You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just At The Beginning of A Musician's Journey - But The First Steps Are The Most Important

in #music7 years ago

I'm a former blue collar musician myself. I spent a lot of time touring the various dives and bar rooms across the United States, mostly in the south and mid-Atlantic states. It is a risky business but you've clearly got your head screwed on correctly. You have a vetted alternative in your college studies and you have proof-of-concept to demonstrate your potential for success!

I had very little. My little band was regionally known for a while and running out of very sketchy barrooms with $20 in our hands typified our experience. Though I failed commercially as a musician, I can tell you this; I regret nothing! I saw more places, met more people, and experienced more things than I would have ever had access to had I not spit in the face of hard reality and chased a long shot dream. I don't have as many things as the next person, but I have riches they drool over when I tell them a story or two from my rambunctious past. That's called losing the battle but winning the war.

Remember that part as you go forward, that the ride and the people you meet on the track are what comes first and I promise you cannot lose.

Sort:  

Wow man, thank you for your long and motivating comment! It's sad to hear that some musicians didn't get appreciated the way they should have, but I'm very glad you can look back on it with a big smile! No matter how this ends for me, rich or poor, that is the main goal! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50