Music Legends - Featured Artist Tom WaitssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

Alan Thomas “Tom” Waits was born on 07 December 1949 in Pomona, California. A musician and actor he has developed a bit of a cult following over the years, never featuring on mainstream music charts.


Tom along with his two sisters was raised by his mom after his father left the family and during his high school days he performed with a rhythm and blues band called the Systems. His musical influences were diverse and featured artists Leadbelly, Bob Dylan, Frank Sinatra and Ray Charles. His lyrics were hugely influenced by Jack Kerouac one of the Beat Generation an American poet and philosopher.
Waits signed to Asylum Records in 1972 and eventually released his first album in 1973 titled CLOSING TIME. It received positive reviews but did not get Tom much attention until major artists did a number of covers from the album.


Martha from Closing Time


I hope that I don’t fall in love with you – Closing Time

He began touring as an opening act to shows like Martha and the Vandelas and Frank Zappa, releasing his next album The Heart of Saturday Night in 1974. Waits described the album as such:

a comprehensive study of a number of aspects of this search for the center of Saturday night, which Jack Kerouac relentlessly chased from one end of this country to the other, and I've attempted to scoop up a few diamonds of this magic that I see


Heart of Saturday Night


Drunk on the Moon

Tight-slacked clad girls on the graveyard shift
Neath the cement stroll
Catch the midnight drift
Cigar chewing Charlie
In the newspaperness
Grifting hot-horse tips
On who's running the best
And I'm blinded by the neon
Don't try and change my tune
Cause I thought I heard a saxophone
I'm drunk on the moon

Wait’s recording contract with Asylum lasted through the 70’s with the albums Small Change (1976) and the double album Nighthawks at the Diner (1975) recorded in front of a live audience being some of the more notable albums, along with Blue Valentine.

The very first tune I heard of Tom Waits was in the ladies bar at The Metropole Hotel in Cape Town in the early 80’s. I was struck by his smoky, gravelly voice and the haunting saxophone. Within an hour I had the CD in my hand.

That tune was Small Change and it still remains one of my favorite songs, and if you are going to only listen to one track…. Make it this one!!


Small Change

An excerpt from Biography.com

Waits's work during the 1980s featured more eclectic musical arrangements, as he added keyboards and brass instruments to his orchestration. On albums like 1983's Swordfishtrombones and 1985's Rain Dogs, he was also increasingly influenced by additional musical genres, including cabaret, tango and European folk sources.
His recordings during the 1990s continued this experimental trend and were praised by critics. Bone Machine, released in 1992, and 1999's Mule Variations were both awarded Grammys. His 1998 compilation album Beautiful Maladies and the box set Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards (2006) were also enthusiastically received. Although Waits has never produced chart hits or sold albums in record-breaking numbers, he has attracted a loyal audience and has become something of a musician's


In the Neighbourhood – from Swordfishtrombones


Black Market Babys – Mule Variations

Bone Machine recorded on the Island label was an award winning album released in 1992, and to my mind was not one of his best… I was not going to feature any from the album but here’s one just for completness sake.


The Ocean doesn’t want me today

While putting this together I came across some comments on Youtube in response to Tom Waits’s music. I include some of them to demonstrate the kind of emotions his music invokes in those who listen to him. Cult following indeed

Bram Kuijer1 year ago
Why did I come here? I am trying to study Differential Equations, but now all I want to do is crack a bottle of whiskey open & go on a Tom Waits binge. Damn you Tom, for being so fucking good.
Catherine Callahan10 months ago
Listening to a Tom Waits song is like having someone stab you in the heart, except it feels good XD
Jeremy Justice1 year ago
so beautiful...here's to divorce..tom waits is whiskey for a broken heart

And finally to finish I am guessing this is one of fellow Steemian @kiwidebs favorites. Play the guitar solo loud and let it flow all over you.


Blue Valentine – from the album of the same name

Errrr, decided to add one more.... an Invitation to the Blues just because I can {smile}

Credits:
http://www.biography.com/people/tom-waits-9521480
www.metrolyrics.com
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mule_Variations#Track_listing

I am featuring artists from the 60’s and 70’s from diverse genre’s over the next few months. If you love music … FOLLOW and take the journey with me..it is going to be one thrilling ride !! Furthermore I will only be featuring artists from MY vinyl collection, and I shall start all of the posts with a photo of an album cover to authenticate

Previous Music Legends
Leonard Cohen
The Doors
Bob Dylan
The Rolling Stones
60’s Protest Artists
Janis Joplin
John McClaughlin
Bob Marley
Billy Joel
And many more just click here


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45