Music Legends - Featured Artist Leonard CohensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago

A superstar and legend, LEONARD COHEN has remained relevant for four decades now, and is still going strong!!

Born in Canada in 1934 Leonard grew up in a middle class Jewish family. At a young age he was encouraged to follow his passions, music and poetry. This blog is no way ever going to be long or comprehensive enough to pay tribute to him …. So I encourage you to give his BIOGRAPHY a read. An absolutely fascinating man who has lived a fascinating life.

Leonard was a published poet long before he concentrated on his other love, Music ! His first book of poems was The Spice-Box of the Earth … published in 1961. Over the next few years he followed up with Flowers for Hitler(1964) and Parasites of Heaven (1966), as well as the novels The Favorite Game (1963) and Beautiful Losers (1966)

My lady can sleep from The Spice-Box of Earth

My lady can sleep
Upon a handkerchief
Or if it be Fall
Upon a fallen leaf.

I have seen the hunters
kneel before her hem
Even in her sleep
She turns away from them.

The only gift they offer
Is their abiding grief
I pull out my pockets
For a handkerchief or leaf.
Source: http://www.leonardcohenfiles.com/poem.html

He soon learnt that poetry was not going to make him a decent living so he focused on music, composing musical poetry (my opinion)

The first song I want to share is written by him in reference to another legend who I will feature soon, Janis Joplin. They had an encounter at the Chelsea Hotel … besides the haunting quality of the song… at times haunted, other times whimsical, the lyrics stand alone whether one knows the story or not


In South Africa in the 70’s he was popular with the troops fighting on the border. Many think his music is depressing but to my mind that is more a reflection of the times we were in.
Probably his most commercial and well known song is So Long Marianne…. I am sure almost everyone has heard a cover version of this.... many artists have tried to make it their own.

And another famous one, also covered by Joan Baez (a great version) …


Suzanne… I get huge goose bumps listening to this… there are so many memories that come rushing back.

Leonard made his adult musical debut at the Newport Folk Festival in 1967. John Hammond, the then agent for Bob Dylan and Aretha Franklin, was suitably impressed with him and signed him up to Columbia Records. And that was the start….

Later that year his first album was released “Songs of Leonard Cohen” which contained both Suzanne and So Long Marianne. At the Isle of Wight festival in 1968 Cohen performed “Bird on a Wire” sharing the stage with big name acts like Jimi Hendrix, The Doors and Miles Davis (all of whom I will tell you about over the next few months)

Fast forward … in 1994 Leonard Cohen went into the Mount Baldy Zen retreat for some introspection time, taking a vow of silence and studying under a Zen master for five years

Some of his later music follows now… released in the late 80’s and early 90’s. His new album will be released in October this year .. still writing and recording at the age of 82 !! I wish he would come to South Africa…. I would not miss his show for the world.

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic 'til I'm gathered safely in
Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love

Oh let me see your beauty when the witnesses are gone

Let me feel you moving like they do in Babylon
Show me slowly what I only know the limits of
Dance me to the end of love

Is this not poetry ? Give it a listen !!

If you want a lover,
I'll do anything you ask me to
And if you want another kind of love,
I'll wear a mask for you
If you want a partner, take my hand
Or if you want to strike me down in anger,
Here I stand
I'm your man

If you want a boxer,
I will step into the ring for you
And if you want a doctor,
I'll examine every inch of you
If you want a driver, climb inside
Or if you want to take me for a ride,
You know you can
I'm your man

This post has been an absolute labour of love…. And damn, it took long as I keep getting lost in the music.

I plan to feature artists from the 60’s and 70’s from diverse genre’s over the next few months. If you love music … FOLLOW and take the journey with me..it is going to be one thrilling ride !! Furthermore I will only be featuring artists from MY vinyl collection, and I shall start all of the posts with a photo of an album cover to authenticate

Source: http://www.biography.com/people/leonard-cohen-9252529#early-life
And of course Youtube !!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97