

After yesterdays response I'm premiering my new music right here

-----

LA PERFEZIONE BREVEMENTE

We are in bloom now

Just as quickly it will pass

Perfection, briefly

-----

A NEW PIECE OF MUSIC

I wrote this song based on a Haiku that I wrote for an ex girlfriend. I ended up recording it on Freddie Mercury's beautiful Fazioli grand piano in Metropolis Studios. It's a weird story that involves a lot of alcohol - I'd been working on a TV show in one of the smaller studios and it was the last evening we were in the complex. I asked the engineer to show me the main room over and over again until he relented! The pictures below are of the studio. We recorded for about 45 minutes and then listened back to find the best takes. That's also the piano Adele recorded 21 and 25 on.

-----

SPOTIFY V STEEMIT

It is crazy to think that if I were to upload this to Spotify now I'd hardly earn a penny. As the writer our average earnings are 0.00208$ per stream. I am also the performer of this piece so I'd earn slightly more - but from the publishing I'd need 4 million plays to earn as much as my last Steemit post. I am always looking for ways to reach a new audience, and of course it's nice to be compensated for your work. Right now the music industry is in a very strange place.

-----

MY STEEMIT STORY

2 days ago I went to bed with a post about my interaction with Ricky Gervais on $4. I woke up with it at $8495.71. It hit the #1 spot on the main page. Within one day I’d made more money via this piece of music than I had in the 2 years preceding it. Of course, we can’t discount the non-monetary value of creating the relationship - but that doesn’t pay the bills in the short term.

-----

INCREASING THE VALUE OF POSTING

Steemit is now regularly getting mentioned in some of the biggest outlets in the world (Reuters, The Guardian) it seems this is only the start. Indeed, as @KingJohal pointed out on the UK newspaper Daily Mail posted an article ) yesterday that got it’s research from the @oakstone post on The Decline of British English.

-----

IS IT SUSTAINABLE?

If you are a content creator of any description there will soon be no reason to post your content anywhere else. The short term goals are obvious, and if the user base continues to grow (like it should) then significant ad revenues will be made here too. If we are to make Steem sustainable going forward then one of the long term goals must be to increase the value of postings.

[Pic from here]

-----

INCREASING THE VALUE OF POSTING

Unique insights and unique stories should be celebrated. We shouldn't be rewarding selfies.

I think we need to develop a value added tax. What I mean is: Does this article bring a unique value to the website? If so - keep 100%. If not - you are taxed for not adding value.

We could decide who has the power to decide if something adds value by their involvement in the site - have you been here X days, contributed to at least Y blog posts, and replied with more than Z words most times? Then congratulations you are uniquely able to judge “value”. Value is subjective so we need to ensure it can't be gamed.

[Pic from here]

What do you think about a "This brings value" flag next to each post?

-----

HAS THE MUSIC FINISHED YET?

You did click play on the video right? Well, if you didn’t you can do it now.

Sort:  

This needs to be @fyrstikken'd ;) Great tune!

And it will be, I'm guessing :)

@fairytalelife - not in chrome now oops

I WANT TO BREAK FREEEEE!
Amazing post. Freddie would have been honored.

"you are taxed for not adding value." <--- i that is kind of happening by default because you don't get upvoted. Plus, value is relative so you never know what is valuable for some. Hard to implement and a bit too exclusive for my taste.

I think the rule of "no value FOR ME, no upvote" is enough.

just my 2 cents!

Thanks for your thoughts!

Value is very subjective. We can't really tax posts like that. And, as it is now already, the whales decide what makes it big and what gets forgotten. If a whale upvotes your post, you'll get like 300$ in an instant.
BUT they also upvote trash occasionally. (then again, it's subjective)
I think the system works right now as it is. We just need more people with more voting power that will upvote posts that otherwise get lost in the torrent of new posts.

I can already see that you're going to be here a while. Thanks for releasing your music here:) come for the financial incentive, stay for the Steemian Love ;)

This is awesome @thisisbenbrick. Keep it up. I am very glad there are people like you here on steemit.

You earned my upvote, I bless you with the power of the incoming whales.

Yes, this is very good. I mean the whole package - the music, the post and the man behind them :)

You have such beatiful voice mate , lets #smule it . :p good post took me 15 minutes to finish them all . keep the good post up .

Smule is karaoke apps , that apps quite famous in asia i think in western too . try to download that apps and thanks me later ;) .
Btw i really like to invite you to visit my blog if you got some time ;).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66