OST of the Day #5: Jazz Jackrabbit 2 - Lab Rat

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it in this series! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

Today we travel back 20 years to when this gem was released

Here's the song I chose:

Jazz Jackrabbit 2 is a platform game produced by Epic Games. It was released in 1998 for PCs running Windows, and later for Macintosh computers. Like the first game, Jazz Jackrabbit 2 is a 2D side-scroller that incorporates shooting and platforming elements. This game also features additional multiplayer options like new playable characters and the ability to play over LAN or the Internet. There are different multiplayer modes like:
Cooperative (where players could work together to beat the single player campaign),
Battle (which is basically Deathmatch),
Race (in which the first to complete all laps wins the race),
Treasure Hunt (in which the first to collect 100 diamonds and find the exit wins the match), and Capture the Flag.

This was definitely one of the very first PC games I watched and played so listening to this gives me sooo much nostalgia. I remember watching my brothers play multiplayer split-screen on our old desktop computer running Windows 95!

I eventually got around to playing it myself and with my brother and it was so fun! We also used to use old school cheat codes to get god-mode, unlimited ammo and all that stuff. Now we rarely get the chance to play split-screen on PC since everyone just plays online so I really cherish those memories a lot.

The soundtrack for JJ2 was composed by Alexander Brandon, a US musician who composed music for games produced by Epic Games. He dabbles in mostly electronic music, covering genres like electronica, synthpop and pop rock.

I dont have much experience with electronic music (other than listening to it for pleasure of course), so I cant really dissect it as much as an orchestral piece like the previous post, but I'll try my best! Forgive me for not knowing the technical terms. 😕


This song can be found in the Laboratory level in Jazz Jackrabbit 2. It is definitely the epitome of synthwave, which is a genre of electronic music influenced by 1980s film soundtracks and video games. Synthwave engages in retrofuturism, emulating 1980s science fiction, and this science fiction feel is conveyed within the first few seconds of the song with the guitar riff. It gives off a retro-electric feel, from the drum beats, the "hi-hat", to the synthesiser notes and the slightly echo-ed melody. There are so many different electronic components to this song, and I like that they each have their own spotlight throughout the song.

The pace of the song matches the game really well. If you don't know JJ2, your character runs really fast in this game. Given that it is a platformer, players need to balance (sometimes precise) platforming with the speed of the character. Of course you could also choose to just walk but where's the fun in that, right? #gottagofast
Jazz_Jackrabbit_2_(PC)_35.gif

The level itself is a laboratory filled with rabid mice trying to jump at you with their sharp teeth. This song really emphasises the cold and calculating feel of the lab because of the synthesised tune. I always thought the beats in the background (that sound a little like a marimba) matched the sound effects from collecting ammo.

Overall, it is definitely a very catchy song and reminiscent of the late 1980s. It was one of the first electronic songs I ever listened to and I'm so glad it's still as epic as it was back then. 😎

Here's a guitar remix that is more of a rock version but is just as awesome:

Thank for reading!
endslate gif.gif

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post!
OST of the Day #4: Child of Light - Aurora's Theme
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice soundtrack @taco.cat :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54337.36
ETH 2271.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32